Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Carrières en gemmologie
Careers in Gemology
Carrières en gemmologie

La gemmologie est l'étude des pierres précieuses, elle a été diversement décrite comme un art, une science et une profession, et comprend sans doute tous les trois. Elle s'inscrit dans la catégorie de la géoscience comme une branche de la minéralogie, et ses représentants travaillent dans tous les secteurs de l'industrie des pierres précieuses et des bijoux. Voici quelques-unes des nombreuses carrières possibles pour les personnes ayant une formation en gemmologie.

Microscope for Gemological purposesLes gemmologues utiliser diverses échelles de mesure pour identifier et classer les pierres précieuses, y compris leur structure cristalline, leur formation et les propriétés physiques et optiques. Les gemmologues peuvent travailler dans un laboratoire, en analysant des pierres et en préparant des rapports personnalisés aux clients, incluant les mineurs, les grossistes en pierres, les détaillants et les propriétaires de pierre précieuse individuels.

Les laboratoires gemmologues utilisent des microscopes et autres instruments sophistiqués pour étudier la structure interne des pierres brutes ou des pierres précieuses taillées pour être en mesure de faire la distinction entre les pierres précieuses naturelles et synthétiques. Ils peuvent également identifier les pierres précieuses qui ont été traité thermiquement, des fractures remplie ou qui ont des couleurs qui ont été améliorés, des facteurs qui peuvent affecter grandement leur valeur. Certains laboratoires de pierre précieuse ont construit de grandes bases de données qui leur permettent de manière fiable d'identifier l'origine géographique de certaines sortes de pierres précieuses, telles que le rubis ou le saphir.

L'estimation est plutôt un secteur spécialisé de la gemmologie, où la science et les affaires se rencontrent. L'évaluateur estime la valeur monétaire des pierres précieuses à l'aide d'une formule complexe qui tient compte du prix par carat pour une variété de pierres précieuses en particulier, ainsi que son poids, sa couleur, sa clarté et la qualité de la coupe. La valeur déterminée par l'évaluateur peut être utilisés aux fins d'assurer adéquatement une gemme, ainsi que la fixation d'un prix de vente.

Certains gemmologues travaillent sur le côté industriel des affaires des pierres précieuses, l'achat, le tri, le traitement et la coupe des pierres précieuses. D'autres deviennent des créateurs de bijoux, en appliquant leur connaissance des pierres précieuses à l'art de la haute joaillerie.

Details of a cut GemstoneBeaucoup de gemmologues ont tourné leur connaissance spécialisée au monde des affaires, comme les marchands de pierre précieuses ou les bijoutiers. Auparavant très peu de magasins de bijoux avaient des connaissances en gemmologie, maintenant il n'est pas inhabituel pour une bijouterie d'avoir un ou plusieurs gemmologues dans leur personnel.

La gemmologie est devenue un domaine en pleine évolution avec de nombreux progrès dans le traitements des pierres précieuses. Il y a eu un certain nombre de cas récents où des gemmologues ont eu à travailler sous pression pour donner une évaluation précise de pierres précieuses, qui ont déjà atteint le marché. C'est arrivé avec des saphirs traités avec du béryllium en 2001-2003 et est actuellement en cours avec le cas de l'andesine-labradorite.

D'autres carrières pour les gemmologues incluent, historien, conservateur de musée, chercheur, éducateur et écrivain. Donc, si vous aimez les pierres précieuses, et leur trouver un attrait irrésistible, une carrière en gemmologie peut être faite pour vous.

  • First Published: 05-juin-2008
  • Last Updated: 06-octobre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Careers in Gemology
Carrières en gemmologie
Careers in Gemology

Gemology is the study of gemstones. It has been described as an art, a science and a profession, and probably encompasses all three of these descriptions. It falls within the category of geoscience as a branch of mineralogy, and its exponents work in all areas of the gemstone and jewelry industry. Here are just a few of the various possible careers for those with gemological training.

Microscope for Gemological purposesGemologists use various scales of measurement to identify and categorize gems, including their crystal structure, formation, physical properties and optical properties. Gemologists may work in a laboratory analyzing stones and preparing customized reports for clients, including miners, gemstone wholesalers, retailers and individual gem owners.

Laboratory gemologists use microscopes and other sophisticated instruments to study the internal structure of rough or cut gems in order to distinguish between natural and synthetic gemstones. They can also identify gems that have been heated, fracture-filled or color-enhanced; factors that can greatly affect the value. Some gem labs have built large databases that enable them to reliably identify the geographic origin of certain kinds of gems, such as ruby or sapphire.

Appraising is a rather specialized area of gemology, where science and business meet. An appraiser estimates the monetary value of gemstones using a complicated formula that takes into account the price per carat trend for the particular gemstone variety, as well as its weight, color, clarity and cut quality. The value arrived at by the appraiser may be used for the purpose of adequately insuring a gem as well as setting a sales price.

Some gemologists work on the manufacturing side of the gemstone business, buying, sorting, treating and cutting gemstones. Others become jewelry designers, applying their knowledge of gemstones to the art of fine jewelry.

Details of a cut GemstoneMany gemologists have applied their specialized knowledge to the business world, as gemstone dealers or jewelers. At one time very few jewelry stores had gemological knowledge; now it is not unusual for a jewelry store to have one or more gemologists on staff.

Gemology has become a dynamic field, with various developments in gem treatments. There have been a number of recent cases where gemologists have had to work under pressure to give accurate assessments of gemstones that have already reached the market. This happened with beryllium-treated sapphires in 2001-2003, and is currently ongoing with the case of andesine-labradorite.

Other careers for gemologists include historian, museum curator, researcher, educator and writer. So, if you love gems, and find their attraction irresistible, a career in gemology may be for you.

  • First Published: June-05-2008
  • Last Updated: July-22-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping