Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Galet d'Opale Australien
Australian Boulder Opal
Galet d'Opale Australien

L'Opale est surtout connu pour son jeu de couleur, un étalage de teintes semblables à l'arc-en-ciel qui changent avec l'éclairage ou l'angle d'observation. Tous les types d'opale, non pas cette propriété unique, ce sont seuls les opales connu sous le nom d'opale précieuses. Les Opales de moindre envergure, comme l'opale commune et l'opale de feu, n'ont aucun jeu de couleur.

Boulder Opal
Galet d'Opal

La plus prisée des opales précieuses est l'opale noire d'Australie, découverte à Lightning Ridge, dans le New South Wales dans les années 1880. Bien que l'Australie produise presque toute les opales du monde, 90% de la production australienne est l'opale de couleur claire. La rare opale noir compte pour seulement 8% de toutes les opales australienne. L'opale noir est particulièrement apprécié parce que la tonalité de son corps noir donne au jeu de couleur un dynamisme supplémentaire qu'on ne voit pas fréquement dans les plus commune opales blanches.

Australian Boulder Opal
Galet d'Opale Australien

Les 2% restants de la production australienne est la deuxième forme la plus prisée de l'opale, une forme unique connu sous le nom d'opale galet. La première découverte était en Quilpie, dans l'ouest du Queensland environ en 1870, le bloc d'opale se trouve incorporé dans des roches de minerai de fer. L'opale se forme habituellement sous forme de veines fines au sein de ces blocs, et la plupart des pierres sont coupées de facon à inclure un peu de roche hôte de minerai de fer dans la matrice. L'opale galet est parfois appelée opale matrice pour cette raison.

L'opale galet est particulièrement intéressant parce que, comme l'opale noire, elle a un ton de corps noir qui ajoute un dynamisme au jeu des couleurs. le galet d'opale a aussi une densité plus élevée en raison de sa teneur en minerai de fer, et est bien sur, plus durable.

En raison de la nature mince des veines d'opale qui se forment dans des roches de minerai de fer, il est souvent impossible de couper les galets d'opales en dôme cabochons. Les pierres sont donc généralement découpées en forme libre, des formes irrégulières pour maximiser la taille de la pierre et minimiser la perte d'opale.

L'opale galet est encore relativement nouvelle sur le marché, mais elle a un grand potentiel. La région qui a le potentiel pour produire l'opale de roche est beaucoup plus grande que les gisements d'opale noirs et une relativement petite proportion a été explorée. La zone s'étend sur une superficie de 200 à 300 kilomètre dans l'Ouest du Queensland.

  • First Published: 20-octobre-2009
  • Last Updated: 01-mars-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Australian Boulder Opal
Australian Boulder Opal

Opal is most famous for its play of color, a display of rainbow-like hues that change with the lighting or angle of observation. Not every kind of opal displays this unique property, only the opals that are known as precious opal. Lesser opals, such as common opal (also known as 'potch') and fire opal, have no play of color.

Boulder Opal
Boulder Opal

The most prized of the precious opals is the black opal of Australia, first discovered in the 1800s at Lightning Ridge in New South Wales. Though Australia produces nearly all the world's opal, 90% of the Australian opal produced is light colored opal. The rare black opal accounts for only 8% of Australian opal. Black opal is especially valued because its dark body tone gives the play of color an extra vibrancy not seen in the more common white opals.

Australian Black Opal
Australian Black Opal

The remaining 2% of Australian opal is the second most prized form of opal, a unique form known as boulder opal. First discovered in Quilpie, in Western Queensland in about 1870, the boulder opal is found embedded in ironstone boulders. The opal usually forms as thin veins within these boulders, and most stones are cut to include some of the host ironstone matrix. Boulder opal is sometimes referred to as opal in matrix for this reason.

Boulder opal is especially attractive because, like the black opal, it has a dark body tone which adds vibrancy to the play of color. Boulder opal also has a higher density because of the ironstone content, and can be more durable as well.

Due to the thinness of the opal veins that form in the ironstone boulders, it is often impossible to cut domed cabochons in most boulder opal stones. The stones are therefore usually cut into free form, irregular shapes to maximize the size of the stone and minimize the loss of opal.

Boulder opal is still fairly new to the market, but has great potential. The area that has the potential to yield boulder opal is much larger than the black opal deposits, and a relatively small proportion of this has been explored. The area stretches along a 200 to 300 kilometer area in Western Queensland.

  • First Published: October-20-2009
  • Last Updated: July-03-2014
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart