search
  • Войти
    Зарегистрироваться
  • English speaking customer support only

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    Международный:
    +66-39609697

  • Изменить язык
  • USD

Драгоценные камни огранки «принцесса»

Драгоценный камень огранки «принцесса»
Драгоценный камень огранки «принцесса»

Огранка «принцесса» — относительно недавняя разработка в дизайне драгоценных камней, но она стала очень популярной. Фактически в алмазном мире он стал вторым по популярности. форма после круглой бриллиантовой огранки. В настоящее время он также широко используется для цветных драгоценных камней.

Огранка «принцесса» была разработана для решения конкретной проблемы в резка драгоценных камней ; наиболее привлекательный способ огранки квадратного или прямоугольного драгоценного камня. Классическим решением проблемы стала ступенчатая стрижка. Используемая в огранке изумруд и багет, ступенчатая огранка подчеркивала цвет и блеск, но за счет блеска, мерцания и огня.

Ступенчатая резка имеет большой плоский стол с широкой, плоской грани напоминающие ступеньки лестницы. Огранка «принцесса», напротив, представляет собой модифицированную версию бриллиантовой огранки с 76 гранями в ее типичной форме. Техническое описание огранки «принцесса»: «квадратная модифицированная бриллиантовая огранка».

Цитрин изумрудной огранки
Цитрин изумрудной огранки

Огранка «принцесса» берет свое начало в 1961 году, когда Апрад Надь в Лондоне разработал то, что сейчас известно как «профильная огранка». Поскольку огранка Надь была намного более плоской, современная огранка «принцесса» теперь приписывается Бэзилу Уотермейеру, огранщику алмазов из Йоханнесбурга, который в 1971 году разработал огранку Барион. Хотя огранка Барион и ее варианты были защищены патентами, срок действия ряда этих патентов истек в течение последних 10 лет, и камни, ограненные в похожем стиле, теперь известны как огранки принцесса.

Камень круглой бриллиантовой огранки
Круглый бриллиант круглой огранки

Существует множество вариаций огранки «принцесса». В идеале камень огранки «принцесса» должен быть полностью квадратным с соотношением длины и ширины 1:1. На практике отношение длины к ширине может достигать 1,15:1. Огранка «принцесса» обычно имеет 76 граней, но есть и другие версии, по крайней мере, с 45 гранями.

У огранки «принцесса» есть некоторые недостатки. Четыре заостренных угла склонны как к сколам, так и к утечке света. Это привело к разработке разрезов с коническими или скошенными углами. Но многие поклонники драгоценных камней считают, что они портят вневременной вид огранки «принцесса».

  • Первая публикация:: июнь-01-2022
  • Последнее обновление: июль-02-2022
ОСТАВАЙТЕСЬ НА СВЯЗИ
*Вы подписываетесь на получение рекламной электронной почты GemSelect.

Конфиденциальность © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com все права защищены.

Воспроизведение (текст или графика) без явного письменного согласия GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) строго запрещено.

15554

Больше фигур
Популярные Драгоценные камни
  • Сапфир
  • Изумруд
  • Рубин
  • Аквамарин
  • Циркон
  • Опал
  • Топаз
  • Турмалин
  • Гранат
  • Аметист
  • Цитрин
  • Танзанит
Все драгоценные камни (136)
Основные категории
  • Новые Поступления
  • Лоты Камней
  • Калиброванные Драгоценные Камни
  • Драгоценные камни по частям
  • Камни Высшего Сорта
  • Сочетающиеся Пары Камней
  • Кабошон
  • Перфорированные драгоценные камни, бриолеты и бусины
  • Камни, по месяцам рождения
  • Резные Драгоценные Камни
  • Причудливые Драгоценные Камни
  • Звездчатые Драгоценные Камни
  • Неподогретые Сапфиры
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

Международный:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
X Закрыть окно
Colored Gemstones
Размер и Вес

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Gemstone Search
By Reviewed By Andreas Zabczyk

Princess-Cut Gemstones

Princess-Cut Gemstone
Princess-Cut Gemstone

What is a Princess Cut Gemstone?

A princess cut gemstone refers to a specific type of diamond or gemstone cut that is characterized by its square or rectangular shape. It is a popular choice for engagement rings and other jewelry pieces. The princess cut features a brilliant faceting style, with multiple facets on the crown and pavilion, allowing for exceptional sparkle and brilliance. This cut combines the elegance of a square shape with the brilliance and fire of a round cut, making it a sought-after choice for those looking for a modern and sophisticated gemstone.

The princess cut is a relatively recent development in gemstone design, but one which has become remarkably popular. In fact in the diamond world it has become the second most popular shape after the round brilliant cut. It is now being used extensively for colored gemstones as well.

The princess cut was developed to solve a specific problem in gemstone cutting; the most attractive way to cut a square or rectangular gemstone. The classic solution to the problem was the step cut. Used in emerald and baguette cuts, the step cut emphasized color and luster, but at the expense of brilliance, scintillation and fire.

The step cut has a large flat table with broad, flat facets resembling steps of a stair. The princess cut, by contrast, is a modified version of the brilliant cut with 76 facets in its typical form. The technical description for the princess cut is "a square modified brilliant cut".

Emerald-Cut Citrine Gem
Emerald-Cut Citrine Gem

The princess cut has its origins in 1961, when Aprad Nagy in London developed what is now known as the "profile cut". Since Nagy's cut was much flatter, the modern day princess cut is now attributed to Basil Watermeyer, a diamond cutter from Johannesburg, who in 1971 developed the Barion cut. Though the Barion cut and its variants were protected by patents, a number of these patents expired during the last 10 years and stones cut in a similar style are now known as princess cuts.

Round Brilliant Cut Gem
Round Brilliant-Cut Gem

There many variations on the princess cut. Ideally a princess-cut stone should be fully square with a 1:1 length to width ratio. In practice, the length to width ratio may be as high as 1.15:1. The princess cut usually has 76 facets, but there are other versions with at least 45 facets.

The princess cut does have some weaknesses. The four pointed corners are prone to both chipping and light leakage. This has led to cuts being developed with tapered or beveled corners. But many gem aficionados believe that these detract from the timeless look of the princess cut.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*You're signing up to receive GemSelect promotional email.
Partners and Trust Payment options

Switch to Mobile Version

Copyright © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.

Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.

1129

Enlarged Gemstone Image