Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Les noms de pierres précieuses
Gemstone NamesNombres de piedras preciosasEdelsteinnamenI nomi delle pietre prezioseНазвания драгоценных камней
Les noms de pierres précieuses

C'est un fait bien connu dans l'industrie, les bijoux de pierres précieuses avec un nom difficile ou confus ou obscur sont difficile à vendre pour le consommateur moyen. Ce n'est pas un problème pour nos clients, qui se plaisent dans les rares et inhabituels. Mais le marché de masse ne voudra pas acheter quelque chose dont il n'a jamais entendu parler ou qu'on ne peut pas prononcer, peu importe la qualité des pierres.

Gemstone Selection at GemSelect

Beaucoup de bijoutiers se demandent probablement comment tant de belles pierres se sont retrouvés avec des noms aussi peu attractif. Etait-il vraiment nécessaire d'appeler de belles pierres avec des noms tels que spodumène et orthose? Pourquoi une belle pierre fine verte-bleue doit être appelée apatite? Et ce ne sont ne sont pas seulement des exemples isolés. Pensez à sphène et diopside. Même le spinelle, le zircon et le péridot sont des noms assez excentrique. Des noms charmants et évocateurs comme la pierre de lune, l'opale de feu et l'aigue-marine semblent réellement être dans la minorité. C'est comme si l'industrie des pierres précieuses avait oublié d'embaucher un commercial. Comment pouvons-nous expliquer qu'une pierre précieuse s'appelle calcédoine?

Les pierres précieuses sont dans une situation étrange avec un pied dans le monde de la technique, de la minéralogie et un pied dans le monde commercial des bijoux. Le nom qui fonctionne dans un monde fonctionne rarement dans l'autre. Parfois, le problème est résolu en ayant 2 noms, tels que le corindon rouge et le rubis. Mais dans de nombreux cas, nous avons un seul nom, peu importe que ce soit le mauvais nom dans la mesure où les affaires vont bien. C'est un événement rare qu'une pierre soit renommée pour des raisons de marketing, comme cela s'est produit lorsque le zoïsite bleu a été renommé en tanzanite par Tiffany & Co.

Mais les choses pourraient être pires, en fait, elles l'étaient autrefois. À une certaine époque, les noms de commercialisation des pierres précieuses se sont envolées, et avec tous les noms fantaisistes, il était difficile de savoir ce que vous alliez vraiment avoir. Souhaitez-vous acheter un Rubis Arizona? Cela était autrefois le nom donné au grenat pyrope. Que diriez-vous d'une aigue-marine brésilienne? En fait juste un topaze vert-bleu. Envie d'un saphir de l'Oural? Simplement une tourmaline bleue. Un diamant Mexicain? Juste un quartz incolore. Ou encore mieux un diamant de Ceylan? À moins que ce ne soit  qu'un zircon blanc.

Parce que le danger qu'un nom trompeur ait été intentionnellement donné est particulièrement élevé dans le commerce des pierres, des définitions pour les pierres précieuses sont désormais réglementées par une organisation internationale connue sous le nom de Confédération Internationale de la Bijouterie, Joaillerie, Orfèvrerie des diamants, Perles et Pierres. Puisque le nom est trop long, il est usuellement nommé CIBJO qui, franchement, n'est pas beaucoup plus facile à prononcer. Il est difficile de ne pas s'empêcher de penser que ces gens ont un problème pour se nommer eux-mêmes. Mais ils offrent un service très précieux pour les marchands et les acheteurs de pierres précieuses. Nous avons tous besoin de savoir ce que nous achetons et vendons réellement. Les noms comptes vraiment.

  • First Published: 07-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 11-janvier-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Gemstone Names
Nombres de piedras preciosasEdelsteinnamenLes noms de pierres précieusesI nomi delle pietre prezioseНазвания драгоценных камней
Gemstone Names

It's a well-known fact in the jewelry industry that gemstones with difficult, confusing or obscure names are hard to sell to the average consumer. That's not a problem for our customers, who delight in the rare and unusual. But the mass market won't buy something that it has never heard of or can't pronounce, no matter how good the stones look.

Gemstone Selection at GemSelect

Probably many jewelers wonder how so many attractive stones ended up with such unattractive names. Was it really necessary to name fine gems spodumene and orthoclase? Why did a lovely blue-green stone end up being called apatite? These are are not just isolated examples. Think of sphene and diopside. Even spinel, zircon and peridot are fairly oddball names. Charming and evocative names like moonstone, fire opal and aquamarine actually seem to be in the minority. It seems as if the gemstone industry forgot to hire a marketing person. How else can we explain a gemstone called chalcedony?

Gemstones are in the odd position of having one foot in the technical world of mineralogy and one foot in the commercial world of jewelry. The name that works in one world rarely works in the other. Sometimes the problem is solved by having 2 names, such as red corundum and ruby. But in many cases there is only one name, and it's the wrong name as far as the jewelry business is concerned. It's rare for a gemstone to be renamed for marketing reasons, as when blue zoisite was renamed tanzanite by Tiffany & Co.

Yet things could be worse, and in fact they once were. At one time, marketing names for gemstones were rampant, and with all the fanciful names it was hard to know what you were really getting. Would you buy an Arizona ruby? That was once a well known name for pyrope garnet. How about Brazilian aquamarine? Really just a blue green topaz. Fancy a Ural sapphire? Actually it's just blue tourmaline. Mexican diamond? Plain colorless quartz. You'd do better with Ceylon diamond. At least that was white zircon.

Since the danger of intentionally giving a misleading name is especially high in the gemstone trade, definitions for gemstones are now regulated through an international organization known as the Confédération Internationale de la Bijouterie, Joaillerie, Orfèvrerie des diamants, Perles, et Pierres. Since that's a bit of a mouthful, they usually go by the name CIBJO. They provide a very valuable service to gemstone dealers and buyers alike. We all need to know what we're really buying and selling. Names are important when it comes to gemstones.

  • First Published: December-07-2007
  • Last Updated: July-30-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping