• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
Saphirs Réputés

Avant le développement de techniques pour les pierres précieuses facettés, les pierres les plus précieuses étaient les saphirs, rubis et émeraudes, et pas les diamants. Des pierres précieuses colorées de grandeur et de couleurs exceptionnelles peuventt être très impressionnant sans facettes, mais un diamant ne révèle pas son éclat jusqu'à ce qu'il soit coupée avec des facettes.

Queen Maries Sapphire Stuart Sapphire
Le Saphir de la Reine Marie Le Saphir Stuart

Certains des saphirs les plus célèbres dans le monde illustrent ce point. L'Étoile de l'Inde est le plus gros saphir étoilé dans le monde avec un poids de 563,35 carats. Découvert au Sri Lanka, il y a environ 300 ans, il est maintenant au Musée américain d'histoire naturelle de New York. Il est de couleur bleu grisâtre, avec des traces légèrement laiteuse causée par la présence de rutile minérales. Mais le rutile est également responsable de l'Étoile à effet distinctif appelé astérisme. Outre sa taille étonnante, L'Étoile de l'Inde est inhabituel parce qu'elle a des étoiles sur les deux faces de la pierre.

Star of India
L'Étoile de l'Inde

L'un des saphirs les plus ancien connu est le Saphir Stuart de 104 carats qui remonte à 1214. La pierre précieuse d'un bleu parfait, mais un peu détérioré, passés entre les mains de plusieurs rois et cardinaux, avant d'être monté dans la Couronne de la reine Victoria. Finalement remplacé par le diamant de l'étoile de l'Afrique, le saphir Stuart repose maintenant sur la face arrière de la Couronne britannique impérial. Il est actuellement exposé au public avec la collection de joyaux de la Couronne britannique à la Tour de Londres.

Parmi les sapphires taillés, le plus grand du monde est connue comme le sapphire de la reine Marie de Roumanie, avec 478 carats. Il combine des couleurs superbes avec une histoire fascinante. Selon les rapports de laboratoire, il est d'origine sri-lankaise et est complètement non traitées. Il a été acheté par le roi Ferdinand de Roumanie en 1921 pour son épouse la reine Marie, qui était une petite-fille tant de la Reine Victoria d'Angleterre que du Tsar Alexandre II de Russie. Le saphir a été vendue autour de 1947 et a été acquis par Harry Winston. La pierre est maintenant presentée en permanence à l'exposition du Fond Diamantaire, au Musée de l'Arsenal du Kremlin à Moscou.

  • Première publication: July-14-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: October-08-2010
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Famous Sapphires
Famous Sapphires
Star of India
Star of India

Before the development of techniques to facet gemstones, the most valuable gems were sapphires, rubies and emeralds, not diamonds. Colored gemstones of outstanding color and size can be very impressive without faceting; but a diamond does not reveal its brilliance until it is cut in facets.

Some of the most famous sapphires in the world illustrate this point. The Star of India is the largest star sapphire in the world with a weight of 563.35 carats. Discovered in Sri Lanka about 300 years ago, it is now in the American Museum of Natural History in New York. It is grayish blue in color, with a slightly milky quality caused by the presence of the mineral, rutile. The rutile is also responsible for the distinctive star effect known as asterism. Apart from its astounding size, the Star of India is unusual because it has stars on both sides of the stone.

Stuart Sapphire
Stuart Sapphire

One of the oldest known sapphires is the 104 carat Stuart Sapphire which dates back to 1214. This fine blue, but somewhat flawed gem passed through the hands of several kings and cardinals before being mounted in Queen Victoria's State Crown. Eventually replaced by the Star of Africa Diamond, the Stuart Sapphire now rests on the back side of the British Imperial State Crown. It is currently on public display as part of the British Crown Jewels in the Tower of London.

Queen Marie's Sapphire
Queen Marie's Sapphire

Among cut sapphires, the largest in the world is known as Queen Marie of Romania's Sapphire, at 478 carats. It combines stunning color with a fascinating history. According to lab reports, it is of Sri Lankan origin and is completely untreated. It was purchased by King Ferdinand of Romania in 1921 for his wife Queen Marie, who was the granddaughter of both Queen Victoria of England and Czar Alexander II of Russia. The sapphire was sold around 1947 and acquired by Harry Winston. The stone is now on permanent display in the Diamond Fund Exhibition, at the Kremlin Armoury Museum in Moscow.

  • First Published: July-14-2008
  • Last Updated: July-16-2014
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart