Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Un traitement thermique modéré
Gentle Heat Treatment
Un traitement thermique modéré
Heated Blue Sapphire from Madagascar
Saphir de Madagascar Traité Thermiquement

Beaucoup d'acheteurs sur le marché du saphir naturel préfèrent acheter des saphirs non traité thermiquement. Mais comme ces gemmes non traité sont si rares, il y a très peu de choix disponible dans la couleur, la taille et la forme. L'écrasante majorité des saphirs du marché ont été traités par la chaleur, y compris de nombreuses pierres haut de gamme.

Certains clients qui se sont familiarisés avec les réalités du marché du saphir nous informent qu'ils sont disposés à acheter un saphir traité, mais qui a été traitée avec un "traitement thermique léger" seulement. Le terme "traitement thermique léger" n'est pas un terme familier pour nous, mais cela semble être un concept de plus en plus populaires. Quand nous avons vu qu'il est utilisé avec l'approbation d'un site internet par un groupe se faisant appeler l'Association des Bijoutiers Éthique, nous avons commencé à nous y intéressé.

Notre préoccupation est que le terme "traitement thermique léger" pour le traitement thermique du saphir et du rubis est trompeur, car le traitement se fait réellement à de très hautes températures. Même ce que l'on appelle traitement thermique à basse température pour des pierres précieuses comme le quartz, l'apatite, le béryl, le spodumène et la tanzanite est réalisée à des températures que beaucoup pourraient trouver surprenante.

Unheated Blue Green Sapphire from Tanzania
Saphir Bleu-Vert de Tanzanie Non Traité

La raison pour laquelle le saphir est chauffé à haute température est très certainement parce que le but du traitement thermique est de dissoudre les inclusions de rutile. Lorsque le rutile est dissous, il a deux effets bénéfiques - il améliore la clarté de la pierre en éliminant la nébulosité, et il améliore la couleur par la libération de titane dans le saphir.

Mais pour atteindre cet objectif cela nécessite des températures très élevées, puisque les rutiles (dioxyde de titane) commencent à se dissoudre à des températures autour de 1650 degrés centigrades et à un point de fusion de 1843 degrés centigrades. Je ne pense pas que quiconque pourrait appeler ce traitement thermique «léger». En fait, ce sont les mêmes gammes de température que les fours utilisés pour incinérer les restes humains.

D'autres variétés de joyaux, comme le quartz, la tanzanite et le béryl, sont chauffés à des températures bien inférieures pour améliorer leur couleur. Mais même cette "basse température" de chauffe est réalisée à des températures allant de 600 à 1200 degrés centigrades, 2 à 4 fois plus élevée que la température maximale de la plupart des fours de cuisine.

La seule "légèreté" au sujet du traitement à basse température, c'est qu'il ne cause pas de structures internes dans le joyau qui vont se dissoudre ou fondre. Pour cette raison, il est généralement très difficile de dire si un bijou a été traité à ces températures plus basses, et même les meilleurs laboratoires de gemmologie ne seront généralement pas en mesure de certifier que ces pierres sont traitées. Les saphirs, d'autre part, peuvent être classés de manière fiable comme traité ou non, parce qu'ils sont traités à des températures extrêmement élevées. Bien que certains acheteurs pourraient être déçus, il n'y a vraiment rien de "léger" à ce sujet.

  • First Published: 19-juin-2010
  • Last Updated: 11-janvier-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Gentle Heat Treatment
Un traitement thermique modéré
Gentle Heat Treatment
Heated Blue Sapphire from Madagascar
Heated Blue Sapphire from Madagascar

Many people who are seeking natural sapphire prefer to buy unheated sapphires. However, since these untreated gems are so rare, there is a limited choice of color, size and shape. The overwhelming majority of sapphires on the market have been heat-treated, including many of the high-end stones.

Some customers who have become acquainted with the realities of the sapphire market inform us that they are willing to buy a heated sapphire, but one that has been treated with "gentle heat" only. The term "gentle heat" was not a familiar term to us, but it appears to be an increasingly popular concept. When we saw it used with approval on a website by a group calling themselves the Jewelers Ethics Association, we became concerned.

Our concern is that the term "gentle heat" for the heat treatment of sapphire and ruby is misleading, since this treatment is actually done at very high temperatures. Even the so-called low temperature heating of gems such as quartz, apatite, beryl, spodumene and tanzanite, is carried out at temperatures that many might find surprising.

Unheated Blue Green Sapphire from Tanzania
Unheated Blue Green Sapphire from Tanzania

The reason why sapphire is heated at very high temperatures is that the goal of the heat treatment is to dissolve rutile inclusions. When rutile is dissolved, it has two salutary effects; the clarity of the stone is improved by the elimination of cloudiness and the color is enhanced by the release of titanium into the sapphire lattice.

In order to achieve this goal, very high temperatures are required, since rutile (titanium dioxide) begins to dissolve at temperatures around 1650 degrees centigrade and has a melting point of 1843 degrees centigrade. I don't think anyone could fairly call this "gentle heat". In fact it is in the same temperature range as the ovens that are used to cremate human remains.

Other gem varieties, such as quartz, tanzanite and beryl, are heated at much lower temperatures to improve their color. But even this "low temperature" heating is accomplished at temperatures ranging from 600 to 1200 degrees centigrade; 2 to 4 times higher than the maximum temperature of most kitchen ovens.

The only "gentle" thing about low temperature heating is that it does not cause internal structures in the gem to dissolve or melt. For that reason it is usually very difficult to tell whether a gem has been heated at these lower temperatures. Even the best gemological labs will not usually be able to determine that such gems have been heated. Sapphires, on the other hand, can reliably be graded as heated or unheated because they are heated at extremely high temperatures. As much as some buyers might be disappointed, there is nothing "gentle" about it.

  • First Published: June-19-2010
  • Last Updated: August-04-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping