Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Investir dans les pierres précieuses
Gemstone Investing
Investir dans les pierres précieuses

Warren Hancock's Red DiamondEn 1956, Warren Hancock, un éleveur du Montana et collectionneur de diamants de couleur, a acheté un diamant rouge de 0,95 carat chez son bijoutier local pour $ 13,500. En 1987, ses héritiers vendirent le diamant à la vente aux enchères Christies pour 880,000 $. Il est juste de dire que ce fut l'un des plus grands investissements de pierre précieuse du siècle. C'est un rendement annualisé de plus de 200% sur une période prolongée!

Ce genre de succès extraordinaires conduit beaucoup de gens à vouloir imiter M. Hancock. Surtout à une époque où les taux d'intérêt sont faibles et le marché boursier est en baisse, les pierres précieuses semblent être des investissements intéressants - elles sont très faciles à transporter, facile à stocker et peuvent toujours maintenir leur valeur en raison de leur valeur intrinsèque. La fourniture de pierres naturelles est toujours limité et en fait de nombreuses mines ont déjà été exploités. Il n'est pas surprenant que les prix de nombreuses pierres précieuses soient régulièrement révisé.

Copper Bearing Paraiba TourmalineDans de nombreuses régions du monde, ce que l'on appelle les biens durables tels que la terre, l'or et les pierres précieuses ont été préférés aux actifs doux comme les actions, obligations et même les monnaies. Mais si vous envisagez les pierres précieuses comme un investissement, vous devez être conscients de certaines différences entre les pierres précieuses et des biens durables comme l'or.

Si vous possédez des bijoux en or, des pièces ou des lingots, vous pouvez convertir votre or en argent presque partout dans le monde. Il vous suffit d'aller dans un magasin ou un négociant en or se permettra de tester votre or, il le pèsera et vous payera le prix standard pour cela. L'or est une excellente liquidité, mieux que presque n'importe quel autre actif.

Natural Blue SapphireLes bijoux, d'une part, sont comme l'immobilier - il peut ne pas être très facile de les vendre quand vous le voulez. Les chances sont que vous serez toujours en mesure de trouver un acheteur, mais l'acheteur, que vous trouverez est susceptible d'être un opportuniste qui n'est disposé qu'à payer un prix bas. Par exemple, prenez l'un de vos bijoux préférés ou des bijoux de votre bijoutier local et demandez-lui combien il vous payerait pour cela. Cela vous donnera une très bonne idée de la liquidité des pierres précieuses.

Natural Pink Spinel Gemstones from GemSelectUne autre différence entre les pierres précieuses et l'or est qu'il n'y a pas de norme pour attribuer une valeur aux pierres précieuses. Les bijoux peuvent être authentifiés par daes laboratoires de gemmologie bien connu, mais les laboratoires ne peuvent pas vous dire la valeur de votre pierre. L'or pur a une valeur marchande connue en poids à tout temps donner, mais la valeur d'une gemme est souvent difficile à prévoir. Par exemple, lorsque le diamant rouge Hancock a été mis aux enchères, Christie's a prédit qu'il allait le vendre à un prix inférieur à $ 150.000. Le prix est ce que le marché accepte de payer à un moment donné. Mais trouver le bon acheteur peut prendre du temps et des efforts considérables.

Rare Demantoid GarnetSi vous songez à investir dans les pierres précieuses, le mieux que vous pouvez faire c'est  de vous influencer de M. Hancock. Achetez ce que vous aimez et ce que vous pouvez vous permettre. Acheter pour collectionner et non pas avec l'idée de faire des profits. Si vous maintenez votre collection assez longtemps, il se pourrait effectivement qu'elle ait une grande valeur pécuniaire un jour. Mr. Hancock n'a pas vécu suffisamment pour voir le jour où son meilleur diamant a été vendue aux enchères pour un énorme montant. Mais nous pouvons supposer qu'il tirait beaucoup de plaisir de sa collection de son vivant.

  • First Published: 19-mars-2008
  • Last Updated: 07-janvier-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Gemstone Investing
Investir dans les pierres précieuses
Gemstone Investing

Warren Hancock's Red DiamondIn 1956 Warren Hancock, a Montana rancher and colored diamond collector, bought a 0.95 carat red diamond from his local jeweler for $13,500. In 1987, his heirs sold the diamond at a Christie's auction for $880,000. It's fair to say that this was one of the greatest gemstone investments of the century. That's an annualized return of more than 200% over an extended period!

This kind of extraordinary success leads many people to want to emulate Mr Hancock. Gemstones look like attractive investments, especially in times when interest rates are low and the stock market is declining. Gems are highly portable, easy to store and always maintain their worth due to their intrinsic value. The supply of natural gemstones is always limited, in fact many mines have already been worked out. It's not surprising that the prices of many gemstones have been steadily appreciating.

Copper Bearing Paraiba TourmalineIn many parts of the world, so-called hard assets, such as land, gold and gemstones, have been preferred over soft assets like stocks, bonds and even currency. However, if you are considering gemstones as an investment you should be aware of some the differences between gemstones and hard assets like gold.

If you own gold jewelry, coins or bars, you can convert your gold to cash nearly anywhere in the world. You simply go to a gold shop or gold trader who will test your gold, weigh it and pay you the standard price for it. Gold has excellent liquidity, better than nearly any other asset.

Natural Blue SapphireGemstones, on the hand, are like real estate - it may not be very easy to sell them when you want to. Chances are you will always be able to find a buyer, but the buyer you'll find is likely to be an opportunist who is only willing to pay a low price. For example, take one of your favorite gems or pieces of jewelry to your local jeweler and ask him how much he'll pay you for it. That will give you a very good idea of the liquidity of gemstones.

Natural Pink Spinel Gemstones from GemSelectAnother difference between gemstones and gold is that there is no standard for assigning value to gemstones. Gemstones can be authenticated by well known gemological laboratories, but those labs cannot tell you the value of your stone. Pure gold has a known market value by weight at any give time, but the value of a gem is often difficult to predict. For example, when the Hancock Red Diamond was put up for auction, Christie's predicted it would sell at a price less than $150,000. The price is what the market will pay at any given time. But finding the right buyer can take considerable time and effort.

Rare Demantoid GarnetIf you're thinking of investing in gemstones, you might do best by emulating Mr Hancock. Buy what you love and what you can afford. Buy it to collect and not with the idea of turning a profit. If you hold your collection long enough, it may indeed be worth a lot of money some day. Mr Hancock never lived to see the day when his best diamond was sold at auction for an enormous sum. But we can safely assume he derived a great deal of pleasure from his collection during his lifetime.


  • First Published: March-19-2008
  • Last Updated: July-25-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping