Nouveautés Paires Lots Contact
  : Le plus grand Saphir étoilé?
Le plus grand Saphir étoilé?

Le monde des pierres précieuses a beaucoup d'histoires faite de fortune, et certains de fortunes perdues aussi. Il s'agit d'une histoire vraie d'une fortune pas tout à fait faite. Mais le revendeur a sans doute eu ce qu'il méritait.

Roy Whetstine Star Sapphire
Roy Whetstine Star Sapphire

En Février 1986, un courtier en pierres précieuses du Texas nomme Roy Whetstine courait les bacs au salon des bijoux de Tucson quand il croisa une pierre de la taille d'une pomme de terre qui attira son attention. Le vendeur a déclaré qu'il s'agissait d'une agate de lavande et voulait 15 $ pour cela. Whetsine lui en a offert 10 $ et ils ont fermé la transaction ainsi.

Neuf mois plus tard, Whetsine a annoncé sa trouvaille au monde - un saphir de 1905 étoiles, le plus grand au monde. Il a 700 carats de plus que le précédent record titulaire, la Black Star du Queensland, découvert en 1948. Whetstine a dit que le bijou a été certifié par le GIA et évalué à 2,28 millions de dollars.

En Février 1987, Whetstine était de retour à Tucson essayant de vendre ses saphir étoilé, maintenant taillés et polis et rebaptisé La vie et la fierté de l'Amérique. Ils n'étaient apparemment pas preneur, mais certains experts de pierres précieuses avait eu la chance d'examiner la pierre. Comme le rapporte le New York Times, John Sampson Blanc, conservateur du National Gem and Mineral Collection à la Smithsonian Institution, l'a appelé "une pierre insignifiante." Techniquement, c'est un saphir, dit-il, mais pour être considéré comme un bijou, sa couleur devrait être attractive. "La couleur, dit-il," est affreuse - c'est juste une sorte de boue grise. " M. White a estimé que la valeur de la pierre n'était que de quelques centaines de dollars.

L'avis de la Smithsonian Institution n'a pas aidé Whetstine. Mais les choses ont empiré lorsque de nouveaux renseignements sur l'affaire ont émergé. Les histoires consécutives dans les nouvelles ont révélé que Lawrence A. Ward, le propriétaire du magasin de bijoux qui avait émis l'appréciation de 2,28 millions de dollars, avait perdu son appartenance à la société des Gems américaine à la suite de nombreuses plaintes selon lesquelles il avait des évaluations gonflées. En outre, les dossiers de la Cour ont montré que deux procès avaient été intentés contre Whetstine et Ward plusieurs années avant même de gonfler la valeur de ces pierres précieuses.

Toute l'affaire commence à ressembler à une escroquerie. Le vendeur d'origine n'a jamais été révélé, et on a signalé que Ward l'évaluateur avait évalué une pierre de la masse exacte en carats plusieurs années avant que Whetstine à affirmé avoir acheté la pierre à Tucson. Maintenant, les deux Whetstine et le saphir ont mauvaise allure. Mais au dernières nouvelles, il essaye toujours encore de vendre la pierre pour tout ce qu'il pourrait en tirer.

  • First Published: February-22-2008
  • Last Updated: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Reorder Items

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Biggest Star Sapphire?
Le plus grand Saphir étoilé?
Biggest Star Sapphire?

In the gemstone world, there are many stories of fortunes made and fortunes lost. This is a true story of a fortune not quite made. But in this case, the dealer probably got what he deserved.

Roy Whetstine Star Sapphire
Roy Whetstine Star Sapphire

In February 1986, a Texas gemstone broker named Roy Whetstine was roaming the bins at the Tucson Gem Show when he came across a potato-sized stone that caught his eye. The seller said it was a lavender agate and wanted $15 for it. Whetstine offered him $10 and they closed the deal.

Nine months later, Whetstine announced his find to the world - a 1,905 star sapphire, the largest in the world. It was more than 700 carats larger than the previous record-holder, the Black Star of Queensland, discovered in 1948. Whetstine said the gem was certified by the GIA and appraised at $2.28 million.

In February 1987, Whetstine was back at Tucson trying to sell his star sapphire, now cut, polished and re-named 'The Life and Pride of America'. There apparently weren't any takers, but some gemstone experts had a chance to examine the stone. According to The New York Times, John Sampson White, curator of the National Gem and Mineral Collection at the Smithsonian Institution, called it "an insignificant stone". "Technically it's a sapphire", he said. The newspaper report stated that to qualify as a gem, its color should be attractive. Mr White went on to say, "The color is awful - it's just kind of muddy gray", and he estimated the value of the stone to be as little as a few hundred dollars.

The Smithsonian's opinion didn't help Whetstine. Indeed, the situation worsened as more information about the case emerged. Follow-up stories in the news disclosed that Lawrence A. Ward, the jewelry store owner who had issued the $2.28 million appraisal, had lost his membership of the American Gem Society as a result of numerous complaints that he had inflated appraisals. In addition, court records showed that two lawsuits had been filed against Whetstine and Ward several years previously for inflating the value of gemstones.

The whole case began to look like a con. The original seller was never revealed, and there were reports that Ward had appraised a stone of the exact same carat weight several years before Whetstine said he bought the stone in Tucson. Now both Whetstine and the sapphire looked bad. According to the last report, he was still trying to sell the stone for whatever he could get.

  • First Published: February-22-2008
  • Last Updated: September-30-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping