Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Information sur les pierres précieuses Turquoise
Turquoise Gemstone InformationInformación de la piedra preciosa turquesa
Introduction

La Turquoise, le cousin bleu du lapis-lazuli, est connue et appréciée depuis des milliers d'années. Les premières mines du Sinaï, en Égypte, étaient déjà travaillé en 2000 avant J.C. Aujourd'hui la meilleure qualité de Turquoise se trouve en Iran. La turquoise a été envoyé à l'Europe via la Turquie, d'où son nom, qui signifie «à la turque» en français.

La couleur azurée brillante a fait du Turquoise une pierre précieuse classique, surtout quand elle est montée sur de l'argent. La pierre turquoise couper en cabochon est utilisée pour toutes sortes de bijoux: broches, colliers, bracelets, bagues et boucles d'oreilles. En raison de sa relative douceur, 5-6 (échelle de Mohs), il peut être taillé en objets décoratifs, mais nécessite une certaine prudence. La lumière, la sueur, l'huile, les cosmétiques et les produits ménagers peuvent affecter la couleur du Turquoise.

La turquoise était longtemps considéré comme une pierre sainte, de bonne chance ou un talisman. On croit qu'il promeut la bonne chance, le bonheur et une longue vie.

La turquoise est la pierre de naissance pour ceux qui sont nés en Décembre.

Turquoise Gemstone

Les couleurs du turquoise
Acheter un turquoise
Où trouve-t-on le turquoise?
Traitements connue du turquoise
Turquoise de renommée mondiale
Gemmologie du turquoise
Turquoise, Légendes et traditions

Couleurs du turquoise
La turquoise est entre azuré, bleu-vert et vert pomme. L'azuré est la couleur la plus populaire, bien que le vert soit le plus rare. La turquoise bleu pur colorié est rare. Les pierres sont le plus souvent mélangés avec des veines brunes, grise foncé ou noir de minéraux ou de la roche hôte (comme la calcédoine ou l'opale, limonite brune, chert noir, ou kaolinite blanc). On appelle ces pierres matrice turquoise. Les gammes de couleur par des nuances de bleus à bleu-vert, à vert jaunâtre sont fonctions de la quantité de cuivre (fond bleu) du chrome ou du vanadium (fond vert), et du fer (fond jaune). Il existe des spécimens rares de couleur bleu-violette, qui contiennent des impuretés de strontium.

En général la couleur est stable seulement si la pierre n'est pas exposée à une lumière forte, températures élevées, la sueur, l'huile, les cosmétiques et les produits chimiques ménagers.  Une perte de son contenu naturel d'eau (18-20%) se traduit par des changements de couleur indésirables. La plus désirée des couleurs est le bleu ciel, se changeant à 250 degrés C (482 degrés F) dans un vert terne. La plupart des Turquoise aux États-Unis contiennent du Fe, substitution de l'Al, qui provoque une couleur verdâtre.

Acheter un turquoise
La turquoise est une pierre abordable pour son poids de carat. Il est assez doux, 5-6 sur l'échelle de Mohs et exige un peu de soin. Un anneau de Turquoise devrait toujours être enlevé avant que les mains ne soient lavées.

Couleur
Un azuré sans tache est la couleur la plus désirée pour la turquoise, mais rarement trouvé. Un vert pomme de turquoise est rare.

Clarté
La turquoise est translucide à opaque avec un éclat cireux. Il y a seulement un gisement connu, dans l'état de Virginie, où la turquoise est trouvé en cristaux visibles transparent ou translucides. Ces échantillons sont rares et chers.

Taille
Classiquement la turquoise est taillé en cabochon, en broches, en colliers, en bracelets, en bagues et en boucles d'oreilles, ou gravés en objets décoratifs.

Turquoise, emplacements et gisements
Les plus belles qualités se trouvent en Iran (près de Nishapur). D'autres gisements sont en Afghanistan, en Argentine, en Australie, au Brésil, en Chine, en Israël, au Mexique, en Tanzanie et aux États-Unis.

Traitements connus du turquoise
La turquoise est poreuse et donc souvent trempé avec une résine artificielle qui améliore la couleur et durcit la surface. Des améliorations de couleurs peuvent être obtenues avec de l'huile ou de la paraffine, ou d'autres agents comme le Berlinois couleur bleu, les couleurs d'aniline, le cuivre ou le sel.

Turquoise de renommée mondiale
La turquoise a bénéficié de popularité et de notoriété depuis que les Pharaons ont gouverné l'Egypte ancienne. Au début de l'époque victorienne, la turquoise bleu-ciel était le plus populaire en Europe et n'a jamais perdu de son attrait. Au Moyen-Orient, il est de tradition de porter la turquoise en or, parfois avec des diamants. Aujourd'hui, les cadres d'argent sont très populaires, surtout aux Etats-Unis, où le "Indian Jewelry" est une mode vivace et tendance.

Gemmologie du Turquoise
Espèce: Turquoise
Couleur: Azuré, bleu-vert, vert pomme
Composition chimique: CuAl6 (PO4) 4 (OH) 8 - 4H2O, une base de cuivre contenant du phosphate d'aluminium
Système cristallin: Rarement triclinique, les ensembles ont la forme d'une grappe de raisin
Dureté: 5-6 (échelle de Mohs)
Densité: 2.31 - 2.84
Indice de réfraction: 1.610 - 1.650
Biréfringence: 0.040
Couleur de strie: blanche
Spectre d'absorption: (460), 432, (422)
Fluorescence: Faible: vert-jaune, bleu clair

La turquoise et le zodiaque, mythes et légendes
La turquoise était longtemps considéré comme une pierre sainte, de bonne chance ou un talisman. On croit qu'il promeut la bonne chance, le bonheur et une longue vie.

La turquoise est la pierre de naissance pour ceux qui sont nés en Décembre.

Dans l'Antiquité, aussi bien qu'au moyen-âge, les gens croyaient que le cosmos etait reflété dans les pierres brutes. Le Turquoise est attribué aux planètes Saturne, Uranus et Vénus. Le mouvement ésotérique à ravivé les croyances antique, et l'industrie des pierres lui, en a fait un autre outil marketing afin de promouvoir certaines pierres précieuses.

Les pouvoirs de guérison des pierres précieuses restent un sujet de controverse, mais sont mentionnés depuis des siècles par les guérisseurs, shamans et par la médecine des hommes. Qu'il s'agisse d'un fait ou d'un effet placebo n'a pas d'importance, si cela aide. L'approche la plus sûre est de porter la pierre précieuse en contact avec la peau à la partie dérangée du corps. Le turquoise serait, dit-on, bon pour soigner les affections cardiaques, la sciatique, et les problèmes d'orteils et d'ampoules.

  • First Published: 23-décembre-2006
  • Last Updated: 06-octobre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Turquoise Information
Information sur les pierres précieuses TurquoiseInformación de la piedra preciosa turquesa
Introduction

Turquoise, the blue cousin to lapis lazuli, has been known and valued for thousands of years. The early mines in Sinai, Egypt, were already worked out in 2000 B.C. Today the best quality Turquoise is found in Iran. Turquoise was first sent to Europe through Turkey, hence its name, which means "Turkish" in French.

The brilliant sky-blue color has made Turquoise a classic gemstone, especially when set in silver. Cut en cabochon Turquoise stones are used for all kinds of jewelry: brooches, necklaces, bracelets, rings and earrings. Due to its relative softness, 5-6 (Mohs scale) it can be carved into ornamental objects but requires some care. Light, perspiration, oil, cosmetics and household chemicals can all affect the color of Turquoise.

Turquoise has long been appreciated as a holy stone, a good-luck-charm or a talisman. It is believed to promote good fortune, happiness, and long life.

Turquoise is a birthstone for those born in December.

Turquoise Gemstone

Turquoise colors
Buying Turquoise
Where is Turquoise found?
Common Turquoise treatments
World-famous Turquoise
Turquoise gemology
Turquoise legends & lore

Turquoise colors
Turquoise comes in sky-blue, blue-green and apple-green. Sky-blue is the most popular color, though green is the rarest. Pure blue colored Turquoise is rare. The gems are mostly mixed together with brown, dark gray, or black veins of other minerals or of the hosting rock (like chalcedony or opal, brown limonite, black chert, or white kaolinite). Those stones are called Turquoise matrix. Color ranges through shades of blue to blue-green, to yellowish green depending on the amount of copper (reponsible for blue) chromium or vanadium (reponsible for green,), and iron (reponsible for yellow). There are rare specimens of blue-violet color, which contain strontium impurities.

In general the color is only stable if the stone is not exposed to strong light, high temperatures, perspiration, oil, cosmetics and household chemicals. A loss of its natural water content (18-20%) results in undesirable color-changes as well. The most desired sky-blue color changes at 250 degrees C (482 degrees F) into a dull green. Most of the Turquoise found in the United States contains Fe, substituting Al, which causes a greenish color.

Buying Turquoise
Turquoise is an affordable stone for its carat weight. It's fairly soft, 5-6 on the Mohs scale, and requires some care. A Turquoise ring should always be removed before hands are washed.

Color
A spotless sky-blue is the most desired color of turquoise, but rarely found. Apple green turquoise is rare.

Clarity
Turquoise is translucent to opaque with a waxy luster. There is only one known deposit, in the state of Virginia, where turquoise is found in transparent to translucent visible crystals. Those specimens are rare and expensive.

Cut
Classically turquoise is cut en cabochon for brooches, necklaces, bracelets, rings and earrings, or carved into ornamental objects.

Turquoise location and deposits
The finest qualities are found in Iran (near Nishapur). Other deposits are in Afghanistan, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Israel, Mexico, Tanzania and the United States.

Common Turquoise treatments
Turquoise is porous and therefore often soaked with artificial resin that improves color and hardens the surface. Color-improvements can be gained with oil or paraffin, or other color agents like Berliner blue, aniline colors, or copper salt.

World-famous Turquoise
Turquoise has enjoyed popularity and fame since the Pharaohs ruled ancient Egypt. In the early Victorian period, sky-blue turquoise was most popular in Europe and has never lost its appeal. In the Middle East it is traditional to set turquoise in gold, sometimes with diamonds. Today silver settings are popular, especially in the United States, where the "Indian Jewelry" is a perennial fashion trend.

Turquoise gemology
Species: Turquoise
Color: Sky-blue, blue-green, apple-green
Chemical composition: CuAl6(PO4)4(OH)8 – 4H2O; a copper containing basic aluminum phosphate
Crystal system: Seldom triclinic, grape-shaped aggregates
Hardness: 5-6 (Mohs scale)
Specific gravity: 2.31 – 2.84
Refractive index: 1.610 – 1.650
Birefringence: +0.040
Color of streak: White,
Absorption spectrum: (460), 432, (422)
Fluorescence: Weak; green-yellow, light blue

The Turquoise zodiac, myth & legend
Turquoise has long been appreciated as a holy stone, a good-luck-charm or a talisman found in every type of jewelry. It is believed to promote good fortune, happiness, and long life.

Turquoise is a birthstone for those who are born in December.

In Antiquity, as well as in the Middle Ages, people believed that the cosmos is reflected in gemstones. Turquoise is assigned to the planets Saturn, Uranus and Venus. The esoteric movement revived the ancient belief and the gem industry made it another marketing tool to promote certain gems.

The healing powers of gems remain a controversial issue, but are mentioned for centuries by healers, shamans and medicine men. Whether it’s a fact or a placebo effect doesn’t matter, if it helps. The safest approach is to wear the gemstone in skin contact to the troubled part of the body. Turquoise is said to be of help for heart ailments, sciatica, toenails problems and blisters.

  • First Published: December-23-2006
  • Last Updated: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping