search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    مجانى بالكامل - الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية & أمب؛ كندا فقط:
    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:
    +66-39303404

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD

حجر بخت شهر فبراير-الجمشت

أحجار بخت شهر فبراير فى GemSelect

لا يوجد حقاً تساؤلات في أذهان الناس عندما يتعلق الأمر بحجر بخت شهر فبراير - فهو الجمشت بشكل قطعى، وهو حجر كريم مرادف لللون الأرجواني. وقد كانت هذه المجموعة من الكوارتز ذات قيمة عالية وغالبًا ما كانت أغلى من الياقوت والزمرد. في الواقع، كان الجمشت معروفًا في العالم القديم كأحد الأحجار الكريمة الخمسة الأساسية: الألماس، الزمرد، الياقوت، الزفير، والجمشت. وخلال القرن 19، تم العثور على رواسب جمشت كبيرة في البرازيل والتى تستمر في إنتاج وفرة من الجمشت عالى الجودة اليوم.

على الرغم من أن هذه الأمدادات أدت إلى انخفاض سعر الجمشت، إلا أنها لم تقلل من جماله، ولا يزال الجمشت هو أكثر أنواع الكوارتز المرغوبة. إذ إنه ذو جاذبية واسعة بسبب مجموعة الألوان الخاصة به، كما أن متانته تجعله اختيارًا ممتازًا لمجوهرات وحلي أحجار بخت شهر فبراير.

ما لون حجر بخت شهر فبراير؟

مثل العديد من الأحجار الكريمة الأكثر شهرة، يتم استخدام اسم جمشت للإشارة إلى تردد ألوان معين بين الأرجواني والبنفسجي. وهناك المزيد في لوحة ألوان أحجار بخت شهر فبراير هذه. فى الواقع، يتنوع لون الجمشت (جميع الألوان موجودة على عجلة الألوان) ودرجة لونه (الدرجة الفاتحة أو الداكنة من اللون) قليلاً. حيث يمكن أن تتراوح مبدئيا من البنفسجي الوردي الفاتح إلى الأرجواني الداكن، مع وجود ظلال من اللون الأحمر والأزرق التى قد تحدث في بعض الأحيان، كذلك.

يمكن أن تكون هذه الألوان فاتحة ودقيقة لدرجة أنه لا يمكن تمييزها تقريبًا، أو داكنة لدرجة تجعل الحجر الكريم معتم. ولقد شقت أحجار الجمشت ذات درجات الألوان الفاتحة طريقها إلى الإنتاج التجاري للمجوهرات فى سوق الجملة، بينما يحتفظ باللون الأرجواني المحمر الممتاز للمجوهرات الراقية. ويحتل "جمشت سيبيريا"، وهو مجموعة من الألوان الأرجوانية الداكنة مع ظلال حمراء وزرقاء، أعلى سعر في السوق.

وقد استخدمت العديد من الأوصاف الإبداعية لاحياء مجال اللون للجمشت:

لون 'الأوركيد' و'اللافندر' لدرجات الألوان الفاتحة
الجمشت الملون الفاتح
لون 'العنب' و'النيلى' أو 'الملكى' لدرجات الألوان الداكنة
الجمشت الملون الداكن
اللون 'التوتى' أو 'البرقوقى' للألوان المحمرة
الجمشت الملون باللون التوتى/البرقوقى

يظهر الجمشت عادة ما يسمى ب"تقسيم اللون" ، عندما يختلف تشبع اللون الأرجواني خلال الحجر الكريم.

واحدة من العديد من المهارات التي يجب أن يتمتع بها الجواهرجى (الشخص الذي يقطع الأحجار الكريمة) عند العمل مع الجمشت هي معرفة كيفية قطع الحجر بحيث يكون للمنتج النهائي لون متجانس. وإذا كان لدى الجمشت منطقة ذات لون مميز للغاية، فقد يقطعها بطريقة تميز منطقة اللون، بدلاً من تجنبها.

يمكن أن يكون الجمشت مزدوج اللون (حيث يظهر بلونين مختلفين عندما يلاحظ في ضوء مختلف أو من زوايا مختلفة) في أحجار الجمشت ذات اللون البنفسجي المحمر أو البنفسجي المزرق.

عند معالجته بالحرارة، يتحول الجمشت إلى اللون البني-الأصفر أو البرتقالي-الأصفر أو البني الداكن. بالمناسبة، غالبًا ما يكون الجمشت البرازيلي معالجًا بالحرارة لصنع السيترين، والأميترين (مزيج من الجمشت والسترين مع مناطق لون أرجوانية وصفراء أو برتقالية) عند تسخينه جزئيًا.

أصل الاسم والتاريخ والمعتقدات حول حجر بخت شهر فبراير

حصل الجمشت على اسمه من الكلمة اليونانية اميثستوس، والتى تعني "ليس في حالة سكر أو مخمورا". وقد سمى اليونانيون هذا احجر الكريم علي أساس اعتقاد قديم العهد بأن ارتداءه، أو الشرب من فنجان منحوت منه، من شأنه أن يحمي المرء من حالة السكر، أو أن يكون بمثابة ترياق للثمالة، ربما بسبب لون الجمشت الذى يشبه لون النبيذ.

تتعلق إحدى الأساطير المحيطة بالجمشت بإله صناعة النبيذ اليوناني، ديونيسوس (المعروف أيضًا باسم باخوس في الأساطير الرومانية)، الذي عانى من إهانة بشري. وأثناء غضبه، أقسم بقتل البشرى القادم الذي عبر طريقه بواسطة مجموعة من النمور الوحشية من خلقه. وللأسف كان هذا البشرى اميثستوس، والتى كانت شابة جميلة في طريقها لتكريم أرتميس، آله الصيد، والبرية، والحيوانات البرية، والقمر، والعفة. بعد ذلك، شعرت أرتميس بالشفقة على اميثستوس، المحبة المخلصة لها، وحولتها إلى تمثال من الكوارتز البلوري النقي لحمايتها من مخالب نمور ديونيسوس. بعد تمسك ديونيسوس بهذا التمثال لنفسه وندمه على تصرفاته، بكى ديونيسوس دموع النبيذ، والتى صبغت الكوارتز، وبالتالي اعطت للجمشت لونه الأرجواني المميز.

بالإضافة إلى الاعتقاد بأن الجمشت يمكن أن يمنع أو يعالج الثمالة، كان يُعتقد أيضًا أنه يُبقي مالكه صافى الذهن وسريع البديهة في الأعمال والمعارك، مما دفع الجنود الأوروبيين في العصور الوسطى إلى ارتداء أحجار بخت شهر فبراير كتعويذة وقائية.

يعتبر الجمشت حجر بخت شهر فبراير منذ العصر الروماني عندما ارتبط مع نبتون، وكذلك القديس فالنتين، قديس القرن الثالث ومثال الحب المجيد، الذي كان يعتقد أنه يرتدي خاتم جمشت منقوش عليه صورة كيوبيد.

في التقليد المسيحى، جاء حجر بخت شهر فبراير (واللون الأرجواني) ليرمز إلى الملوك ورجال الدين، وخاصة الأساقفة، الذين كانوا يرتدون أحجار الجمشت في خواتم كنسية للحماية من التسمم الروحانى. علاوة على ذلك، كان من المعروف أن الجمشت يزين كؤوس نبيذ رجال الدين والنبلاء على حد سواء، من أجل حمايتهم من الثمل الكحولي الشائع فى هذا الوقت.

عرف العبرانيون القدماء الجمشت باسم أحلامه، وهو الحجر التاسع من الأحجار الكريمة الإثني عشر التي كانت تُستخدم لتمثيل قبائل إسرائيل على درع هارون، رئيس كهنة إسرائيل وشقيق موسى. ويعتقد أن حجر بخت شهر فبراير تدل على قبيلة دان، والمعروفة باسم القضاة.

بالنسبة إلى المصريين، كان الجمشت يُعرف باسم الهيماج، وتم إدراجه في كتاب الموتى ليتم نحته في تمائم على شكل قلب ووضعه داخل مقابر الدفن. في الفلسفات الشرقية، استخدم الجمشت لفترة طويلة في عروض المعابد ولصنع خرز سبحات الصلاة.و لا يزال حتى يومنا هذا، يحمل التبتيون الجمشت كحجر مقدس لبوذا ويحفرون خرز سبحات صلاتهم منه.

منذ العصور القديمة، كان من المعروف أن حجر بخت شهر فبراير يزيد من الفضائل مثل العفة والرصانة والسيطرة على أفكار الفرد. كما أن قدرة الجمشت على منع غضب العاطفة وعنف التصرفات الأساسية من من خلال تشجيع الهدوء والشجاعة والتأمل، أعطت مكانًا من التقدير من العصر القديم إلى العصر الحالي.

اليوم، توجد أهم رواسب الجمشت في البرازيل وأوروغواي ومعظم مصادر الإمداد في العالم مصدرها تلك المناجم.

وتشمل المناطق الأخرى لكبار منتجي الجمشت بوليفيا وتنزانيا وزامبيا، ولكن يمكن العثور على أحجار بخت شهر فبراير في جميع أنحاء العالم. ويوجد الجمشت في العديد من المناطق في الولايات المتحدة، بما في ذلك أريزونا وتكساس وبنسلفانيا وميشيغان. ومع ذلك، فإن أكبر منجم للجمشت في أمريكا الشمالية يوجد في ثاندر باي، أونتاريو.

ما المعنى الروحانى للجمشت؟

إذا بدأنا بألوان الجمشت الأكثر تميزًا - الأرجواني - فسنجد أنه يتصل بالغموض والسحر والقوة والرفاهية. فاللون الأرجواني يحتوي على الطاقة وقوة اللون الأحمر، وكذلك روحانية ونزاهة اللون الأزرق. ويرمز إلى اتحاد الجسد والروح، وخلق توازن بين الوجود الجسدي والروحي.

الجمشت هو حجر البخت لكل من برج الدلو (1-18 فبراير) وبرج الحوت (19-28).

يشمل هذان البرجان سمات الشخصية التي تختلف من السحر والمغامرة، إلى الفن والحساسية والحب العميق. وليس من المفاجئ إذن أن يكون حجر بخت شهر فبراير يجسد هذه الفضائل الروحية أيضًا.

ترتبط ظلال الجمشت الزرقاء والبنفسجية مباشرة بالشكرات العليا - شقرا الحلق (الأزرق)، شقرا العين الثالثة (النيلي) وشقرا التاج (البنفسجي).

تعتبر عقد الطاقة هذه مقاعد للاتصالات والحكمة والاتصال الروحي، على التوالي. ويحفز حجر بخت شهر فبراير العقل العالي لتلقي القوة الروحية كخلق للوجود الإلهي، ويفتح المرء على نفاذ البصيرة والحكمة والإرشاد الذى ينبعث من تلك القوة.

وأخيراً، فإن حجر بخت شهر فبراير له صلة بالمؤسسة المقدسة للزواج.

يقدم الجمشت في الذكرى السنوية السادسة للزواج.

يتحدث علماء الأعداد عن دورة حياة مدتها ست سنوات، تحدث خلالها مراحل مختلفة من النمو والتغيير. وتؤكد السنة السادسة على الحب والأمور المتعلقة بالقلب، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بالزواج والأسرة والأطفال.

الخصائص العلاجية والفوائد الصحية للجمشت

كما هو معروف في العالم القديم، فإن الجمشت لديه القدرة على منع أو علاج التسمم. وفي العصور القديمة، كان هذا التسمم يرجع أساسا إلى المشروبات الكحولية. اليوم، التسمم والإدمان يديران سلسلة من المواد السامة. بالإضافة إلى علاج إدمان الكحول، فإن حجر بخت شهر فبراير مفيد في علاج إدمان المواد الأفيونية والأمفيتامينات والتبغ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن أن يساعد في تهدئة مزاج الشخص الذي يجد نفسه مدمنًا على لعب القمار و "رياضات الأدرينالين" والجنس.

غالبًا ما يطلق عليه "المهدئ الطبيعي"، حيث يستطيع الجمشت أن يهدئ ذهن الأطفال الذين يعانون من فرط النشاط والذين يعانون من اضطرابات الوسواس القهري. ويمكن لحجر بخت شهر فبراير أن يعالج الأرق ويشجع الأحلام السعيدة.

فيما يتعلق بالجسم المادي، فإن حجر بخت شهر فبراير تعمل على تحسين الغدد الصماء وإنتاجها للهرمونات، مع تحفيز الجهاز العصبي الودي (رد فعل "الكر أو الفر") أيضًا. ويعزز الجمشت أيضًا الجهاز المناعي، ويدعم أكسجة الدم، ويقلل الالتهاب والحالات المرتبطة به (التهاب المفاصل، بشكل خاص)، ويساعد في علاج القلب والجهاز الهضمي والجلد.

كما يستخدم حجر بخت شهر فبراير لعلاج وشفاء أمراض الجسد الأثيري. ويوفر الشفاء والحماية النفسية فى مجال الطاقة الموجود حول كل كائن. ويقوم الجمشت بهذا التطهير الروحي ويزيل الظلام، مع ترك درع الإيجابية والنور في مكانه.

لا ينتج عدم التوازن والمرض عن عوامل بيئية فحسب، بل إنه ينجم عن أفكار الفرد السلبية وأنماطه العاطفية. وحجر بخت شهر فبراير مفيد في تحديد مسببات تلك الأمراض العقلية الضارة.

اتصال الجمشت بالنفس العليا للحكمة والتفاهم الروحي، يجعله بلورة شفاء ممتازة لأولئك الذين يحزنون على فقدان أحد أفراد أسرتهم. كما يشجع حجر بخت شهر فبراير على إطلاق الحزن من خلال تمكين الفرد من فهم أن الموت هو مجرد تحول للروح، والآن أصبح حر من الجسد المادي.

ما هى متانة الجمشت؟

متانة الجمشت

يتكون مفهوم المتانة من ثلاثة عوامل: الصلابة (مقاومة الخدش)، القساوة (مقاومة القطع، والشروخ والكسر)، والاستقرار (مقاومة المواد الكيميائية، درجات الحرارة العالية، والضوء).

كمجموعة من الكوارتز، يعتبر الجمشت حجر كريم صلب. ولديه درجة صلابة 7 من أصل 10 على مقياس صلابة موس، حيث أن درجة عشرة هى الأصلب (الألماس).

توضيح صلابة الحجر الكريم، اقرأ مقالنا بالكامل من هنا.

وهذه ميزة مهمة لأن الأحجار الكريمة والمواد الأخرى التي تزيد درجة صلابتها عن 7 هي فقط التي يمكنها خدش الجمشت. ونظرًا لوجود الكوارتز في كل مكان - حتى في الهواء في الغبار - فهو يشكل تهديدًا للأحجار الأصلب التي تحتاج إلى عناية خاصة.

لدى الجمشت قساوة جيدة وكما أنه مستقر للغاية، وعلى الرغم من أنه لا ينبغي أن يتعرض لتغيرات سريعة في درجة الحرارة، والتي يمكن أن تسبب الكسور؛ أو التعرض الطويل للضوء الشديد، والذي يمكن أن يسبب تلاشي الألوان. وعلاوة على ذلك، يمكن أن يتلف بواسطة المحاليل القلوية، مثل مواد التبييض وتلميع المعادن؛ حمض الهيدروفلوريك، مادة كيميائية موجودة في مزيلات الصدأ؛ وفلوريد الأمونيوم الموجود في منظفات الغسيل ومزيلات البقع وإزالة الشحوم.

يعتبر حجر الجمشت حجر كريم متين ومناسب لجميع أنواع المجوهرات - الخواتم والأساور والقلائد والأقراط حيث كلها آمنة لحجر بخت شهر فبراير.

كما هو الحال مع جميع المجوهرات، وخاصة البلورات مثل الجمشت، من المهم أن تتذكر أنها يمكن أن تنشرخ أو تنكسر؛ لذلك، فمن الأفضل أن تأخذ العناية المناسبة عند ارتداءها أو تنظيفها.

التنظيف والاعتناء بالجمشت

يمكن تنظيف الجمشت بأمان وبساطة وفعالية بالماء الدافئ والصابون وفرشاة ناعمة، مثل فرشاة الأسنان. ويمكن استخدام منظفات الموجات فوق الصوتية لتنظيف الجمشت ولكن كن حذراً فى الحالات النادرة للغاية التي يكون فيها الحجر مصبوغ أو مملوء الكسرور. احزر: آلات التنظيف بالموجات فوق الصوتية لا يمكن أن تسبب أو تزيد الكسور فقط في الأحجار الكريمة، بل يمكنها أيضًا إرخاء المجوهرات وقد تسبب فى سقوط الأحجار الكريمة من مكانها. ولا ينبغي استخدام منظفات البخار لتنظيف الجمشت لأنه لا ينبغي أن يتعرض لدرجات حرارة عالية.

الجمشت متين بما فيه الكفاية ليبقى سليما إذا صدم بشكل مفاجئ أو دق على سطح صلب؛ ومع ذلك، يجب عليك دائمًا الحرص على تجنب مثل هذه الإساءة. ولهذا السبب يوصى دائمًا بإزالة المجوهرات قبل ممارسة الأنشطة البدنية، خاصة التنظيف المنزلي أو البستنة.

نتيجة لصلابة الجمشت، فمن المهم حماية الأحجار الضعيفة من الخدش. وبالمثل، سوف ترغب في منع الخدوش التي يتعرض لها حجر بخت شهر فبراير الخاص بك من الأحجار الكريمة الأصلب (الزفير والألماس وما إلى ذلك). ولذلك، فمن المستحسن إبقاء حجر الجمشت خاصتك منفصلًا عن جميع الأحجار الكريمة الأخرى ذات درجات الصلابة المختلفة في جزء مبطن بالقماش في صندوق مجوهرات. وتعتبر حقائب المجوهرات الفردية المصنوعة من القماش مناسبة أيضًا إذا كان لديك مساحة محدودة في صندوقك.

هناك طريقة أخرى لتوفير المساحة وهي استخدام الأظرف الورقية الخالية من الأحماض، والتي تسمى "الأظرف الورقية" أو "الأوراق الماسية" ، للحفاظ على الأحجار الكريمة ذات نفس درجة الصلابة معًا وترتيبها في صندوق منظم للأوراق. أما الأوعية الزجاجية المبطنة باسفنج أو قماش مثالية لأولئك الذين يرغبون في عرض الأحجار الكريمة الحرة والمجوهرات الخاصة بهم

كم تكلفة الجمشت؟

كم تكلفته؟

يتوفر الجمشت في كل شكل وقطع وحجم تقريبا، وعلى الرغم من أنه في كثير من الأحيان يكون منحوت أكثر من كونه كابوشون نظرًا لأنه يتميز بنقاء جيد في الشكل الخام. ويمكن العثور بسهولة على الأحجام المعايرة، كما أن الأشكال الهائلة مثل التريليونات والقلوب والدروع شائعة جدًا. ويفضل العديد من الحرفيين قطع منحوتات الزينة بحجر الجمشت؛ ولذلك، من الشائع جدًا العثور على مثل هذه القطع في السوق اليوم.

يوجد حجر بخت شهر فبراير بشكل شائع في أوجه دائرية وبيضاوية، ولا تميل الأسعار إلى الارتفاع بشكل كبير للأحجار الأعلى من 1 قيراط، كما هو الحال مع العديد من الأحجار الكريمة الثمينة. في الواقع، فأن حجر عيار 81 قيراط على شكل شطرنج بيضاوي، يكلف أقل قليلا من 500 دولار. وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين يبحثون عن أحجام أصغر، فيمكنهم العثور على حجر عيار 24 قيراطًا ذو قطع ثمانى تدريجى، بحجم 16 × 15 مم مقابل 150 دولارًا.

يقدم الجمشت خيارًا نابضًا بالحياة لأقراط أحجار البخت. ويكلف زوج من الجمشت كمثرى الوجه عيار 3.6 قيراط 50 دولارا فقط. إذا كانت هدية عيد ميلاد فبراير عبارة عن عقد أو سوار، فسيكون من السهل الحصول على مجموعات من الجمشت صغيرة الحجم. ويمكن أن تكون مجموعة مكونة من 15 قطعة ذات وجه تريليون عيار 0.6 قيراط، بحجم 7 × 6 مم، لك بمبلغ 60 دولارًا.

يعتبر جيود الجمشت ديكورات منزلية شائعة، وستناسب تمامًا منزل برجى الدلو أو الحوت.

يعتبر عنقود بلورى فاخر من جيود الجمشت عيار 80 قيراط، وسيلة ممتعة لقول "عيد ميلاد سعيد"، بحوالي 80 دولارًا تقريبًا.

هل هناك أى أحجار بخت لشهر فبراير؟

قبل قائمة الجواهر الأمريكية لعام 1912 لأحجار البخت، تم اعتبار الصفير (الاسم العالمي القديم للزركون) واللؤلؤ كحجرى بخت لشهر فبراير، بالإضافة إلى الجمشت. أما اليوم، يتم قبول الجمشت على نطاق واسع باعتباره حجر البخت الأساسي والحصري لهذا الشهر. وأولئك الذين ولدوا في منطقة برج الدلو من هذا الشهر، قد يتبنون العقيق كحجر البخت لهم.

الآراء النهائية

شهر فبراير هو الشهر الذي يرمز إلى الخطوة الثانية إلى عام جديد وكل الطاقة والإثارة التي تأتي من التغيير والنمو. ويستطيع ابجمشت أن يهدئ العقل النشط، ويطهر الجسد والروح، ويربطنا بأنفسنا العليا.

كشكل متين من الكوارتز، يعد هذا الحجر الكريم المريح بكل روعته وسحره، خيارًا رائعًا لمجوهرات أحجار بخت شهر فبراير. والجمشت متوافر، ولكن الأحجار ذات الجودة العالية هى المطلوبة. ابحث دائمًا عن تجار الأحجار الكريمة ذوي السمعة الطيبة مثل Gemselect لضمان حصولك على أفضل أحجار بخت بأفضل الأسعار التنافسية.

  • نشرت لأول مرة: ديسمبر-17-2019
  • آخر تحديث: ديسمبر-18-2019
  • © 2005-2020 جميع الحقوق محفوظة ل gemselect و أى استنساخ (نص أو رسومات) ممنوع منعا باتا.

فئات المادة

إجمالي عدد المقالات: 1293

أشكال أكثر
أحجار الكريمة شعبية
  • زفير
  • زمرد
  • ياقوت
  • زبرجد أو أكوامارين
  • زركون
  • أوبال
  • توباز
  • تورمالين
  • عقيق
  • جمشت
  • سيترين
  • تنزانيت
جميع الأحجار الكريمة (144)
  • أباتيت
  • أباتيت عين القط
  • أحجار كريمة عين القط
  • أحجار كريمة نجمية
  • أحجار كريمة يشم
  • أزوريت دروزى
  • أغويط عين القط
  • ألماس
  • أم اللؤلؤ
  • أموليت
  • أميترين
  • أوبال
  • أوبال أسود
  • أوبال النار
  • أوبال الهياليت
  • أوبال دوبليت
  • أوبال شيكولاتى اللون
  • أوبال طحلبى
  • أوبال عين القط
  • أوبال فى مصفوفة
  • إسبنيل
  • إنستاتايت
  • إيدوكراز
  • إيوليت
  • اسبكتروليت
  • افينتورين
  • البيترسايت
  • الحجر المعالج
  • السيرافينيت
  • الفلوريت معدن متبلور
  • الكالسيت
  • الكوارتز الغامض
  • الكيانيت
  • النوم ميت
  • الهيدنيت
  • اليشمك
  • امازونيت
  • بريهانايت
  • بيريت
  • بيريت قوس قزح
  • بيريل
  • بيريل ذهبى
  • تنزانيت
  • توباز
  • توباز إمبراطورى
  • توباز غامص
  • تورمالين
  • تورمالين أخصر
  • تورمالين روبليت
  • جمشت
  • جمشت دروزى
  • جيود عقيق
  • حجر الخرز
  • حجر الدم
  • حجر السربنتين
  • حجر الشمس
  • حجر القمر
  • حجر القمر عين القط
  • حجر القمر قوس قزح
  • حجر القمر نجمة
  • حجرالشمس نجمى
  • دياسبور متغير اللون
  • ديوبسيد كروم
  • ديوبسيد نجمة
  • رودوكروزيت
  • زبرجد
  • زبرجد أو أكوامارين
  • زبرجد عين القط
  • زركون
  • زفير
  • زفير متغير اللون
  • زفير نجمى
  • زمرد
  • سبج أو أوبسيديان
  • سبج ندفة الثلج
  • سفاليرايت
  • سكابوليت
  • سكاتوليت عين القط
  • سكوليسيت
  • سليمانايت
  • سميثسونايت
  • سودالايت
  • سيترين
  • سيفين
  • شارويت
  • صخر الأوبال
  • عقيق
  • عقيق
  • عقيق أبيض أو كالسيدونى
  • عقيق الألماندين
  • عقيق الديمانتويد
  • عقيق السبيسارتيت
  • عقيق المالايا
  • عقيق النار
  • عقيق برتقالى أو كارنيليان
  • عقيق بيروب
  • عقيق تسافوريت
  • عقيق رودوليت
  • عقيق شجيري
  • عقيق غروسوليت
  • عقيق مالى
  • عقيق متغير اللون
  • عقيق نجمى
  • عقيق هيسونيت
  • عين الصقر
  • عين القط أكتينوليت
  • عين القط سيليمانايت
  • عين النمر
  • غرانديديريت
  • فارسيسايت
  • فلوريت متغير اللون
  • فيروز
  • كريزوبرايس
  • كريزوبيريل
  • كريزوكولا
  • كوارتز
  • كوارتز الفراولة
  • كوارتز روتيل
  • كوارتز زهرى
  • كوارتز زهرى نجمة
  • كوارتز سموكى
  • كوارتز عين القط
  • كوارتز ليمونى نجمى
  • كوارتز مع مرقشيتا
  • كورنيروبين
  • كونزيت
  • لؤلؤ
  • لابرادوريت
  • لابرادوريت أنديسين
  • لاريمار
  • لازورد
  • ماو-سيت-سيت
  • مرجان
  • مرجان حجرى
  • مصفوفة عين النمر
  • ملاكيت
  • مورجانيت
  • هيماتيت حجر الدم
  • هيميمورفيت دروزي
  • ياقوت
  • ياقوت الزوزيت
  • ياقوت في فوشسيت
  • ياقوت نجمة
  • يشب أو جاسبر
الفئات الرئيسية
  • وصل مؤخرا
  • مجموعات من الأحجار الكريمة
  • أحجار كريمة قياسية
  • أحجار كريمة بالقطعة
  • أحجار كريمة أعلى درجة
  • مطابقة أزواج
  • أحجار كريمة كابوشون
  • خرز وبريوليت وأحجار مثقوبة
  • أحجار البخت
  • منحوتات الأحجار الكريمة
  • أحجار كريمة فانسى
  • أحجار كريمة نجمية
  • زفير غير مسخن
دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

مجانى بالكامل - الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية & أمب؛ كندا فقط:
1-800-464-1640

دولي:
+66-39303404

وفر المال
لا رسوم شحن للأصناف الإضافية!
$ 8.90 الشحن في جميع أنحاء العالم

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
X أغلق النافذة
Colored Gemstones
الحجم والوزن

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

search
  • Sign In
    Sign Up
  • English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD

The February Birthstone - Amethyst

February Birthstones at GemSelect

There is really no question in people's minds when it comes to the February birthstone - it is most decidedly amethyst, a gemstone synonymous with purple. This variety of quartz was once highly prized and often valued above ruby and emerald. In fact, amethyst was known in the ancient world as one of the five cardinal gemstones: diamond, emerald, ruby, sapphire, and amethyst. During the 19th century, large amethyst deposits were found in Brazil and continue to produce an abundance of gemstone quality amethyst today.

Though this supply has decreased the price of amethyst, it has not diminished its beauty, and amethyst remains the most sought after variety of quartz. It has broad appeal due to its color range, and its durability makes it an excellent choice for February birthstone jewelry and ornaments.

What is the color of the February birthstone?

Like many of the most well-known gemstones, amethyst's name is used to refer to a specific color frequency between purple and violet. There is more to this February birthstone's color palette, though. The hue (all the colors on the color wheel) and tone (lightness or darkness of the hue) of amethyst vary quite a bit, actually. It can range primarily from a light pinkish violet to a deep purple, with hues of red and blue sometimes occurring, as well.

These colors can be so light and subtle that they are nearly indistinguishable, or so dark that they make the gemstone opaque. The lighter toned amethysts make their way to commercial production of jewelry for the mass market, while the premium reddish purple color is reserved for high-end, designer jewelry. "Siberian amethyst", a deep purple color variety with red and blue flashes, commands the highest price on the market.

Many creative descriptions are used to animate the amethyst's field of color:

  • "Orchid" and "lavender" for lighter tones
    Light colored amethyst
  • "Grape", "indigo", or "royal" for darker colors
    Dark colored amethyst
  • "Raspberry" or "plum" for reddish colors
    Raspberry / Plum colored amethyst

Amethyst commonly exhibits what is called "color zoning", when the saturation of the purple varies throughout the gemstone.

One of the many skills a lapidary (person who cuts gemstones) must have when working with amethyst is to know how to cut the stone so that the finished product has a homogenous color. If the amethyst has a highly distinct color zone, it may be cut in such a way that features the color zone, rather than avoiding it.

Amethyst can also be dichroic (it shows two different colors when observed in different light or from different angles) in reddish violet or bluish violet amethysts.

When heated, amethyst turns yellow-brown, yellow-orange, or dark-brownish. Incidentally, Brazilian amethyst is often heat-treated to create citrine, and ametrine (a mix of amethyst and citrine with purple and yellow or orange color zones) when partially heated.

The Etymology, History and Lore of Amethyst

Amethyst gets its name from the Greek amethystos, meaning "not drunk or intoxicated". The Greeks named this gemstone in the age-old belief that wearing it, or drinking from a cup carved from it, would protect one from becoming drunk, or act as an antidote to intoxication, possibly due to amethyst's color resembling that of wine.

One of the myths surrounding amethyst relates to the Greek god of winemaking, Dionysus (known as Bacchus in Roman mythology) who had suffered an insult from a mortal. In his rage, he swore to slay the next mortal who crossed his path with a pack of savage tigers of his creation. Tragically, that moratal was Amethystos, a beautiful young maiden on her way to pay tribute to Artemis, goddess of the hunt, the wilderness, wild animals, the Moon, and chastity. Artemis took pity on Amethystos, her loyal devotee, and turned her into a statue of pure crystalline quartz to protect her from the ripping claws of Dionysus' tigers. After beholding the statue for himself, Dionysus wept tears of wine, staining the quarts, thus giving amethyst its characteristic purple color.

In addition to the belief that amethyst could prevent or cure intoxication, it was also thought to keep its owner clear-headed and quick-witted in business and battle, prompting medieval European soldiers to wear the February birthstone as a protective amulet.

Amethyst has been considered the February birthstone since the Roman period when it was associated with Neptune, as well as St. Valentine, the 3rd century saint and paragon of courtly love, who was thought to wear an amethyst ring inscribed with the image of Cupid.

In the Christian tradition, the February birthstone (and the color purple) came to symbolize royalty and the clergy, particularly the bishops, who wore amethysts in ecclesiastical rings for protection from mystical intoxication. Moreover, amethysts were known to adorn the wine goblets of the clergy and nobility alike, in order to guard them from the more common alcoholic intoxication.

The ancient Hebrews knew the amethyst as ahlamah, the ninth of twelve gemstones used to represent the tribes of Israel on the breastplate of Aaron, high priest of the Israelites and brother to Moses. It is believed that the February birthstone signified the Tribe of Dan, known as Judges.

To the Egyptians, amethyst was known as hemag, and it was listed in the Book of the Dead to be carved into heart-shaped amulets and placed inside burial tombs. In eastern philosophies, the amethyst has long been used in temple offerings and to create beaded prayer rosaries. Still to this day, the Tibetans hold amethyst as sacred to the Buddha and carve their prayer beads from it.

Since antiquity, the February birthstone has been known to heighten virtues such as chastity, sobriety, and control over one's thoughts. Amethyst's ability to prevent the anger of passion and the violence of base actions by encouraging calm, bravery and contemplation, has given it a place of esteem from the Old World to the current age.

Today, the most important amethyst deposits are found in Brazil and Uruguay and the majority of the world's supply is sourced from those mines.

Other locations for top commercial producers of amethyst include Bolivia, Tanzania, and Zambia, but February birthstones can be found all over the world. Amethyst occurs in many localities in the United States, including Arizona, Texas, Pennsylvania and Michigan; however, the largest amethyst mine in North America is in Thunder Bay, Ontario.

What is the spiritual meaning of amethyst?

If we begin with amethyst's most characteristic color - purple - we will find connections to mystery, magic, power, and luxury. Purple contains the energy and strength of red, as well as the spirituality and integrity of blue; it symbolizes the union of body and soul, creating a balance of our physical and spiritual beings.

Amethyst is the birthstone for both Aquarius (February 1 -18) and Pisces (19 - 28).

These two signs encompass personality traits that vary from charm and adventurousness, to artistry, sensitivity and deep love. It is no surprise, then, that the February birthstone embodies these spiritual virtues, as well.

The blue and purple shades of amethyst tie it directly to the higher chakras - the throat chakra (blue), the third-eye chakra (indigo) and crown chakra (violet).

These energy nodes are the seats of communication, wisdom, and spiritual connection, respectively. The February birthstone stimulates the higher mind to receive spiritual power as a creation of the divine being, and opens one to the insights, wisdom, and guidance that flow from that power.

Finally, the February birthstone has a connection to the sacred institution of marriage.

Amethyst is given on the 6th wedding anniversary.

Numerologists speak of a six-year cycle of life, during which time occur different phases of growth and change. The sixth year emphasizes love and matters of the heart, particularly to do with marriage, family, and children.

Healing Properties and Health Benefits of Amethyst

As was well-known in the Old World, amethyst has the ability to prevent or cure intoxication. In ancient times, such intoxication was mainly due to alcoholic drinks. Today, intoxication and addiction run the gamut of toxic substances. In addition to treating alcoholism, the February birthstone is useful in treating addiction to opioids, amphetamines, and tobacco. Moreover, it can help calm the temperament of a person who finds themselves addicted to gambling, "adrenaline sports", and sex.

Often called "nature's tranquilizer", amethyst can soothe the mind of hyperactive children and those suffering from obsessive compulsive disorders. The February birthstone can also cure insomnia and encourage pleasant dreams.

Regarding the physical body, the February birthstone optimizes the endocrine glands and their production of hormones, while stimulating the sympathetic nervous system (the "fight-or-flight" response), as well. Amethyst also strengthens the immune system, supports oxygenation of the blood, reduces inflammation and related conditions (arthritis, especially), and aids in the treatment of the heart, digestive system, and skin.

The February birthstone is also used to treat and cure ailments of the ethereal body. It offers psychic healing and protection of the energy field that exists around every being. Amethyst does this spiritual cleansing and removes the darkness, while leaving a shield of positivity and light in its place.

Imbalance and disease are not only caused by environmental factors, but they are provoked by one's negative thoughts and emotional patterns. The February birthstone is useful in the identification of these damaging mental pathogens.

Amethyst's connection to the higher self of wisdom and spiritual understanding, make it an excellent healing crystal for those who are grieving the loss of a loved one. The February birthstone encourages the release of sorrow by empowering one to understand that death is merely a transition of the spirit, now free from the physical body.

What is the durability of the amethyst?

Durability of Amethyst

The concept of durability is comprised of three factors: hardness (resistance to scratching), toughness (resistance to chipping, cracking and breakage), and stability (resistance to chemicals, high temperatures, and light).

As a variety of quartz, amethyst is considered a hard gemstone. It has a rating of 7 out of 10 on the Mohs hardness scale, ten being the hardest (diamond).

Gemstone hardness explained, read our complete article here.

This is an important distinction because only gemstones and other materials higher than 7 can scratch amethyst. As quartz is everywere - even airborne in dust - it poses a threat to softer gems that need special care.

Amethyst has a good toughness and is very stable, although it should not be subjected to rapid changes in temperature, which can cause fractures; or prolonged exposure to intense light, which can cause colors to fade. Moreover, it can be damaged by alkaline solutions, like bleach and metal polishes; hydrofluoric acid, a chemical found in rust removers; and ammonium fluoride, found in laundry detergents, spot removers and de-greasers.

Amethyst is considered a durable gemstone that is appropriate for all styles of jewelry - rings, bracelets, necklaces and earrings are all safe for February birthstones.

As with all jewelry, especially crystals like amethyst, it is important to remember that they can chip or break; so, it is recommended to take proper care when wearing or cleaning them.

Cleaning and Caring for Amethyst

The February birthstone is safely, simply, and effectively cleaned with warm soapy water and a soft brush, such as a toothbrush. Ultrasonic cleaners may be used to clean amethyst, except in the very rare case that it has been dyed or fracture-filled. Be aware: ultrasonic cleaners can not only cause and exacerbate fractures in gemstones, they can loosen jewelry and cause gems to fall out of their settings. Steam cleaners should not be used to clean amethyst because it should not be subjected to high temperatures.

Amethyst is durable enough to survive the odd bump or knock on a hard surface; however, you should always take care to avoid such abuse. That is why it is always recommended to remove jewelry before physical activities, especially household cleaning or gardening.

Due to amethyst's hardness, it is important to protect softer stones from being scratched. Similarly, you will want to prevent scratches to your February birthstone from harder gems (sapphire, diamonds, etc.). Therefore, it is imperative to keep your amethyst separate from all other gems of different hardness in a fabric-lined compartment of a jewelry box. Individual cloth jewelry bags are also suitable if you have limited space in your box.

Another space-saving method is to use acid-free paper envelopes, called "parcel paper envelopes" or "diamond papers", to keep gemstones of the same hardness together and arranged in a parcel paper organizer box. Glass jars with foam or fabric inserts are perfect for those who want to showcase their loose gemstones and jewelry.

How much do amethysts cost?

How much does it cost?

Amethyst is available in just about every shape, cut and size, though it is more often faceted than left as a cabochon since it has good clarity in rough form. Calibrated sizes are easily found and fancy shapes such as trillions, hearts and shields are very common. Many artisans prefer to cut ornamental carvings with amethyst stone; so, it is very common to find such pieces on the market today.

The February birthstone is commonly found in faceted rounds and ovals, and the prices do not tend to climb exponentially above 1 carat, as with many precious gemstones. In fact, an 81 carat, oval checkerboard, is just under $500. Those looking for smaller sizes, can find a 24 carat, octagonal step cut, sized about 16 x 15 mm for $150.

Amethyst offer a vibrant choice for birthstone earrings. A pair of 3.6 carat, pear facet amethyst is only $50. If a February birthday gift is to be a necklace or bracelet, lots of amethyst in smaller sizes are easily available. A 15 piece set of 0.6 carat, trillion facet, sized about 7 x 6mm, can be yours for $60.

Amethyst geodes are popular home decorations, and would perfectly suit the household of an Aquarius or Pisces.

An 80 carat, fancy crystal cluster amethyst geode, is a fun way to say "happy birthday," for just around $80.

Are there any secondary February birthstones?

Prior to the 1912 Jewelers of America list of birthstones, hyacinth (the old world name for zircon) and pearl were considered February birthstones, in addition to amethyst. Today, amethyst is widely accepted as the primary and exclusive birthstone for this month. Those who were born in the Aquarius zone of this month, may adopt the garnet as their birthstone.

Final Thoughts

February is a month that symbolizes the second step into a new year and all the energy and excitement that comes from change and growth. Amethyst calms an active mind, cleanses the body and spirit, and connects us with our higher selves.

As a durable form of quartz, this soothing gemstone, in all its splendor and charm, is an outstanding choice for February birthstone jewelry. Amethyst is abundant, but only the best quality will do. Always seek reputable gemstone dealers like Gemselect to ensure you get the very best birthstones at the most competitive prices.

  • First Published: August-15-2019
  • Last Updated: October-25-2019
  • © 2005-2019 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Pinterest Board Names
More Shapes
Popular Gemstones
  • Sapphire
  • Emerald
  • Ruby
  • Aquamarine
  • Zircon
  • Opal
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Garnet
  • Amethyst
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
All Gemstones (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z
  • Actinolite Cat's Eye
  • Agate
  • Agate Geode
  • Almandine Garnet
  • Amazonite
  • Amethyst
  • Ametrine
  • Ammolite
  • Andalusite
  • Andesine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aquamarine
  • Aventurine
  • Beryl
  • Black Opal
  • Bloodstone
  • Boulder Opal
  • Calcite
  • Carnelian
  • Cat's Eye Apatite
  • Cat's Eye Aquamarine
  • Cat's Eye Augite
  • Cat's Eye Gemstones
  • Cat's Eye Moonstone
  • Cat's Eye Opal
  • Cat's Eye Scapolite
  • Chalcedony
  • Charoite
  • Chocolate Opal
  • Chrome Diopside
  • Chrome Tourmaline
  • Chrysoberyl
  • Chrysocolla
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Color-Change Diaspore
  • Color-Change Fluorite
  • Color-Change Garnet
  • Color-Change Sapphire
  • Coral
  • Demantoid Garnet
  • Dendritic Agate
  • Diamond
  • Druzy Amethyst
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Emerald
  • Enstatite
  • Fire Agate
  • Fire Opal
  • Fluorite
  • Fossil Coral
  • Garnet
  • Golden Beryl
  • Grandidierite
  • Grossularite Garnet
  • Hawk's Eye
  • Hematite
  • Hemimorphite Druzy
  • Hessonite Garnet
  • Hiddenite
  • Howlite
  • Idocrase
  • Imperial Topaz
  • Iolite
  • Jade Gemstones
  • Jadeite
  • Jasper
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Kyanite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis Lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Malaya Garnet
  • Mali Garnet
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Moonstone
  • Morganite
  • Moss Opal
  • Mother of Pearl
  • Mystic Quartz
  • Mystic Topaz
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidian
  • Opal
  • Opal Doublet
  • Opal in Matrix
  • Pearl
  • Peridot
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrope Garnet
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Cat's Eye
  • Quartz With Marcasite
  • Rainbow Moonstone
  • Rainbow Pyrite
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rhodolite Garnet
  • Rhodonite
  • Rose Quartz
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Ruby
  • Ruby in Fuchsite
  • Ruby-Zoisite
  • Rutile Quartz
  • Sapphire
  • Scolecite
  • Seraphinite
  • Serpentine
  • Sillimanite
  • Sillimanite Cat's Eye
  • Smithsonite
  • Smoky Quartz
  • Snowflake Obsidian
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Spessartite Garnet
  • Sphalerite
  • Sphene
  • Spinel
  • Star Diopside
  • Star Garnet
  • Star Gemstones
  • Star Lemon Quartz
  • Star Moonstone
  • Star Rose Quartz
  • Star Ruby
  • Star Sapphire
  • Star Sunstone
  • Strawberry Quartz
  • Sugilite
  • Sunstone
  • Tanzanite
  • Tiger's Eye
  • Tiger's Eye Matrix
  • Topaz
  • Tourmaline
  • Tsavorite Garnet
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
Main Categories
  • New Arrivals
  • Gemstone Lots
  • Calibrated Gemstones
  • Gemstones By Piece
  • Top Grade Gems
  • Matching Pairs
  • Cabochon Gemstones
  • Drilled Gems, Briolettes and Beads
  • Birthstones
  • Gemstone Carvings
  • Fancy Gemstones
  • Star Gemstones
  • Unheated Sapphire
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart