search
  • تسجيل الدخول
    تسجيل الاشتراك
  • دعم العملاء متحدث الإنجليزية فقط

    1-800-464-1640

    دولي:

    +66-39601289

  • تغيير اللغة
  • USD
  • عربة التسوق
بواسطة تمت مراجعته من قبل Andreas Zabczyk

مجوهرات قبيلة نافاجو الأمريكية الأصلية

مشبك من الفيروز والفضي
حجر كريم فيروز وإبزيم فضي

اشتهرت قبيلة نافاجو في جنوب غرب أمريكا منذ فترة طويلة بمجوهراتها وتقنياتها الحرفية. في الواقع ، يُنسب الفضل إلى قبيلة نافاجو في تدريس تقنيات صنع المجوهرات للعديد من المجموعات الأصلية الأخرى في جنوب غرب أمريكا. على الرغم من اكتشاف المجوهرات القبلية العرقية في الجنوب الغربي والتي يعود تاريخها إلى 8800 قبل الميلاد ، إلا أن الفن الماهر في صناعة مجوهرات نافاجو الأمريكية الأصلية بدأ بالفعل في الظهور في وقت قريب من التأثير الإسباني خلال القرن السادس عشر. بالإضافة إلى تقنيات التعلم من الزوار الإسبان ، مكسيكي ساهم عمال الجلود في صناعة المجوهرات الأمريكية الأصلية من خلال تعليمهم فن ختم الفضة ، والذي أصبح جانبًا مميزًا لمعظم قطع المجوهرات الأصلية الأمريكية اليوم.

قلادة من الفضة المختومة والمرجان
صليب من الفضة المختومة والأحجار الكريمة المرجانية

عندما كان المسافرون الإسبان على اتصال منتظم بالأمريكيين الأصليين منذ مئات السنين ، شاركوا معرفتهم بصياغة الفضة مع قبيلة نافاجو الأمريكية الأصلية الهندية. حتى أواخر القرن التاسع عشر ، كانت معظم مجوهرات نافاجو تتكون من جلد أو فضة مشغول فقط ، بشكل عام مع تصميمات بسيطة للغاية تم تمييزها أو ختمها بزخارف سطحية. رغم أحجار كريمة تركواز تم تكريمه منذ آلاف السنين ، ولم يتم وضع أول حجر كريم فيروزي معروف في قطعة من مجوهرات نافاجو الفضية حتى عام 1880. كان أتسيدي ساني أول رجل قبيلة من قبيلة نافاجو يستخدم الفضة في صناعة المجوهرات. في وقت لاحق ، سيكون أتسيدي تشون ، وهو رجل قبيلة آخر من قبيلة نافاجو ، أول من وضع الأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية في المجوهرات الفضية. ساعد كلاهما في تعليم الحرفة للآخرين في قبيلتهم وكذلك القبائل المجاورة مثل شعب بويبلو. كان لدى أتسيدي ساني أخ أصغر يُدعى "Slender Maker of Silver" ، والذي يُنسب إليه الفضل في الابتكارات التي ساعدت في تشكيل تاريخ مجوهرات Navajo.

أتسيدي ساني نافاجو للفضة
أتسيدي ساني نافاجو للفضة

أحجار كريمة تركواز كانت المفضلة التقليدية لمعظم حرفيي المجوهرات الأمريكيين الأصليين. بعد أن أدخل Navajo الأحجار الكريمة الفيروزية في تصاميمهم ، بدأوا في دمجها الأحجار الكريمة المرجانية وأنواع أخرى مختلفة من شبه ثمين أحجار كريمة حول مطلع القرن العشرين. في الأصل ، كانت مجوهرات نافاجو تُصنع فقط لزملائها من رجال القبائل والقبائل المجاورة ، ولكن مع مرور المزيد والمزيد من التجار عبر الجنوب الغربي الأمريكي عبر السكك الحديدية ، تسبب الطلب على مجوهرات نافاجو الفاخرة في انتعاش تجاري دولي.

مع زيادة الطلب التجاري والتجارة ، أحجار كريمة تركواز أصبحت وفيرة بشكل متزايد مع بدء افتتاح مناجم جديدة في الجنوب الغربي أمريكا . هذا ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع الوصول إلى أدوات ذات جودة أفضل ، أعطى الحرفيين في نافاجو القدرة على الاستمرار في تلبية الطلب المتزايد باستمرار على حلية فضية للتجار من جميع أنحاء العالم. أصبح النافاهو ماهرًا جدًا في فن تشغيل المعادن لدرجة أنهم عُرفوا بتزويد القبائل الأخرى بإعدادات "فارغة" لجواهريهم لوضع الأحجار فيها.

قلادة الاسكواش بلوسوم
قلادة الاسكواش بلوسوم

غالبًا ما كان صانعو الفضة في نافاجو يذوبون العملات الفضية حتى يتمكنوا من تحويلها إلى مجوهرات. سيتاجرون أيضًا في الحلي الفضية الأخرى التي يمكن صهرها ، مثل الشمعدانات وأدوات المائدة وأباريق الشاي. اكتسب حرفيو نافاجو سمعة طيبة في صناعة أحزمة وصلبان وأبازيم وسبيرز ومقاصف ذات جودة ممتازة. ومع ذلك ، كان أحد أكثر تصاميم نافاجو رواجًا هو تصميم قلادة على شكل هلال يُعرف باسم "نجاس". كانت قلادات النجاس مصبوبة من الفضة المطروقة ، وعادة ما تكون مختومة أو محفورة بأنماط قبلية مزخرفة ومثبتة بها أحجار كريمة ملونة . شوهد مفهوم قلادة الهلال في القطع الأثرية النابعة من مختلف الثقافات الأخرى أيضًا ، بما في ذلك رومان و اليونانية واللغة الاسبانية. كانت قلادات نجاس شائعة الاستخدام كقطع مركزية لـ "عقود زهر القرع" قلادة مستوحاة من الإسبانية التصميم. كانت قلادات أزهار الاسكواش شائعة جدًا في التجارة حيث كان يُعتقد أنها تحمي الناس والخيول من الأرواح السيئة.

قطعت مجوهرات نافاجو شوطًا طويلاً على مر السنين. المجوهرات الفضية والمجوهرات من نافاجو مرغوبة للغاية من قبل الأحجار الكريمة والمجوهرات جامعي لا تصدق القيمة وتفاصيل معقدة. مجوهرات نافاجو التقليدية مصنوعة يدويًا من قبل بعض أكثر الحرفيين الموهوبين في العالم. على الرغم من أن الكثيرين حاولوا نسخ قطع نافاجو المقلدة تجاريًا وإنتاجها بكميات كبيرة ، لم ينجح أي منها في مطابقة الجودة الموجودة فقط في مجوهرات نافاجو الأمريكية الأصلية.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*أنت تقوم بالتسجيل لتلقي بريد إلكتروني ترويجي من GemSelect.
الشركاء والثقة خيارات الدفع

التبديل إلى إصدار الجوال

حقوق النشر © 2005-2024 جميع الحقوق محفوظة لـ GemSelect.com.

يُحظر تمامًا الاستنساخ (نص أو رسومات) بدون موافقة كتابية صريحة من GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.).

16357

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Native American Jewelry

Native American Navajo Tribal Jewelry

Turquoise and Silver Buckle
Turquoise and Silver Buckle

The Navajo tribe of Southwestern America has long been famous for their jewelry and crafting techniques. In fact, the Navajo tribe is credited with teaching jewelry-making techniques to the many other indigenous groups of Southwestern America. Although ethnic tribal jewelry has been discovered in the Southwest dating back to 8800 BCE, the skillful art of making Native American Navajo jewelry truly began to take shape around the time of Spanish influence during the 16th century. In addition to learning techniques from Spanish visitors, Mexican leather workers contributed to Native American jewelry craft by teaching them the art of silver 'stamping', which has become a signature aspect of most authentic Native American jewelry pieces today.

Stamped Silver and Coral Cross Pendant
Stamped Silver and Coral Cross

When Spanish travelers first came into regular contact with Native Americans hundreds of years ago, they shared their silversmithing knowledge with the Navajo Native American Indian Tribe. Up until the late 19th century, most Navajo jewelry was composed of only worked leather or silver, generally with very plain designs that were marked or stamped with surface decorations. Although turquoise gemstones have been prized for thousands of years, it wasn't until 1880 that the first-known turquoise gemstone was actually set into a piece of silver Navajo jewelry. The first Navajo tribesman to work silver into jewelry was Atsidi Sani. Later, Atsidi Chon, another Navajo tribesman would be the first to ever set turquoise into silver jewelry. Both helped teach the craft to others in their own tribe as well as neighboring tribes such as the Pueblo people. Atsidi Sani had a younger brother named 'Slender Maker of Silver', who is credited with innovations that helped shape the history of Navajo jewelry.

Atsidi Sani Navajo Silversmith
Silversmith Atsidi Sani: Photo by Time Inc.

Turquoise has been the traditional favorite for most Native American jewelry craftsmen. After the Navajo introduced turquoise gemstones into their designs, they began to incorporate coral and various other types of semi-precious gemstones around the turn of the 20th century. Originally, Navajo jewelry was made only for other fellow tribesmen and neighboring tribes, but as more and more traders passed through the American Southwest by railway, the demand for fine Navajo jewelry caused an international commercial uprise.

With the increase of commercial demand and trade, turquoise became increasingly abundant as new mines began opening up in Southwest America. This, combined with access to better quality tools, gave the Navajo craftsmen the ability to continue supplying the ever-growing demand for silver jewelry to traders from all over the world. The Navajo had become so skilled in the art of metalworking that they even were known to supply other tribes with 'blank' settings for their own lapidaries to set stones into.

Squash Blossom Necklace
Squash Blossom Necklace

Navajo silversmiths often melted down silver coins so that they could turn it into jewelry. They would also trade other silver ornaments that could be melted, such as candlesticks, flatware and teapots. Navajo craftsmen gained quite a reputation for creating excellent quality concha belts, crosses, buckles, spurs and canteens. However, one of the most highly sought-after Navajo designs was a crescent-shaped pendant design known as 'najas'. Najas pendants were cast from hammered silver, usually stamped or chiseled with decorative tribal patterns and set with colorful gemstones. The concept of the crescent pendant has been seen in artifacts stemming from various other cultures as well, including Roman, Greek and Spanish. Najas pendants were commonly used as centerpieces for 'squash blossom necklaces', a Spanish inspired necklace design. Squash blossom necklaces were very popular for trade, since they were believed to protect people and horses from bad spirits.

Navajo jewelry has come a very long way over the years. Navajo silverwork and jewelry is highly desired by gem and jewelry collectors for its incredible value and intricate detail. Traditional Navajo jewelry is handmade by some of the world's most talented artisans. Although many have attempted to commercially replicate and mass-produce Navajo imitation pieces, none have succeeded in matching the quality found only in authentic Native American Navajo jewelry.

  • First Published: September-29-2014
  • Last Updated: March-08-2016
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart