search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39609697

  • Changer de langue
  • USD

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de corail fossile

Pierres précieuses de corail fossile de GemSelect - Grande image
Acheter des pierres précieuses de corail fossile

À propos de Fossil Coral - Histoire et introduction

Corail fossile est un type naturel de pierre précieuse formée par d'anciens coraux. Le nom propre du corail fossile est ' corail agatisé ' ou 'corail fossile agatisé', car lors de la formation, les restes de corail sont progressivement remplacés par agate , une variété de produits naturels calcédoine , ou quartz microcristallin. Lorsque les coraux préhistoriques sont fossilisés par remplacement par de l'agate, le corail fossile se forme à travers les dépôts durcis laissés par les eaux riches en silice. L'ensemble du processus peut prendre plus de 20 millions d'années et ne se produit que dans des conditions géologiques très particulières. Les coraux sont des animaux marins et ce sont leurs squelettes qui sont fossilisés et préservés, laissant souvent des motifs floraux dans la pierre.

Le corail fossile ne doit pas être confondu avec le corail de récif en voie de disparition ou protégé ou corail précieux . Il est considéré comme un type d'agate ou de calcédoine, plutôt qu'un type de corail, en raison de sa composition en dioxyde de silicium (SiO2). Les gisements de corail ont été exploités et commercialisés pour leur teneur élevée en calcium, potassium, magnésium et sodium, et sont souvent utilisés pour la fabrication de suppléments de santé et de médicaments. Le corail fossile est utilisé dans les engrais industriels et les filtres de purification de l'eau car il peut éliminer les impuretés chimiques telles que le chlore et le formaldéhyde.

Pierre de corail fossile

Identifier le corail fossile

Retour au sommet

Le corail fossile est créé par le processus de remplacement, par lequel le carbonate de calcium (corail) est remplacé par de la silice. Ce processus unique de conservation peut entraîner des concentrations minérales différentes d'un échantillon à l'autre. La silice peut aller de l'opaline amorphe légère aux formes denses de calcédoine. Ainsi, les spécimens de coraux fossiles peuvent avoir des densités légèrement variables en fonction de la concentration minérale exacte. Le corail fossile peut être confondu avec d'autres types d'agate comme la mousse ou agate dendritique , mais le motif et la couleur du corps du corail fossile sont assez distincts. Le corail fossile est également beaucoup plus dur que corail précieux . La plupart des coraux fossiles agatisés présentent un lustre terne à cireux et d'intéressants motifs de coraux anciens ressemblant à des squelettes, apparaissant le plus souvent sous forme de fleurs.

Origine du corail fossile et sources de pierres précieuses

Retour au sommet

Presque tous les spécimens de coraux fossiles se trouvent en Indonésie ou aux États-Unis (Floride et Géorgie). La Floride a même déclaré le corail fossile agatisé comme son "Florida State Rock" officiel. Le corail fossilisé indonésien est considéré comme le plus désirable et unique. En Indonésie, on trouve souvent des têtes de corail entières parfaitement préservées, apparaissant exactement comme il y a 20 millions d'années, bien que la densité puisse varier en fonction du remplacement chimique exact de la silice, du manganèse, du fer et d'autres minéraux divers.

Acheter du corail fossile et déterminer sa valeur

Retour au sommet

Couleur de corail fossile

Le corail fossile agatisé peut présenter une large gamme de couleurs naturelles, allant du blanc et du rose au brun, gris, noir, jaune et rouge. La couleur du corail peut varier considérablement au sein d'une même pierre, en fonction de l'altération, de l'oxydation et de la teneur en minéraux d'origine.

Clarté et lustre du corail fossile

Le corail fossile est généralement opaque, mais certains spécimens peuvent sembler presque translucides. Une fois coupés et polis, ils ont un lustre cireux à terne.

Coupe et forme de corail fossile

Le corail fossile est souvent façonné et poli comme des cabochons. Ils sont fréquemment utilisés pour les sculptures de pierres précieuses ornementales. La plupart des cabochons sont coupés avec des dômes bas ou des surfaces planes. Les formes les plus courantes sont les ovales, les ronds et les coussins. Les formes fantaisie et libres sont également très populaires.

Traitement du corail fossile

Le corail fossile n'est généralement pas traité ou amélioré de quelque façon que ce soit. Cependant, il a été signalé que des coraux fossiles chauffés se dirigeaient vers les marchés. Le chauffage est une forme de traitement d'amélioration utilisé pour produire des teintes rougeâtres plus fortes dans les spécimens. Le traitement est très difficile à détecter ; la plupart des laboratoires sont incapables de détecter un chauffage aussi doux

Propriétés gemmologiques du corail fossile :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: SiO2 ; Dioxyde de silicone
Structure en cristal: Hexagonal; prismes hexagonaux
Couleur: Généralement gris; toutes les couleurs, multicolores et à motifs
Dureté: 6,5 à 7 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.530 à 1.540
Densité: 2,60 à 2,64
Clivage: Rien
Transparence: Translucide à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : Jusqu'à 0,004
Lustre: Cireux à terne
Fluorescence: Variable

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Corail fossile : Pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires :

Retour au sommet
Cabochon de pierres précieuses de corail rose
Acheter des gemmes de corail

Le corail fossile est du corail qui a été remplacé par du quartz cryptocristallin et n'est plus du tout du « corail ». Les pierres précieuses de corail appartiennent à un petit mais important groupe de pierres précieuses qui, techniquement, ne sont pas du tout des « pierres ». Ils sont formés par un processus biologique et appartiennent à une classe d'élite de « pierres organiques ». D'autres pierres précieuses organiques comprennentambre fossilisé , ammolite fossilisée , ivoire, perle et jet . Étant donné que la composition en carbonate de calcium du corail fossile a longtemps été remplacée par du SiO2 (dioxyde de silicium), il est considéré comme un type de quartz, qui est l'un des minéraux les plus abondants sur terre, juste après le feldspath. Il existe de nombreuses variétés de pierres précieuses de quartz et seulement quelques types de pierres précieuses organiques qui sont étroitement liés au corail fossile agatisé.

Variétés et noms commerciaux de pierres précieuses similaires ou apparentées les plus populaires :

Le corail, l'agate à bandes, la cornaline, le sard, la sardonyx, l'onyx, la chrysocolle, l'agate oculaire, l'agate dendritique, l'agate de feu, la géode d'agate, l'agate mousse et l'agate bréchique, l'ambre, l'ammolite et la perle sont les pierres précieuses apparentées les plus populaires et les plus connues.

Variétés de pierres précieuses et noms commerciaux similaires ou apparentés moins connus :

Jet, ivoire, agate d'arbre, jaspe d'agate, agate du Botswana, agate de dentelle bleue, agate fossile, agate d'iris, agate de Laguna, agate de paysage, agate scénique, agate de tube, agate de peau de serpent, agate d'eau douce, agate bleue de Mojave, agate de Thunderegg, agate de Fairburn , l'agate Dryhead, l'agate du lac Supérieur et l'agate d'iris sont des pierres précieuses apparentées moins connues.

Mythologie du corail fossile, propriétés métaphysiques et cicatrisantes

Retour au sommet

Étant donné que le corail fossile est une combinaison de corail et d'agate, il porte de nombreuses croyances métaphysiques fortes. L'agate est associée aux signes du zodiaque Scorpion et Gémeaux, et on dit que l'agate est gouvernée par la lune. C'est une pierre d'ancrage et est censée être bonne pour amener le changement. Physiquement, on pense que l'agate est capable d'aider à guérir les troubles pancréatiques et à améliorer la circulation sanguine et aérienne. Il est utilisé pour guérir les maladies des yeux, de la peau et de l'estomac, on pense même qu'il améliore la longévité.

Depuis le début du 1er millénaire, le corail est une pierre précieuse très prisée car on lui attribue des propriétés mystérieuses, puissantes et sacrées. Les Gaulois utilisaient souvent des pierres précieuses de corail comme ornement pour leurs casques et leurs armes, croyant qu'il s'agissait d'une pierre protectrice. Les anciens Égyptiens plaçaient également du corail dans les tombes des défunts pour se protéger des mauvais esprits, car ils croyaient que chaque gemme de corail contenait en fait du sang divin.

Les Romains accrochaient des branches de corail autour du cou de leurs enfants pour les protéger du danger. Au début du 20e siècle, les Italiens utilisaient le corail pour se protéger du «mauvais œil» et de nombreux Italiens l'utilisaient pour l'infertilité. Chez les tribus Hopi et Zuni, la « route de la vie » est symbolisée par le corail, le jais, l'ormeau et la turquoise (les quatre éléments). Bien que le corail ne soit une pierre de naissance traditionnelle pour aucun mois, c'est une pierre du zodiaque non traditionnelle pour le Taureau. On pense que les pierres de corail de couleur rougeâtre et orange sont bénéfiques pour les chakras de la racine et de la rate en fournissant de l'énergie et de la chaleur.

Avis de non-responsabilité : le pouvoir et les propriétés de guérison des cristaux métaphysiques et alternatifs ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont recueillies auprès de diverses ressources et ne constituent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne remplacent pas les conseils de votre médecin. Si vous avez des problèmes de santé, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de guérison ou pierre de naissance astrologique pouvoirs et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu pour responsable.

Idées de bijoux en pierres précieuses de corail fossile

Retour au sommet

Le corail fossile agatisé est très recherché par les collectionneurs de pierres précieuses et de fossiles du monde entier. Il est souvent utilisé dans les perles et autres types de bijoux uniques. Étant donné que le corail fossile est un type d'agate, il est assez dur (7 sur l'échelle de Mohs) et très durable, ce qui rend le corail fossile parfaitement adapté à toutes sortes de créations de bijoux, y compris les bagues à porter au quotidien. Le corail fossile est le plus souvent façonné en pendentifs, mais il peut aussi faire des épingles, broches, colliers et boucles d'oreilles très intéressants. Pour les bijoux pour hommes, les modèles populaires incluent les boutons de manchette et les punaises de cravate.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que le diamant en poids en comparaison.

Entretenir et nettoyer le corail fossile Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Le corail fossile est une forme d'agate, qui à son tour est une variété de quartz. Tout le quartz est considéré comme assez durable par rapport à la plupart des autres pierres précieuses. Il peut être facilement nettoyé à l'aide d'eau chaude savonneuse et d'un chiffon doux. Assurez-vous de bien rincer pour éliminer tout résidu de savon. Même si le corail fossile agatisé a une dureté et une durabilité assez bonnes, il existe encore une variété d'autres matériaux qui peuvent facilement le rayer. Par conséquent, évitez de le porter, de le mélanger ou de le stocker avec d'autres pierres précieuses, qu'elles soient plus molles ou plus dures, afin d'éviter les rayures et les fractures.

Retirez toujours les pierres précieuses et les bijoux avant de faire de l'exercice ou de pratiquer un sport vigoureux. Comme pour la plupart des pierres précieuses, évitez l'utilisation de produits chimiques ménagers agressifs (eau de Javel, acide sulfurique et autres) lors de l'entretien ou du nettoyage de votre corail fossile. La plupart des formes d'agate sont en fait assez poreuses, ce qui leur permet d'être facilement colorées, ce qui signifie qu'elles peuvent absorber assez facilement d'autres produits chimiques et couleurs. Évitez l'exposition prolongée à une chaleur extrême, car la chaleur peut altérer de façon permanente la couleur de votre pierre précieuse. Lorsque vous stockez du corail fossile, enveloppez-le à l'aide d'un chiffon doux et placez-le dans une boîte doublée de tissu pour une protection supplémentaire.

  • Première publication: 07 Août 2021
  • Dernière mise à jour: 29 Juin 2022
RESTE EN CONTACT
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.

Avis de Confidentialité © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

10080

Plus de formes
Pierres précieuses populaires
  • Saphir
  • Émeraude
  • Rubis
  • Aigue Marine
  • Zircon
  • Opale
  • Topaze
  • Tourmaline
  • Grenat
  • Améthyste
  • Citrine
  • Tanzanite
Toutes les pierres précieuses (136)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É
  • Actinolite œil De Chat
  • Agate
  • Agate De Feu
  • Agate Géode
  • Aigue Marine
  • Amazonite
  • Ammolite
  • Améthyste
  • Améthyste Géode
  • Amétrine
  • Andalousite
  • Andésine Labradorite
  • Apatite
  • Aventurine
  • Béryl Doré
  • Calcédoine
  • Charoïte
  • Chrysobéryl
  • Chrysocolle
  • Chrysoprase
  • Citrine
  • Corail
  • Corail De Fossile
  • Cornaline
  • Dendritique Agate
  • Diamant
  • Diaspore Couleur Changeant
  • Diopside Chrome
  • Diopside Étoilé
  • Disthène
  • Druse D'améthyste
  • Druzy Azurite
  • Druzy Variscite
  • Enstatite
  • Flocon De Neige Obsidienne
  • Fluorine
  • Fluorite Avec Changement De Couleur
  • Grandidierite
  • Grenat
  • Grenat Almandin
  • Grenat Couleur Changeant
  • Grenat Démantoïde
  • Grenat Grossulaire
  • Grenat Hessonite
  • Grenat Malaya
  • Grenat Mali
  • Grenat Pyrope
  • Grenat Rhodolite
  • Grenat Spessartite
  • Grenat Tsavorite
  • Grenat Étoilé
  • Howlite
  • Hématite
  • Hémimorphite
  • Hémimorphite Druse
  • Idocrase
  • Iolite
  • Jadéite
  • Jaspe
  • Jaspe Sanguin
  • Kornerupine
  • Kunzite
  • Labradorite
  • Lapis-lazuli
  • Larimar
  • Malachite
  • Maw-Sit-Sit
  • Morganite
  • Nacre
  • Nuummite
  • Obsidienne
  • Oeil De Chat Aigue-Marine
  • Oeil De Chat Apatite
  • Oeil De Chat De La Pierre De Lune
  • Oeil De Chat Quartz
  • Oeil De Chat Scapolite
  • Oeil De Chat Sillimanite
  • Oeil De Tigre
  • Oeil De Tigre Matrice
  • Opale
  • Opale Boulder
  • Opale Chocolat
  • Opale De Feu
  • Opale Doublet
  • Opale En Matrice
  • Opale Noir
  • Opale œil De Chat
  • Perle
  • Pierre De Lune
  • Pierre De Lune Arc En Ciel
  • Pierre De Lune Étoilé
  • Pierre De Soleil 
  • Pierre Précieuse étoiles
  • Pierres Précieuses De Couleur Changeante
  • Pierres Précieuses Jade
  • Pierres Précieuses Oeil De Chat
  • Pietersite
  • Prehnite
  • Pyrite
  • Pyrite Arc En Ciel
  • Péridot
  • Quartz
  • Quartz Avec Hédenbergite
  • Quartz Avec Marcassite
  • Quartz Fraise
  • Quartz Fumé
  • Quartz Rose
  • Quartz Rose Étoilé
  • Quartz Rutile
  • Rhodochrosite
  • Rubellite Tourmaline
  • Rubis
  • Rubis En Fuchsite
  • Rubis Étoilé
  • Rubis-Zoisite
  • Saphir
  • Saphir Couleur-Changeant
  • Saphir Étoilé
  • Scapolite
  • Scolécite
  • Seraphinite
  • Sillimanite
  • Smithsonite
  • Sodalite
  • Spectrolite
  • Sphène
  • Spinelle
  • Tanzanite
  • Topaze
  • Topaze Imperiale
  • Topaze Mystique
  • Tourmaline
  • Turquoise
  • Variscite
  • Zircon
  • Émeraude
Catégories principales
  • Nouveautés
  • Lots de pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses calibrées
  • Pierres gemmes à la pièce
  • Des pierres précieuses d'excellentes qualités
  • Paires correspondant
  • Pierres précieuses cabochon
  • Gemmes, briolettes et perles percées
  • Pierre de naissance
  • Sculptures en pierres précieuses
  • Pierres précieuses fantaisie
  • Pierre précieuse étoiles
  • Saphir non chauffé
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

New Arrivals Pairs Lots Jewelry Contact
 
: Fossil Coral Info

Fossil Coral Gemstone Information

About Fossil Coral - History and Introduction

Fossil coral is a natural type of gemstone formed by ancient corals. The proper name for fossil coral is 'agatized coral' or 'agatized fossil coral', because during formation, the coral remains are gradually replaced with agate, a variety of naturally occurring chalcedony, or microcrystalline quartz. When prehistoric corals are fossilized through replacement with agate, the fossil coral forms through hardened deposits left by silica-rich waters. The entire process can take over 20 million years and occurs only under very unique geological conditions. Corals are marine animals and it is their skeletons that are fossilized and preserved, often leaving flower-like patterns in the stone.

Fossil coral should not be mistaken for endangered or protected reef coral or precious coral. It is considered to be a type of agate or chalcedony, rather than a type of coral, due to its silicon dioxide composition (SiO2). Coral deposits have been mined and commercialized for their high calcium, potassium, magnesium and sodium content, and are often used for the making of health and drug supplements. Fossil coral is used in industrial fertilizers and water purification filters because it can remove chemical impurities such as chlorine and formaldehyde.

Fossil Coral Gemstone
Identifying Fossil Coral Back to Top

Fossil coral is created through the process of replacement, whereby calcium carbonate (coral) is replaced by silica. This unique process of preservation can result in different mineral concentrations from specimen to specimen. Silica can range from light amorphous opaline to dense forms of chalcedony. Thus, fossil coral specimens may have slightly varying densities depending on the exact mineral concentration. Fossil coral can be mistaken for other types of agate such as moss or dendritic agate, but the pattern and body color of fossil coral is quite distinct. Fossil coral is also much harder than precious coral. Most agatized fossil coral exhibits a dull to waxy luster and interesting skeletal-like ancient coral patterns, most often appearing in flower shapes.

Fossil Coral Origin and Gemstone Sources Back to Top

Almost all fossil coral specimens are found in either Indonesia or the United States (Florida and Georgia). Florida has even declared agatized fossil coral as their official 'Florida State Rock'. Indonesian fossilized coral is considered to be the most desirable and unique. In Indonesia, entire coral heads are often found perfectly preserved, appearing exactly as they did 20 million years ago, though density may vary according to the exact chemical replacement of silica, manganese, iron and other various minerals.

Buying Fossil Coral and Determining Value Back to Top

Fossil Coral Color

Agatized fossil coral can exhibit a wide range of natural colors, ranging from white and pink, to brown, gray, black, yellow and red. Coral color may vary widely within a single stone, depending on weathering, oxidation and the original mineral content.

Fossil Coral Clarity and Luster

Fossil coral is typically opaque, but some specimens may appear near-translucent. When cut and polished, they have a waxy to dull luster.

Fossil Coral Cut and Shape

Fossil coral is often shaped and polished as cabochons. They are frequently used for ornamental gemstone carvings. Most cabochons are cut with low domes or flat surfaces. The most common shapes are ovals, rounds and cushions. Fancy and freeform shapes are also quite popular.

Fossil Coral Treatment

Fossil coral is not typically treated or enhanced in any way. However, there have been reports of heated fossil coral making its way to the markets. The heating is a form of enhancement treatment used to produce stronger reddish hues in specimens. The treatment is very hard to detect; most labs are unable to detect such mild heating

Fossil Coral Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: SiO2; Silicon dioxide
Crystal Structure: Hexagonal; hexagonal prisms
Color: Mostly gray; all colors, multicolored and patterned
Hardness: 6.5 to 7 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.530 to 1.540
Density: 2.60 to 2.64
Cleavage: None
Transparency: Translucent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: Up to 0.004
Luster: Waxy to dull
Fluorescence: Variable

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Fossil Coral: Related or Similar Gemstones: Back to Top
Pink Coral Gemstone Cabochon
Shop Coral Gems

Fossil coral is coral which has been replaced by cryptocrystalline quartz and is no longer 'coral' at all. Coral gemstones belong to a small, but important group of gemstones which technically are not 'stones' at all. They are formed through a biological process and belong to an elite class of 'organic gems'. Other organic gemstones include fossilized amber, fossilized ammolite, ivory, pearl and jet. Since fossil coral's calcium carbonate composition has long been replaced by SiO2 (silicon dioxide), it is considered to be a type of quartz, which is one of the most abundant minerals on earth, second only to feldspar. There are numerous varieties of quartz gemstones and only a few types of organic gemstones that are e closely related to agatized fossil coral.

Most Popular Similar or Related Gemstone Varieties and Trade Names:

Coral, banded agate, carnelian, sard, sardonyx, onyx, chrysocolla, eye agate, dendritic agate, fire agate, agate geode, moss agate and brecciated agate, amber, ammolite and pearl are the most popular and well-known related gemstones.

Lesser-Known Similar or Related Gemstone Varieties and Trade Names:

Jet, ivory, tree agate, agate jasper, Botswana agate, blue lace agate, fossil agate, iris agate, Laguna agate, landscape agate, scenic agate, tube agate, snakeskin agate, Sweetwater agate, Mojave blue agate, thunderegg agate, Fairburn agate, Dryhead agate, Lake Superior agate and iris agate are lesser known related gemstones.

Fossil Coral Mythology, Metaphysical and Crystal Healing Properties Back to Top

Since fossil coral is a combination of coral and agate, it carries many strong metaphysical beliefs. Agate is associated with the zodiacal signs Scorpio and Gemini, and agate is said to be ruled by the moon. It is a grounding stone and is supposedly good for bringing about change. Physically, agate is thought to be able to help heal pancreatic disorders and improve blood and air circulation. It is used for healing illnesses of the eyes, skin and stomach, is even believed to enhance longevity.

Since the beginning of the 1st millennium, coral has been highly prized as a gem because it was believed to have mysterious, powerful and sacred properties. The Gauls often used coral gems as ornamentation for their helmets and weapons, believing that it was a protective stone. Ancient Egyptians also placed coral in tombs of the deceased to protect against evil spirits because they believed each coral gem actually contained divine blood.

The Romans hung branches of coral around the necks of their children to protect them from danger. In the early 20th century, the people of Italy used coral for protection from the 'evil eye' and many Italians used it for infertility. Among the Hopi and Zuni tribes, the 'road of life' is symbolized by coral, jet, abalone and turquoise (the four elements). Although coral is not a traditional birthstone for any month, it is a non-traditional zodiac stone for Taurus. Reddish and orange colored coral stones are thought to benefit the root and spleen chakras by providing energy and warmth.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Power and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and is not the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Fossil Coral Gemstone Jewelry Ideas Back to Top

Agatized fossil coral is highly sought after by gem and fossil collectors around the world. It is often used in beads and other types of unique jewelry. Since fossil coral is a type of agate, it is fairly hard (7 on the Mohs scale) and very durable, rendering fossil coral perfectly suitable for all kinds of jewelry designs including daily-wear rings. Fossil coral is most frequently fashioned into pendants, but it can also make very interesting pins, brooches, necklaces and earrings. For men's jewelry, popular designs include cuff-links and tie tacks.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamond by weight in comparison.

Caring for and Cleaning Fossil Coral Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesFossil coral is a form of agate, which in turn is a variety of quartz. All quartz is considered quite durable compared to most other gemstones. It can be easily cleaned using warm, soapy water and a soft cloth. Be sure to rinse well to remove any soapy residue. Even though agatized fossil coral has fairly good hardness and durability, there are still a variety of other materials which can easily scratch it. Therefore, avoid wearing, mixing or storing it with other gems, whether softer or harder, in order to prevent scratches and fractures.

Always remove gems and jewelry before exercising or playing any vigorous sports. As with most gemstones, avoid the use of any harsh household chemicals (bleach, sulfuric acid and suchlike) when caring for or cleaning your fossil coral. Most forms of agate are actually quite porous, allowing them to be easily stained, meaning that they can absorb other chemicals and colors quite easily. Avoid prolonged exposure to extreme heat, as heat can permanently alter the color of your gemstone. When storing fossil coral, wrap it using a soft cloth and place it inside a fabric-lined box for added protection.

  • First Published: January-22-2014
  • Last Updated: October-12-2017
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart