Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Tailler les Pierres Précieuses
Cut Gemstones
Tailler les Pierres Précieuses

Processing Rough GemstonesSi vous pensez de votre travail est une corvée quotidienne, imaginez ce que la vie est pour un lapidaire ou un tailleur de pierre. Les pierres de couleurs sont des matériaux très durs - la plupart sont plus durs que l'acier - et les transformer à partir d'une pierre brute en un bijou fini est un processus laborieux et qui implique une combinaison d'actions fastidieuses délicate et abrasives, tout cela sur des matériaux coûteux qui sont facilement endommagé.

La première étape de la coupe d'une pierre précieuse est de réduire le matériau le plus près possible de la taille approximative requise pour la gemme finale, en gardant à l'esprit que jusqu'à 65% à 75% du matériau d'origine sera perdue dans le processus de découpe.

Processing Gemstones manualSi le matériau brut est en gros morceaux, comme dans le cas du quartz, il devra d'abord être scié en petits morceaux. Il est souvent nécessaire de scier des matériaux plus coûteux en petits morceaux. Selon la taille du matériau à couper, une scie circulaire recouvert de particules de diamant est utilisée, lubrifié à l'huile ou l'eau pour éviter la surchauffe. Ces scies sont de tailles différentes en fonction du matériau à couper. Les grandes scies sont appelées scies plates tandis que les plus petites sont appelés des scies assiette.

L'étape suivante du processus consiste à préformer le matériau à la forme approximative de la pierre précieuse final. Cela se fait habituellement avec une roue en carbure de silicium. Le plus souvent une forme est sélectionnée pour maximiser au mieux l'utilisation des matériaux bruts les plus coûteux. Habituellement un côté de la pierre est coupé avec une surface plane, ce qui deviendra la table ou la facette principale, grande partie de la couronne de la pierre.

Après que la pierre soit préformée, elle est monté sur un petit bâton appelé Dop. Le haut du dop est plat et la pierre est d'abord collée au dop sur son côté plat. La colle est en fait une cire haute température, ce qui la rend plus facile à disparaître simplement en la chauffant, ensuite il faut nettoyer le bijou avec de l'alcool.

À ce point le lapidaire peut commencer à couper des facettes sur la pierre précieuse, à commencer par la moitié inférieure ou le pavillon de la pierre. Bien que nous parlions de facettes à propos de 'couper', c'est en fait une autre opération de broyage, mais qui doit être accompli avec un haut degré de précision. Une roue montée horizontalement appellé un tour est utilisé avec différentes surfaces de meulage et de polissage. Le dop est tenu à un angle exact et tourné ensuite pour moudre chaque facette à tour de rôle. Positionner le dop peut être fait avec le bras mécanique et le mât d'une machine de taille à facettes ou avec des dispositifs similaires mais plus simples encore sont monnaie courante en Asie du Sud et en Inde.

Polir les facettes avec une finition miroir se fait avec une variété de produits de polissage. Il s'agit notamment de notes très fines de particules de diamant ou d'oxyde d'aluminium (corindon), ainsi que de l'oxyde de cérium, de l'oxyde d'étain ou de l'oxyde de chrome. Le polissage a l'air d'un travail simple que n'importe qui pourrait faire, mais c'est en fait tout un art, avec beaucoup de secrets commerciaux. La consistance de l'agent de polissage, le matériau du tour et sa vitesse de rotation sont toutes des variables importantes.

  • First Published: 03-avril-2008
  • Last Updated: 06-octobre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Cut Gemstones
Tailler les Pierres Précieuses
Cut Gemstones

Processing Rough GemstonesIf you think of your job as a daily grind, imagine what life is like for a lapidary or gem cutter. Colored gemstones are very hard materials -- most are harder than steel -- and transforming them from the rough stone to a finished gem is a laborious process that involves a tedious combination of delicate and abrasive actions, all of this on expensive materials that are easily damaged.

The first stage in cutting a gemstone is to get the rough material down to the approximate size needed for the final gem, keeping in mind that as much as 65% to 75% of the original material will be lost in the cutting process.

Processing Gemstones manualIf the rough material is in large pieces, as in the case of quartz, it will first need to be sawn into smaller pieces. It is often necessary to saw more expensive materials as well into quite small pieces. Depending on the size of material to be cut, a circular saw covered with diamond grit is used, lubricated with oil or water to prevent overheating. These saws come in different sizes depending on the material to be cut. The larger saws are called slab saws while the smaller ones are referred to as trim saws.

The next stage in the process is to preform the material to the approximate shape of the final gemstone. This is usually done with a silicon carbide wheel. Most often a shape is selected that will maximize the use of the expensive rough material. Usually one side of the stone is cut with a flat surface; this will become the table or large main facet on the crown of the stone.

After the stone is preformed, it is mounted on a small stick called a dop. The top of the dop is flat and the stone is first glued to the dop on its flat side. The glue is actually a high temperature wax, making it easier to remove later simply by heating it and then cleaning the gem with alcohol.

At this point the lapidary can begin to cut facets on the gem, starting with the bottom half or pavilion of the stone. Though we talk about 'cutting' facets, this is actually another grinding operation, but one that must be accomplished with a high degree of precision. A horizontally mounted wheel called a lap is used, with different surfaces for grinding and polishing. The dop is held at an exact angle and then rotated to grind each facet in turn. Positioning the dop may be done with the mechanical arm and mast of a faceting machine or with similar but simpler devices still common in southeast Asia and India.

Polishing the facets to a mirror-like finish is done with a variety of polishing agents. These include very fine grades of diamond grit or aluminum oxide (corundum) as well as cerium oxide, tin oxide or chromium oxide. Polishing sounds like a simple job that anyone could do, but it is actually quite an art, with many trade secrets. The consistency of the polishing agent, the material of the lap and the rotational speed of the lap are all important variables.

  • First Published: April-03-2008
  • Last Updated: October-06-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping