• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
L'Histoire de la Pierre de Soleil
Pierre de Soleil brut
Pierre de Soleil brut

la pierre de soleil appartient à la plagioclase du groupe des feldspaths , et est nommé comme cela en raison de son aspect pailletée inhabituelle. Son nom propre minéralogique, est cependant, feldspath aventurine, du nom d'un type de verre à base de cuivre qui a été découvert par hasard (de l'italien, a ventura). C'est l'un des rares cas où le nom d'une pierre naturelle est venu de sa version de synthèse.

Aventurine est le nom utilisé pour à la fois un type de quartz vert et de feldspath doré. Les deux ont un aspect pailleté métallique causés par des inclusions. L'effet pailleté est connu sous le nom d'aventurescence. Peut-être pour éviter toute confusion, le nom de pierre de soleil a été adoptée dans le commerce des gemmes pour le feldspath, tandis que l'aventurine (ou quartz aventurine) est utilisé pour la variété de quartz.

La pierre de soleil est généralement d'une teinte rouge-brunâtre, avec un éclat métallique qui est causée par des plaquettes d'hématite ou de minuscules goethite. L'éclat est généralement or ou rouge, mais très rarement vert ou bleu. Nous avons trouvé deux spécimens opaques et transparents/translucides sur le marché. La pierre opaque est taillé en cabochon tandis que la pierre transparente peut être facettée. Certains des cabochons afficheront un effet d'étoile visible et sont vendus sous le nom de Pierre de Soleil Étoile.

La pierre de soleil est un silicate de sodium calcium et d'aluminium, avec une dureté de 6-6,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs. Il a une densité de 2,62 à 2,65 et un indice de réfraction de 1.525 à 1548. Elle a un clivage parfait.

Les gisements de pierre de soleil se trouvent en Inde, au Canada, à Madagascar, en Norvège, en Russie et aux États-Unis. En 1987, la pierre de soleil a été nommé le minéral d'état de l'état de l'Oregon aux États-Unis. La pierre de soleil de l'Oregon est assez unique en cela puisqu'elle est la seule pierre de soleil contenant des cristaux de cuivre.

La pierre de soleil est connue depuis de nombreux siècles et a été découverte dans le tumulus de tombes Viking. La pierre de soleil a, dit-on, des propriétés magiques et pourrait être utilisé pour invoquer les énergies associées avec le soleil. Dans la Grèce antique, ont pensait qu'elle représentait le dieu du soleil, qui apportait la vie et l'abondance à ceux qui avaient la chance de la posséder. Les autochtones de l'Oregon l'utilisaient pour le commerce et le troc.

  • Première publication: July-11-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: January-30-2012
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : History of Sunstone
L'Histoire de la  Pierre de Soleil
History of Sunstone
Sunstone Rough
Sunstone Rough

Sunstone belongs to the plagioclase feldspar group, and gets its name from its unusual spangled or glittery appearance. Its proper mineralogical name, however, is aventurine feldspar, named after a type of glass made with copper that was discovered by chance (from the Italian, a ventura). This is one of the rare cases where the name of a natural stone came from its synthetic simulant.

Aventurine is the name used for both a type of green quartz and a golden variety of feldspar. Both have a metallic glittery appearance caused by inclusions. The spangled effect is known as aventurescence. Perhaps to avoid confusion, the name sunstone was adopted in the gem trade for the feldspar, while the name aventurine (or aventurine quartz) is used for the quartz variety.

Sunstone is typically a red-brown hue, with a metallic glitter that is caused by tiny platelets of hematite or goethite. The glitter is usually gold or red, but very occasionally it is green or blue. We have found opaque to transparent specimens in the market. The opaque material is cut as cabochons while the transparent material can be faceted. Some of the cabochons display a discernible star effect and are sold under the name star sunstone.

Sunstone is composed of sodium calcium aluminum silicate, with a hardness of 6 to 6.5 on the Mohs scale. It has a density of 2.62 to 2.65 and a refractive index of 1.525 to 1548. It has perfect cleavage.

Sunstone deposits are found in India, Canada, Madagascar, Norway, Russia and the USA. In 1987 sunstone was declared the state mineral for Oregon in the USA. The Oregon sunstone is rather unique in that it is the only sunstone that contains copper crystals.

Sunstone has been known for many centuries and has been discovered in Viking burial mounds. Sunstone was thought to have magical properties and could be used to invoke the energy of the sun. In ancient Greece, it was thought to represent the sun god, bringing life and abundance to those fortunate enough to own it. The native people in Oregon used it for trade and barter.

  • First Published: July-11-2008
  • Last Updated: June-23-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping