• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
L'ambre de la Baltique
Natural Amber Inclusions
Inclusions Naturelles D'ambre

La classe des gemmes organiques est assez réduite, mais comprend quelques variétés inhabituelles qui sont importants pour le marché des pierres précieuses, y compris la perle, le corail, l'ivoire et l'ambre.

Toutes les pierres précieuses organiques sont assez inhabituelles, mais aucune plus que l'ambre. L'ambre est la résine durcie fossilisée du pin, Pinus succinifera, formé principalement à l'époque d'Éocène à la période Tertiaire, il y a environ 50 millions d'années. L'ambre a été utilisé depuis les temps préhistoriques pour la bijouterie, les amulettes et les objets religieux. Les morceaux les plus précieux contiennent des inclusions d'insectes, de plantes ou de pyrites.

Jaune, orange et marron sont les couleurs les plus communes pour l'ambre, bien que la rare ambre bleue se trouve en République Dominicaine. Le terme "ambre" est entré dans la langue anglaise comme la couleur qui est à mi-chemin entre le jaune et l'orange. La clarté de l'ambre naturel varie de transparent à opaque. La plupart des pièces ont des bulles ou des inclusions. Quand l'ambre est polie elle a un éclat résineux.

Unpolished Amber Rough
Ambre Brute Non-polie

Contrairement à la plupart des pierres précieuses, l'ambre est amorphe plutôt que cristalline. Elle est assez molle, avec une cote de 2-2,5 sur l'échelle de dureté de Mohs. Bien qu'elle soit assez résistante pour avoir survécu pendant des millions d'années, elle est sensible aux acides, aux lessives, à l'essence, aux alcools et au parfum. Elle brûlera si elle est enflammé par une allumette, en libérant une odeur d'encens.

Une des caractéristiques les plus uniques de l'ambre, c'est qu'elle est exceptionnellement légère. Elle a une masse volumique ou une densité de seulement 1,05 à 1,09. L'ambre est si légère qu'elle peut flotter dans l'eau salée. La densité de l'ambre est faible, il est difficile de l'imiter avec du verre ou du plastique, qui ont une densité beaucoup plus élevée. A titre de comparaison, le volume total d'une pièce de 5 carat d'ambre est de 2,5 fois le volume d'un morceau de 5 carats de zircon (une des pierres les plus denses).

Amber Cabochon Ambre Cabochon

L'Ambre se trouve principalement dans la région Baltique, bien que les ambres plus jeunes se trouvent en République dominicaine. Le plus important gisement au monde est à l'ouest de Kalimingrad en Russie, dans une couche d'ambre contenant de l'argile à environ 30 mètres sous la surface. Il existe de grandes réserves d'ambre dans les fonds marins de la mer Baltique, et l'ambre se lave souvent à terre, après de fortes tempêtes. D'autres gisements se trouvent en Sicile en Italie, en Roumanie, en Birmanie, en Chine, au Japon, au Canada, au Mexique et aux États-Unis.

  • Première publication: October-20-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Amber from the Baltic
L'ambre de la Baltique
Amber from the Baltic
Natural Amber Inclusions
Natural Amber Inclusions

The class of organic gemstones is quite small, but includes some unusual varieties which are important in the gem trade, including pearl, coral, ivory and amber.

All the organic gems are rather unusual, but none more than amber. Amber is the fossilized hardened resin of the pine tree, Pinus succinifera, formed mainly in the Eocene epoch of the Tertiary period, about 50 million years ago. Amber has been used since prehistoric times for jewelry, amulets and religious objects. The most prized pieces contain inclusions of insects or plants or pyrites.

Yellow, orange and brown are the most common colors for amber, though rare blue amber is found in the Dominican Republic. The term "amber" has entered the English language as the color that is halfway between yellow and orange. The clarity of natural amber ranges from transparent to opaque. Most pieces have bubbles or inclusions. When polished amber has a resinous luster.

Unpolished Amber Rough
Unpolished Amber Rough

Unlike most gemstones, amber is amorphous rather than crystalline. It is fairly soft, with a rating of 2-2.5 on the Mohs hardness scale. While it is durable enough to have survived for millions of years, it is sensitive to acids, caustic solutions, gasoline, alcohol and perfume. It will burn if ignited by a match, releasing an incense-like odor.

One of the most unique characteristics of amber is that it is exceptionally light. It has a density or specific gravity of only 1.05 to 1.09. Amber is so light that it will float in salt water. Amber's low density makes it difficult to imitate with glass or plastic, which have much higher densities. By way of comparison, the total volume of a 5 carat piece of amber is 2.5 times the volume of a 5 carat piece of zircon (one of the denser gem materials).

Amber Cabochon Amber Cabochon

Amber is found mainly in the Baltic region, though younger ambers are found in the Dominican Republic. The largest deposit in the world is west of Kalimingrad in Russia, in a layer of amber-containing clay about 30 meters below the surface. There are large reserves of amber on the seabed of the Baltic Sea, and amber often washes ashore after heavy storms. Other deposits are found in Sicily in Italy, Rumania, Burma, China, Japan, Canada, Mexico and the United States.

  • First Published: October-20-2008
  • Last Updated: February-25-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping