X
Gemstone Search
Von Rezensiert von Andreas Zabczyk

Schmuck Edelsteine

Saphir-Diamant-Ring
Saphir-Diamant-Ring

Eine große Vielfalt an Mineralien – 200 oder mehr – wurden früher oder später als Edelsteine verwendet. Doch nicht alle davon eignen sich als Schmucksteine, da viele zu weich, zu spröde oder zu leicht durch Umwelteinflüsse beschädigt werden. Einige Edelsteine sind besser für Sammler als für Schmuck reserviert.

Schmuckedelsteine haben je nach Art des Schmucks unterschiedliche Anforderungen. In Ringe gefasste Edelsteine werden am stärksten beansprucht, da sie oft mit harten Oberflächen in Kontakt kommen. In Ohrringe eingefasste Edelsteine werden mit geringerer Wahrscheinlichkeit dem täglichen Verschleiß ausgesetzt, und das Gleiche gilt für Anhänger.

Das wird allgemein empfohlen farbige Edelsteine eingefasste Ringe haben eine Härte auf die Mohs-Skala von 7 oder höher. Täglich getragene Ringe wie Verlobungsringe werden normalerweise mit Steinen wie z Rubin und Saphir , die einen Härtegrad von 9 haben. Ringe, die nur gelegentlich getragen oder in schützende Fassungen wie Lünetten eingefasst sind, können mit weicheren Steinen hergestellt werden. Einige sehr beliebte Edelsteine, wie z Tansanit (Härte von 6,5 bis 7) und Opal (5,5 bis 6,5), werden oft in Ringe gesetzt, obwohl beide nicht besonders hart sind.

Turmalin-Ohrringe
Turmalin-Ohrringe

Die Härte ist jedoch nicht das einzige Maß für die Eignung eines Edelsteins für Schmuck. Einige ziemlich harte Edelsteine, wie z Smaragd (mit einer Härte von 8) haben innere Brüche, die sie zerbrechlicher machen. Nephrit-Jade dagegen ist trotz einer Härte von 6 bis 6,5 extrem widerstandsfähig. Seine Stärke beruht auf einer inneren Struktur aus ineinandergreifenden, mattierten Faserkristallen.

Trotz dieser praktischen Einschränkungen nimmt die Vielfalt der in Schmuck verwendeten Edelsteine tatsächlich zu, da Schmuckdesigner nach selteneren Edelsteinen suchen, um unverwechselbaren Schmuck herzustellen. Edelsteine wie Prehnit und Andalusit waren einst selten in Schmuck zu finden. Heute wird man auch fündig Apatit , Mali-Granat , Charoit und Seraphinit aufgrund ihrer einzigartigen Farben und Texturen als Schmucksteine verwendet.

Früher war die Auswahl an Schmucksteinen durch die Auswahl an massenproduziertem Schmuck eingeschränkt. Jetzt ist es möglich, aus einer großen Auswahl an Edelsteinen auszuwählen, die von einem auf farbige Edelsteine spezialisierten Händler geführt werden, und individuellen Schmuck von einem Juwelier Ihrer Wahl anfertigen zu lassen.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Sie melden sich an, um Werbe-E-Mails von GemSelect zu erhalten.
Partner und Vertrauen Zahlungsmöglichkeiten

Wechseln Sie zu Mobile Version

Urheberrechte © © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Die Vervielfältigung (Text oder Grafik) ohne die ausdrückliche schriftliche Zustimmung von GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) ist strengstens untersagt.

15848

Enlarged Gemstone Image

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Jewelry Gemstones
Jewelry Gemstones

A huge variety of minerals - 200 or more - have been used as gemstones at one time or another. But not all of these are suitable as jewelry gemstones, since many are too soft, too brittle or are too easily damaged by environmental factors. Some gemstones are best reserved for collectors rather than jewelry.

Jewelry gemstones have varying requirements depending on the type of jewelry. Gemstones set in rings get the hardest wear, since they often come into contact with hard surfaces. Gems set in earrings are less likely to be subjected to daily wear and tear, and the same is true for pendants.

It is generally recommended that colored gemstones set in rings have a hardness on the Mohs scale of 7 or greater. Rings worn everyday, such as engagement rings, are usually made with stones such as ruby and sapphire, which have a hardness rating of 9. Rings worn only occasionally, or set in protective settings such as bezels, can be made with softer stones. Some very popular gems, such as tanzanite (hardness of 6.5 to 7) and opal (5.5 to 6.5), are often set in rings, though neither are particularly hard.

However, hardness is not the only measure of a gem's suitability for jewelry. Some quite hard gems, such as emerald (with a hardness of 8), have internal fractures that render them more fragile. Nephrite jade, by contrast, is extremely durable, despite having a hardness of 6 to 6.5. Its strength is due to an internal structure of interlocking, matted fibrous crystals.

Despite these practical constraints, the variety of gemstones used in jewelry is actually increasing, as jewelry designers seek out rarer gemstones for making distinctive jewelry. Gems such as prehnite and andalusite were once rarely found in jewelry. Today, one will also find apatite, Mali garnet, charoite and seraphinite used as jewelry gemstones due to their unique colors and textures.

At one time the choice of jewelry gemstones was restricted by the selection of mass-produced jewelry available. Now it is possible to select from a vast range of gemstones carried by a dealer who specializes in colored gems, and have custom jewelry created by a jeweler of your choice.

  • First Published: May-21-2010
  • Last Updated: August-19-2014
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart