Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Corail de Fossile d'Agate
Agatized Fossil Coral
Corail de Fossile d'Agate
Fossil Coral from Indonesia
Corail de Fossile d'Indonésie

Le corail de fossile est une pierre naturelle qui est formée quand le corail ancien est progressivement remplacé par l'agate. Le nom propre pour cette matière est le corail d'agate ou le corail de fossile d'agate. Le corail fossilisé apparaît typiquement comme des fleurs ressemblant à des petits motifs dans la pierre.

Les Coraux de Fossile d'Agate présente une large gamme de couleurs naturelles, allant du blanc et rose au brun, gris, noir, jaune et rouge. Les Coraux peuvent varier au sein d'une seule pierre en fonction de l'altération et de l'oxydation contenu dans le minéral d'origine.

Les coraux font partis des animaux les plus colorés dans la mer. La plupart des coraux vivent dans les mers chaudes, peu profondes, tropicales et se nourrissent de plancton. Les coraux fossiles les plus anciens datent de la période Ordovicienne, il y a plus de 450 millions d'années. Les coraux sont des animaux marins avec un corps semblable à un sac, une bouche, des tentacules et un squelette. C'est le squelette qui survit dans le corp du fossile. Les coraux peuvent être solitaires ou trouvés dans de grandes colonies.

Natural Fossil Coral
Corail de Fossile Naturel

Dans certains cas, les coraux ont été enterrés dans les sédiments, car le terrain a été affecté par les mouvements des plaques de la croûte terrestre ou des océans a augmenté et est tombé. La température et la pression de compactage en cours d'enfouissement a donné lieu à ces gisements de roche et de devenir partie des données géologiques actuelle.

L'agate, aussi connue comme la calcédoine, est un type de quartz cryptocrystalline ou de dioxyde de silicium. Sous des conditions géologiques uniques, les coraux préhistoriques et les mollusques peuvent fossiliser en étant remplacé par l'agate de la riche silice avec de l'eau souterraine qui percole à travers le calcaire.

Parmi les variétés de coraux fossilisés découverts dans le monde entier, les spécimens extrêmement détaillées des montagnes de l'Indonésie sont parmi les plus uniques. En Indonésie, l'ensemble des têtes de corail sont souvent complètement préservé et apparaissent comme ils le faisaient il y a 20 millions d'années, bien que leur densité a beaucoup changé par le remplacement de la silice, du fer, du manganèse et d'autres minéraux. Il y a des coraux de fougère, des coraux cerveau, des coraux hexagone, des coraux en nid d'abeilles et beaucoup plus.

La Floride et la Géorgie aux Etats-Unis sont aussi des sources d'importation du corail de fossile. En fait la Floride a déclaré que le corail de fossile est la Roche de l'État de Floride.

Les morceaux de corail de fossile sont recherchés par les collectionneurs de pierres précieuses et de fossiles autour du monde. Ils sont aussi utilisées dans les perles et autres bijoux. Comme l'agate est assez dure (7 sur l'échelle de Mohs) elle est très durable, le corail de fossile est convenable pour toutes sortes de bijouterie.

  • First Published: 05-mars-2009
  • Last Updated: 09-octobre-2009
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Agatized Fossil Coral
Corail de Fossile d'Agate
Agatized Fossil Coral
Fossil Coral from Indonesia
Fossil Coral from Indonesia

Fossil coral is a natural stone that is formed when ancient coral is gradually replaced with agate. The proper name for this material is agatized coral or agatized fossil coral. The fossilized coral typically appears as small flower-like patterns in the stone.

Agatized fossil coral can exhibit a wide range of natural colors, ranging from white and pink to brown, gray, black, yellow and red. Coral gemstones may vary widely depending on weathering, oxidation and the original mineral content.

Corals are among the most colorful animals in the sea. Most corals live in warm, shallow, tropical seas and feed on plankton. The oldest fossil corals are from the Ordovican period, which began over 450 million years ago. Corals are marine animals with a sac-like body, a mouth, tentacles and a skeleton. It is the skeleton that survives in the fossil record. Corals may be solitary or form large colonies.

Natural Fossil Coral
Natural Fossil Coral

In some cases corals were buried in sediment as the land surface was affected by crustal plate movements or as the oceans rose and fell. Temperature and pressure from compaction during burial resulted in those deposits becoming rock and part of the present day geological record.

Agate, also known as chalcedony, is a type of cryptocrystalline quartz or silicon dioxide. Under unique geological conditions, prehistoric corals and mollusks can fossilize by being replaced with agate from silica-rich ground water percolating through limestone.

Of the varieties of fossilized corals found throughout the world, exquisitely detailed specimens from the mountains of Indonesia are among the most unique. In Indonesia, entire coral heads are often completely preserved and appear just as they did 20 million years ago, though their density is much changed by replacement with silica, iron, manganese and other minerals. There are fern corals, brain corals, hex corals, honeycomb corals and many more.

Florida and Georgia in the USA are also important sources of fossil coral. In fact Florida has declared fossil coral to be the Florida State Rock.

Fossil coral pieces are sought by gemstone and fossil collectors around the world. Additionally, fossil coral gemstones are used in beads and other jewelry. Since agate is fairly hard (7 on the Mohs scale) and very durable, fossil coral is suitable for all kinds of jewelry.

  • First Published: March-05-2009
  • Last Updated: June-24-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping