• Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
Pays d'origine Émeraude de Colombie
Émeraude de Colombie

Comme la plupart des marchands de bijou de bonne réputation, nous indiquons toujours le pays d'origine de nos pierres précieuses. Si nous avons des informations plus spécifiques, telles que la région du pays ou même la mine, nous l'incluons aussi. Les acheteurs attendent ces informations.

Une école idéologique pourrait clamer que ce n'est pas nécessaire. Une pierre fine est toujours une pierre fine, quelle que soit sa provenance. Le fait que le spinelle soit de Birmanie n'en fait pas une bonne pierre, et si le spinelle se trouve être de Tanzanie cela ne signifie pas qu'il est de moindre qualité. Le fait est, qu'il y a du matériel supérieure et inférieure dans chaque mines.

Burmese Ruby
Rubis birmans

Il ne fait aucun doute que les variétés de pierres précieuses trouvé à des emplacements spécifiques ordonne les prix sur le marché des pierres. Donc clairement le pays d'origine est important financièrement. Et il y a des raisons de penser que cette tendance concernant les pays est justifiée dans de nombreux cas. Les gemmologues sont largement d'accord, par exemple, pour dire que les rubis peuvent avoir l'intensité, la couleur et la fluorescence des rubis birmans, et c'est là une différence qualitative qui peut facilement être observé et mesuré.

Ruby from Thailand
Rubis de Thailande

Il est vrai bien sûr que des rubis birmans - en particulier ceux de Mogok - sont connus pour ces qualités uniques, et pas seulement parce qu'ils viennent de Birmanie. Mais dans l'esprit de nombreux acheteurs, le pays d'origine est d'un intérêt particulier. L'acheteur d'un rubis veut savoir si un bijou particulier est de Birmanie, de Thaïlande ou de Madagascar. L'acheteur d'émeraude veut savoir si une pierre spécifique est de Colombie, du Brésil ou du Zimbabwe. Et ainsi de suite.

Mais obtenir une vérification indépendante des pays d'origine n'est pas facile. Seuls quelques laboratoires de gemmologie peuvent fournir des rapports de pays d'origine, même s'il y a une demande croissante sur le marché. En conséquence plus de laboratoires voudraient entrer dans les affaires. Le but est de développer un ensemble d'outils scientifiques qui permettent au laboratoire « de relever les empreintes digitales » d'une pierre gemme. Cela signifie que le laboratoire doit d'abord établir une base de données des caractéristiques physiques et chimiques spécifiques à chaque variété de pierres et son emplacement. Cela nécessite une analyse d'une grande population d'échantillons. Et ce n'est pas une tâche qu'on execute qu'une seule fois. Pendant que de nouvelles mines sont ouvertes et les anciennes de plus en plus profonde, l'empreinte digitale chimique pour une région peut changer.

Spinel from Tanzania
Spinelle de Tanzanie

Créer les empreintes digitales peut devenir plus difficile lorsque des pierres de nouveaux emplacements arrive sur le marché. Par exemple, certains saphirs de Madagascar ressemble beaucoup au saphir du Sri Lanka ou de Birmanie. pour une nouvelle pierre et des échantillons limités pour construire un profil, il est probable qu'un laboratoire puissent publier des données erronée. Il n'est pas surprenant que les pays d'origine des rapports d'un laboratoire utilisera un language comme «basé sur l'information gemmologique disponible, l'opinion du laboratoire est que l'origine de ce matériel doit être classée comme Birmane (Myanmar)." La morale de l'histoire, peut-être, est que l'achat de pierres fines nécessite encore un bon oeil pour les caractéristiques des pierres précieuses de qualité supérieure. L'achat sur la base du pays d'origine seule peut être risqué.

  • Première publication: October-20-2008
  • Dernière mise à jour: November-23-2017
  • © 2005-2018 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (144)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value

Creating Account...

Close window to continue

Facebook did not provide your email to login.

Please allow Facebook to provide your email or sign up an account with GemSelect.

GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Country of Origin
Country of Origin
Emerald from Columbia
Emerald from Columbia

Like most reputable gem dealers, we always state the country of origin for our gemstones. If we have more specific information, such as the region of the country or even the specific mine, we include that as well. Buyers have come to expect this information.

One school of thought would claim that this is unnecessary. A fine gemstone is always a fine gemstone, regardless of its provenance. The fact that a spinel is from Burma doesn't necessarily make it a good stone; and if the spinel happens to be from Tanzania that doesn't mean it is of inferior quality. Indeed, there is superior and inferior material from every mining location. Or so the argument runs.

Burmese Ruby
Burmese Ruby

There is no doubt that gem varieties from specific locations command high prices on the market. So clearly the country of origin is financially important. Furthermore, there is reason to think that this country bias is justified in many cases. Gemologists largely agree, for example, that few rubies have the color intensity and fluorescence of Burmese rubies; and this is a qualitative difference that can easily be seen and measured.

Ruby from Thailand
Thai Ruby

It is true of course that Burmese rubies - especially those from Mogok - are famed for their unique qualities, not just because they come from Burma. In the mind of many buyers, the country of origin is of special interest. The ruby buyer wants to know if a particular gem is from Burma, Thailand or Madagascar. The emerald buyer wants to know if a specific stone is from Columbia, Brazil or Zimbabwe, and so on.

Getting independent verification of a gemstone's country of origin is not easy. Only a few gemological labs provide country of origin reports, though there is growing demand in the market for them. As a result, an increasing number of labs would like to get into this business. The goal is to develop a set of scientific tools that enable the lab to 'fingerprint' a gemstone. This means that the lab first has to build a database of physical and chemical characteristics specific to each gem variety and location. It requires analysis of a large population of samples. This would be an ongoing project as new mines open and old ones go deeper, meaning that the chemical fingerprint for a region is changeable.

Spinel from Tanzania
Spinel from Tanzania

The task of fingerprinting gems can become more difficult when material from new locations enters the market. For example, some of the sapphire from Madagascar looks very similar to sapphire from Sri Lanka or Burma. A new supply means that there are limited samples to build a profile from, so it's more likely that a lab can be mistaken. It's not surprising that country of origin reports from a lab tend to use well chosen phrases, such as, "based upon available gemological information, it is the opinion of the lab that the origin of this material would be classified as Burma (Myanmar)". The moral of the story, perhaps, is that buying fine gems still requires a good eye for superior gemstone characteristics. Buying on the basis of country of origin alone could be risky.

  • First Published: October-20-2008
  • Last Updated: July-10-2014
  • © 2005-2017 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart