Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : À propos des pierres précieuses étoilés
About Star Gemstones

À propos des pierres précieuses étoilés

Natural Star Ruby at GemSelect

Dans le monde des pierres précieuses il y a un groupe spécial connu sous le nom de pierres précieuses gemmes phénoménal. Ceux-ci sont des pierres précieuses qui exposent des phénomènes optiques spéciaux, y compris l'astérisme (l'effet d'étoile), la chatoyance (l'effet d'œil de chat), (l'adularescence lumière miroitante) et l'irisation (l'effet arc en ciel).

Comme ces pierres précieuses phénoménales sont assez rares, elles attirent naturellement l'attention de collectionneurs. Dans certains cas toutes ou la plupart des pierres précieuses appartenant à une variété particulière affichent le phénomène, dans la voie que la plupart d'objet exposé de pierre de lune adularesence. Mais dans d'autres cas on trouve l'effet optique seulement de temps en temps dans un type particulier de pierre précieuse et ce sont les cas rares qui ont un intérêt spécial pour les collectionneurs.

Buy Star Sapphire from GemSelect
Star Sapphire

L'Astérisme ou l'effet d'étoiles est un exemple d'un effet d'optique trouve très rarement dans un petit nombre de types de pierre précieuse coupé en cabochon. Les exemples les plus célèbres sont le saphir étoilé et rubis étoilé. Mais l'astérisme peut être également provoqués par la pierre de lune, le quartz, la spinelle, la citrine, la diopside, l'émeraude, le grenat et le chrysobéryl.

Natural Star Rose Quartz at GemSelectLa raison pour laquelle l'astérisme est si rare, c'est qu'il nécessite à la gemme d'avoir des inclusions d'aiguilles de rutile, et que les aiguilles peuvent être aligné de façon à refléter la lumière dans un environnement de rayons multi-formes pour dessiner une étoile. La règle générale dans les inclusions de pierres précieuses est moins il y en a mieux sera la pierre. Mais c'est un cas où la valeur est renforcée par les bonnes sorte d'inclusions.

La valeur d'une pierre gemme étoilé dépend de la clarté et la netteté de l'étoile. En général l'étoile doit être évaluée en utilisant une source de lumière unique, comme une lampe-stylo, il est habituellement très difficile de voir l'étoile sous une lumière diffuse. Déplacer la lumière dans les deux sens devrait amener l'étoile à se déplacer à travers la surface de la pierre. Les rayons de l'étoile doivent être uniformément réparties et les rayons doivent être assez droit. Les étoiles les plus courantes sont les 4-rayons et 6-rayons, tandis que des étoiles à 12-rayons ont été observés.

Star Sapphire from GemSelect Natural Black Star Sapphire
La couleur est également très important dans une pierre précieuse étoilé. Idéalement, la couleur devrait être équivalente à un modèle non-étoilé de la gemme, mais la présence du rutile dans la pierre tend à affaiblir la couleur. Ainsi, dans le meilleur des cas, il y a assez de rutile pour créer une étoile distinctes, tout en minimisant l'effet sur la couleur.

Buy Star Moonstone from the SourceLa Birmanie et le Sri Lanka sont les sources les plus importantes pour le rubis étoilé et le saphir étoilé, bien que la Thaïlande soit célèbre pour les saphirs étoilé noirs et d'or trouvés seulement dans la province de Chanthaburi. Quelques saphirs étoilé sont produits en utilisant un traitement de diffusion, alors que le saphir est chauffé avec une couche de dioxyde de titane qui se diffuse dans le corindon et crée des aiguilles de rutile.

Les saphirs étoilé synthétiques ont d'abord été produits à la fin des années 1940 par Linde, une division de Union Carbide. Ils sont actuellement produits au Japon par les Nakazumi Earth Crystals. Les pierres précieuses synthétiques ont tendance à avoir une couleur parfaite et une étoile si vive et directe qu'elle semble peinte sur la pierre.

  • First Published: 07-décembre-2007
  • Last Updated: 24-septembre-2009
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : About Star Gemstones
À propos des pierres précieuses étoilés

About Star Gemstones

Natural Star Ruby at GemSelect

In the gemstone world there are a special group of gems known as phenomenal gemstones. These are gems which exhibit special optical phenomena, including asterism (the star effect), chatoyancy (the cat's eye effect), adularescence (shimmering light) and iridescence (the rainbow effect).

Since these phenomenal gems are fairly rare, they naturally attract the attention of collectors. In some cases all or most of the gems belonging to a particular variety display the phenomenon, in the way that most moonstone exhibit adularesence. But in other cases the optical effect is found only occasionally in a particular type of gem, and it is the rare cases that are of special interest to collectors.

Buy Star Sapphire from GemSelect
Star Sapphire

Asterism or the star effect is an example of an optical effect found very rarely in a small number of gem types cut as cabochons. The most famous examples are star sapphire and star ruby. But asterism may also be exhibited by moonstone, quartz, spinel, citrine, diopside, emerald, garnet and chrysoberyl.

Natural Star Rose Quartz at GemSelectThe reason that asterism is so rare is that it requires the gem to have inclusions of rutile needles, and for the needles to be aligned in such a way as to reflect light in a multi-ray pattern forming a star. The usual rule of thumb in gemstones is the fewer inclusions the better. But this is a case where the value is enhanced by the right sort of inclusions.

The value of a star gemstone depends on the clarity and distinctness of the star. Generally the star must be evaluated using a single source light such as a penlight; it is usually very difficult to see the star under diffused light. Moving the light back and forth should cause the star to move across the stone's surface. The rays of the star should be evenly distributed and the rays should be relatively straight. The most common stars are 4-ray and 6-ray, though 12-ray stars have been seen.

Star Sapphire from GemSelect Natural Black Star Sapphire
Color is also very important in a star gemstone. Ideally the color should be equivalent to a non-star specimen of the gem, but the presence of rutile in the stone tends to weaken the color. So in the best case there is enough rutile to create a distinct star while minimizing the effect on the color.

Buy Star Moonstone from the SourceBurma and Sri Lanka are the most important sources for star ruby and star sapphire, though Thailand is famous for the black and gold star sapphires found only in Chanthaburi province. Some star sapphires are produced using a diffusion treatment, where the sapphire is heated with a coating of titanium dioxide which diffuses into the corundum and creates rutile needles.

Synthetic star sapphires were first produced in the late 1940's by Linde, a division of Union Carbide. They are currently produced in Japan by Nakazumi Earth Crystals. The synthetic gems tend to have perfect color and star so vivid and straight that it appears painted on the stone.

  • First Published: December-07-2007
  • Last Updated: March-01-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping