• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
Les gisements de pierres précieuses

Si vous voulez trouver des pierres précieuses, il semble que cela soit similaire à la recherche de pétrole - vous devez identifier les conditions dans lesquelles les matières se forment, puis vous passez à la prospection des emplacements possibles. Une fois que vous en trouvez un, vous commencer à creuser.

Traditional Sapphire Mining in Madagascar
Sapphire Mining Madagascar

Certaines pierres précieuses se trouvent de cette façon. Ces types de gisements sont appelés des gisements primaires en minéralogie. Dans les gisements primaires les pierres précieuses ont encore leur relation avec leur roche hôte d'origine. Les cristaux sont généralement bien conservés, mais l'extraction des gemmes implique généralement le déplacement de nombreuses tonnes de roche portantes non-précieuses.

Toutefois, les pierres précieuses ne sont pas toujours trouvé où elles se forment dans la terre d'origine. Dans de nombreux cas des processus géologiques ou météorologiques transportent des matières à un nouvel emplacement. On les appelle les gisements secondaires, et ils sont très importants dans le secteur minier.

La découverte d'un gisement secondaire peut faciliter nettement l'exploitation minière, car les cristaux de pierres précieuses ont déjà été séparé de la roche hôte. Les gisements secondaires sont classés en fonction de la façon dont ils ont été transportés ou en fonction du lieu de dépôt. Les minéralogistes identifient les gisements comme fluvial (de rivière), marin (en mer), littoral (zones côtières) ou éolien (par le vent).

Les gisements de pierres précieuses qui ont été déposés par les rivières sont appelés des dépôts alluviaux. Les rivières peuvent transporter des roches gemmifère sur plusieurs centaines de miles. Lorsque le transport de l'énergie du courant diminue, les pierres precieuses plus dense - diamants , zircons , grenat , saphir , chrysobéryl , topaze , péridot et tourmaline - sont déposés avant le sable de quartz plus fin. Ainsi, les pierres laissées par la rivière ont tendance à être plus concentrées dans certains endroits. Cela rend l'exploitation du gisement beaucoup plus facile et plus productif.

La plupart des gisements de pierres précieuses ont été découverts par accident. Aujourd'hui encore, la prospection systématique est principalement limitée aux  occurrences de diamants. La production de diamants est géré par des sociétés internationales qui peuvent se permettre de gros investissements, car le prix des diamants est contrôlée à l'échelle mondiale. Dans le monde pierres de couleur, l'exploitation minière continue d'être artisanale, avec de petites exploitations minières locales utilisant des méthodes primitives.

La meilleure façon de collecter des pierres précieuses est de découvrir des pierres sur la surface dans un lit de rivière asséché. La prospection dans les rivières peut également être productive. Dans de nombreux cas les alluvions se trouvent sous la surface et beaucoup de travail manuel est nécessaire pour extraire la roche dans le sol pour examiner les pierres précieuses. La plupart des corindons ( rubis et saphir ) se trouvent dans des gisements alluviaux.

  • Première publication: July-15-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: March-03-2011
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (143)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Gemstone Deposits
Gemstone Deposits

If you think about finding gemstones, it seems like it would be similar to searching for oil - you identify the conditions under which the material forms, then you go prospecting for likely locations. Once you find one, you start digging.

Traditional Sapphire Mining in Madagascar
Sapphire Mining Madagascar

Some gemstones are found in this way. In the field of mineralogy, they are referred to as primary deposits. In primary deposits, the gemstones still have their original relationship with their host rock. The crystals are usually well-preserved, but extracting the gem material usually involves moving many tons of non gem-bearing rock.

However, gemstones are not always found where they form in the Earth. In many cases, geological or meteorological processes will transport the material to a new location. These are known as secondary deposits and are very important in the mining business.

Discovering a secondary deposit can make mining much easier because the gem crystals have already been separated from the host rock. Secondary deposits are classified by the way in which they have been transported or the place of deposit. Mineralogists identify deposits as fluvial (river), marine (in the sea), littoral (coastal) or aeolian (by the wind).

Gemstone deposits that are carried by rivers are called placers or alluvial deposits. Rivers can transport gem-bearing rock many hundreds of miles. When the force of the current diminishes, the denser gems, such as diamond, zircon, garnet, sapphire, chrysoberyl, topaz, peridot and tourmaline, are deposited before the lighter quartz sand. Thus the gems left behind by the river tend to be concentrated in certain places. This makes mining the deposit much easier and more productive.

Most gemstone deposits are found by serendipity. Even today, systematic prospecting is mainly limited to diamond deposits. Diamond production is run by international companies that can afford to invest large amounts of capital, because the price of diamonds is controlled on a worldwide scale. In the colored gemstone world, most mining continues to be artisanal, with small, local mining operations using primitive methods.

The easiest way to collect gemstones is to discover stones on the surface of a dry riverbed. Prospecting in rivers can also be productive. In many cases, alluvial deposits are found below the surface and a great deal of manual labor is required to extract the rock and soil in order to examine it for gemstones. Most corundum (ruby and sapphire) is found in alluvial deposits.

  • First Published: July-15-2008
  • Last Updated: July-23-2014
  • © 2005-2016 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart