search
  • 登录
    注册
  • 只提供英语客户支持

    Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
    1-800-464-1640

    国际:
    +66-39609697

  • 改变语言
  • USD

黑色奥尔洛夫钻石的诅咒

经常被误认为是黑色,这个传奇的催眠深沉的“枪金属”色调黑钻石努力隐藏一个非常黑暗的过去的反思,从印度教偶像的盗窃开始,导致不少于三起神秘的自杀事件。

黑奥尔洛夫钻石
黑奥尔洛夫钻石

黑奥尔洛夫钻石,也被称为梵天钻石之眼,重 67.50 克拉,曾经是一颗更大的未切割 195 克拉钻石的一部分,这颗钻石可以追溯到 19 世纪的印度。传说这块未切割的石头最初是印度教创造之神梵天雕像的一只眼睛,该雕像矗立在印度南部城市本地治里的一座神殿中。据信钻石是被一位旅行的僧侣从雕像上偷走的,之后它就被诅咒了。

虽然许多人对这种诅咒的存在持怀疑态度,并且认为它的起源只不过是民间传说,但钻石从这里开始的旅程仍然是一个有趣的旅程,笼罩在神秘、戏剧和死亡之中。

1932 年,这颗钻石进入美国,由一位名叫 JW Paris 的欧洲钻石经销商进口,当时他正在寻找买家。人们对 JW Paris 知之甚少,但在抵达纽约后的一周内,他就卖掉了这颗钻石,此后不久,即同年 4 月 7 日,他登上了位于第五大道中心的曼哈顿摩天大楼的顶部并跳下身亡,成为了一些人所说的钻石诅咒的第一个已知受害者。

有传言称,JW Paris 因生意上的担忧而极度焦虑,在他去世时发现了两封信;一封是写给他妻子的,另一封是写给一位珠宝商的,但从未公开有关这些内容的细节。

回溯到 20 世纪之交,钻石由一位名叫纳迪亚·维金-奥尔洛夫公主的俄罗斯继承人拥有;黑钻名字的来源,是在很久以后传说的诞生地发生的事件之后才被赋予的。

在 1917 年俄国革命期间,娜迪亚公主逃到了意大利罗马的安全地带,当时的许多俄罗斯皇室成员也是如此。过了一段时间;确切地说,是 1947 年 12 月 2 日,大约在 JW Paris 惨死 15 年后,纳迪亚公主从罗马市中心的一栋建筑物中跳下身亡,据信这是自杀。在她去世时,公主是一位俄罗斯珠宝商的妻子,但对于她的死因却知之甚少。

带项链的黑色奥尔洛夫钻石
带项链的黑色奥尔洛夫钻石

就在纳迪亚公主去世前一个月,另一位俄罗斯皇室成员列奥尼拉·维克托罗夫娜-巴里亚廷斯基公主跳楼身亡,据信她再次自杀。在她去世时,莱奥尼拉公主与皇家海军军官安德烈·格林斯汀王子结婚,但没有关于她在致命跳跃时的生活的更多细节,尽管后来发现她在她去世之前一直是这个现在臭名昭著的所有者宝石,黑色奥尔洛夫钻石。

与黑色奥尔洛夫钻石一起,据说第二颗钻石困扰着奥尔洛夫家族,后来被称为白色奥尔洛夫钻石。白色奥尔洛夫是一颗 180.60 克拉的白色钻石,由她的秘密情人格里戈里·格里戈里耶维奇·奥尔洛夫伯爵传给凯瑟琳大帝。

当时,格里高利伯爵被认为完全迷上了女大公凯瑟琳,并将钻石作为他对她忠诚的象征,不顾一切地希望将她从她的丈夫彼得三世皇帝手中夺走。钻石被接受后,格里高利伯爵策划暗杀彼得三世,将凯瑟琳提升为俄罗斯女皇。她后来以成为该国执政时间最长的女性领导人而闻名。

但格里高利伯爵的结局并不好,他被凯瑟琳唾弃。格里高利离开了俄罗斯,但努力处理他对俄罗斯领导人的单恋,1781 年格里高利伯爵回到家中,在那里他发疯了,次年在莫斯科去世。

带项链的黑色奥尔洛夫钻石
带项链的黑色奥尔洛夫钻石

在 1950 年代,当钻石被当时的所有者查尔斯·F·威尔逊(Charles F. Wilson)要求重新切割时,试图最终打破诅咒。切割本身花了两年时间,但就摆脱恶魔的宝石而言,它被认为是一次成功的冒险。

此后,这颗钻石经过了几家私人经销商的手中,似乎没有一个人受到诅咒的影响。这颗 67.50 克拉的黑色奥尔洛夫 (Black Orlov) 目前佩戴在 108 颗钻石胸针上,悬挂在 124 颗钻石项链上,甚至还出现在奥斯卡颁奖典礼上,当时由热门电视剧和电影的明星女演员费利西蒂·霍夫曼 (Felicity Huffman) 佩戴绝望的主妇

  • 首次发布于: 六月-02-2022
  • 最后更新于:: 六月-29-2022
保持联系
*您正在注册接收 GemSelect 促销电子邮件.

隐私通告 © 2005-2022 GemSelect.com 保留所有权利。

未经 GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) 明确书面同意,严禁复制(文本或图形)。

16122

更多形状
人气宝石
  • 蓝宝石
  • 祖母绿
  • 红宝石
  • 海蓝宝
  • 锆石
  • 蛋白石
  • 黄玉
  • 碧玺
  • 石榴石
  • 紫水晶
  • 黄水晶
  • 坦桑黝帘石
全部宝石 (136)
主要类别
  • 新品
  • 批量宝石
  • 标准化宝石
  • 宝石按块
  • 高档宝石
  • 匹配的成对宝石
  • 凸面宝石
  • 钻孔宝石、球珠和珠子
  • 诞生石
  • 宝石雕刻
  • 别致的宝石
  • 星光宝石
  • 未经加热处理的蓝宝石
只提供英语客户支持

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

国际:
+66-39609697

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$8.90 Worldwide Shipping

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
X 关闭窗口
Colored Gemstones
大小和重量

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : The Black Orlov Diamond
The Curse of the Black Orlov Diamond

Often mistaken to be black in color, the hypnotic deep "gun-metal" tones of this legendary black diamond struggle to hide the reflections of a very dark past, beginning with a theft from a Hindu idol and resulting in no less than three mysterious suicides.

The Black Orlov Diamond
The Black Orlov Diamond

The Black Orlov Diamond, also known as the Eye of Brahma Diamond, weights 67.50 carats and was once part of a much larger uncut 195 carat diamond, which can be traced back to 19th century India. Legend has it that the uncut stone originally featured as one of the eyes in a statue of Brahma, the Hindu God of creation, which stood in a shrine in the southern Indian city of Pondicherry. It is believed that the diamond was stolen from the statue by a travelling monk, after which it became cursed.

Whilst many are sceptical about the existence of such a curse and its beginnings are thought to be little more than folklore, the journey of the diamond from here is still an interesting one that is shrouded in mystery, drama and death.

In 1932 the diamond found its way to the United States, imported by a European diamond dealer named Mr J.W. Paris who was in search of a buyer. Little is known about J.W. Paris but within a week of arriving in New York he had sold the diamond, and shortly thereafter, on April 7th of that same year, he made his way to the top of a Manhattan skyscraper in the heart of 5th Avenue and jumped to his death, becoming what some say to be the first known victim of the diamond's curse.

It is rumoured that J.W. Paris had been suffering from extreme anxiety due to business worries and that two letters were found in his possession at the time of his death; one addressed to his wife and the other to a fellow jeweller, but no details regarding the content of these were ever made public.

Going back to the turn of the 20th century, the diamond was in the possession of a Russian heir named Princess Nadia Vygin-Orlov; the source of the black diamond's name, which was bestowed after a much later incident from where the legend is born.

During the 1917 Russian revolution, Princess Nadia fled Russia to the safety of Rome, Italy, as did many Russian royals at the time. It was some time later; December 2nd 1947 to be precise, some 15 years after the tragic death of J.W. Paris, when Princess Nadia leaped to her death from a building in central Rome, in what was believed to have been a suicide. At the time of her death the Princess was the wife of a Russian jeweler, but little more is known about the circumstances of her death.

The Black Orlov Diamond with necklaceOnly one month previous to Princess Nadia's death, another member of Russian royalty, Princess Leonila Viktorovna-Bariatinsky had leaped to her death, in what again was believed to have been a suicide. At the time of her death, Princess Leonila was married to Royal Navy Officer Prince Andre Glinstine, but no further details are available about her life at the time of her fatal jump, although it was later discovered that previous to her death she had been the owner of this now infamous precious stone, the Black Orlov Diamond.

Along with the Black Orlov, a second diamond was said to have haunted the Orlov family, one which went on to be known as the White Orlov Diamond. The White Orlov was a 180.60 carat white diamond, which was passed on to Catherine the Great by her secret lover, Count Grigori Grigorievich Orlov.

At the time, Count Grigori was thought to be completely infatuated by the Grand Duchess Catherine and had given the diamond as a symbol of his devotion to her, with a desperate hope to steal her away from her husband, Emperor Peter III. Once the diamond had been accepted, Count Grigori plotted the assassination of Peter III, elevating Catherine to the position of Empress of Russia. She was later known for being the longest ruling female leader of the country.

But things didn't end well for Count Grigori and he was spurned by Catherine. Grigori left Russia but struggled to deal with his unrequited love for the Russian leader, and in 1781 Count Grigori returned home, where he went insane and died in Moscow the following year.

The Black Orlov Diamond with necklace

In the 1950s, an attempt was made to finally break the curse when the diamond was re-cut by an Austrian Jeweller, at the request of its then owner, Charles F. Wilson. The cutting itself took two years but it was deemed a successful venture in terms of shedding the precious stone of its demons.

The diamond has since passed through the hands of several private dealers, none of whom seem to have been affected by the curse. The 67.50 carat Black Orlov currently sits in a 108-diamond brooch, suspended from a 124-diamond necklace, and has even made an appearance at the Oscars, when it was worn by actresses Felicity Huffman, star of the hit TV series and movie Desperate Housewives.

  • First Published: March-07-2012
  • Last Updated: November-07-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart