Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : L'Histoire du Spinelle
History of Spinel
L'Histoire du Spinelle

Spinel from Tanzania and BurmaSpinelle est le nom donné aux pierres rouges qui ont quelque peu prêter à confusion en étant associée au rubis tout au long de leur histoire. L'origine du nom est incertaine mais on pense qu'il vient de spina mot latin qui signifie petite épine, et peut se référer aux pointes aiguës qu'on retrouvent sur des cristaux de spinelle.

Alternativement épellé Spynel, Spinelle, Spinal, Espinal, et Spinelle, ce bijou a été documentée dans la littérature depuis le XVIe siècle. Toutefois, il est clair que, plus tôt encore, à l'époque médiévale, les spinelles étaient connus sous d'autres noms, en particulier, le rubis de balas ou lal, le mot persan pour rubis de balas. Cela vient d'un mot ancien pour Badakhshan, une province dans le nord de l'Afghanistan, qui est célèbre pour ses rubis et ses mines de spinelle.

Les mines de Badakhshan ont été d'une grande importance dès 1000 - 1900 après J.C, et l'une des premières références les concernant se retrouve dans le journal de Marco Polo (1254 - 1324 après J.C). Il a écrit des mines de spinelle:

"BADASHAN est une province habitée par des gens qui adorent Mahomet, et ont un langage particulier. Il forme un royaume très grand, et la royauté est héréditaire. C'est dans cette province que se trouvent ses pierres fines et précieuses, les rubis de balas. Les pierres sont minés pour le compte du roi, et personne n'ose creuser dans la montagne sous peine de déchéance de la vie ainsi que des biens, ni sortir les pierres hors du royaume. Mais le roi les accumulent toutes, et les envoie à d'autres rois, quand il veut leur rendre hommage ou quand il souhaite offrir un cadeau amical, et c'est seulement quand cela lui plait qu'il est possible d'en vendre, il agit ainsi dans le but de maintenir la Balas à une valeur élevée".

Buy Pink, Red and Blue Spinel at GemSelectCet extrait est la preuve que beaucoup des meilleurs premiers rubis et spinelles rouge dans les collections de pierres précieuses à travers le monde ont été extraits à l'origine au Badakhshan, et que quelques-unes des pierres les plus célèbres, qu'on a longtemps pensé être des rubis, sont en fait à l'origine des spinelles. Les deux les plus célèbres sont surement ceux qui font partie des joyaux de la couronne du Royaume-Uni et sont le Rubis du Prince Noir et le Rubis Timur, avec à la fois une fascinante et longue histoire.

Il a fallu attendre le XIXe siècle pour que les structures de l'environnement naturel de nombreuses formes de spinelle ait été finalement reconnus, ainsi que la beauté étonnante et la clarté de ses gammes de couleurs.

Toutefois, mis à part ses qualités esthétique qui sont sans doute égale à celle du rubis certains spinelles ont une autre qualité importante qui a traversé l'histoire: les minéraux spinelle, magnétite, ont des propriétés magnétiques qui en fait peut-être le minéral le plus important jamais découvert.

Connu comme pierre d'aimant qui signifie littéralement pierre directrice, les marins dès le 11ème siècle utilisait cette forme de spinelle pour magnétiser leurs boussoles dont ils se servaient comme guide au cours de leur navigation en mer. Cela a également marqué le début de l'art de la cartographie, quand les marins ont commencé à tracer le cours de leurs voyages et de créer les premières cartes du monde.

  • First Published: 24-mai-2008
  • Last Updated: 21-avril-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : History of Spinel
L'Histoire du Spinelle
History of Spinel

Spinel from Tanzania and BurmaSpinel is the name given to the red gemstones which have been somewhat confusingly associated with rubies throughout their history. The origin of the name is unclear although it is believed to have come from the Latin word spina which means little thorn, and may refer to the sharp points which occur on some spinel crystals.

Alternately spelled spynel, spinell, spinal, espinal, and spinelle, this gem has been documented in literature dating from the sixteenth century. However, it is clear that earlier still, in medieval times, spinels were known by other names, in particular, balas ruby or lal, the Persian word for balas ruby. This comes from an ancient word for Badakhshan, a province in northern Afghanistan which is famous for its rubies and spinel mines.

The Badakhshan mines were of great importance as early as 1000 - 1900 AD, and one of the earliest references to them occur in the diary of Marco Polo (1254 - 1324 AD). He wrote of the spinel mines:

"BADASHAN is a Province inhabited by people who worship Mohammet, and have a peculiar language. It forms a very great kingdom, and the royalty is hereditary. It is in this province that those fine and valuable gems the Balas Rubies are found. The stones are dug on the king's account, and no one else dares dig in that mountain on pain of forfeiture of life as well as goods; nor may one carry the stones out of the kingdom. But the king amasses them all, and sends them to other kings when he has tribute to render, or when he desires to offer a friendly present; and such only as he pleases he causes to be sold. Thus he acts in order to keep the Balas at a high value."

Buy Pink, Red and Blue Spinel at GemSelectThis extract is evidence that many of the finest early rubies and red spinels in gem collections around the world were originally mined at Badakhshan, and that some of the most famous stones, long thought to be rubies, are in fact spinel from this source. Perhaps the two most famous of these which form part of the Crown Jewels of the United Kingdom are the Black Prince's Ruby, and the Timur Ruby, both with long and fascinating histories.

It was not until the nineteenth century that the structures of the many natural forms of spinel were finally recognized, as well as the astounding beauty and clarity of it range of colors.

But apart from its aesthetic qualities which are arguably equal to that of rubies, some spinel has another important quality which has been of use throughout history: the spinel mineral, magnetite, has magnetic properties which make it perhaps the most important mineral ever to be discovered.

Known as lodestone which literally means way stone, mariners as early as the 11th century used this form of spinel to magnetize their compasses which they used to guide their ship's course at sea. This also saw the beginning of the art of cartography, as seaman began to plot the courses of their voyages and create the earliest maps of the world.

  • First Published: May-24-2008
  • Last Updated: October-07-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping