Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : L'Histoire des Briolettes
History of Briolettes
L'Histoire des Briolettes

La plupart des pierres taillées d'aujourd'hui sont coupés avec une table plate, une couronne et des pavillons à facettes. C'est un style qui maximise la lumière renvoyée à l'oeil et donc l'éclat de la gemme. Mais il fut un temps ou ce style de facettage n'était pas des plus populaires. Retour au 17e siècle, la briolette était la favorite des rois et des aristocrates. Un bel exemple est un collier de diamants que Napoléon a présenté à l'impératrice Marie-Louise contenant 10 diamants briolettes de plus de 4 carats chacun. Le collier est désormais à la Smithsonian Institution à Washington, DC.

La briolette est une pierre en forme de poires ou de gouttes qui a toute sa surface couverte de petites facettes géométriques. Les historiens croient que la coupe briolette est né en Inde il y a 800 ans. La popularité de la briolette en Europe est due au célèbre voyageur français et commerçant, Jean-Baptiste Tavernier, qui a apporté la briolette de retour d'Inde.

Buy all kind of Gemstone Briolettes at GemSelect

La popularité de la briolette à commencé à décliner au 17ème siècle quand la technologie de taille des bijoux à progressé et que les premières versions de la taille ronde moderne brillante sont devenus populaires. Beaucoup de briolettes existantes ont été recoupé en utilisant des méthodes modernes.

La briolette à connu un regain de popularité dans les époques victorienne et édouardienne et a été une des favorites des concepteurs Art Déco. Mais les briolettes plongèrent à nouveau dans l'oubli. En grande partie pour une question de coût. Une briolette a beaucoup de surface et nécessite de gros morceaux de pierre brute. Il est très coûteux de réduire des diamants, rubis ou saphirs en briolettes, et les lapidaires considèrent les briolettes comme une utilisation inefficace de la matière brute. Ce n'est que récemment qu'on a commencé à revoir la briolette, notamment couper à partir de matériaux précieux moins coûteux.

S'il est vrai que les briolettes ne concentrent pas leur brillance comme une taille ronde moderne brillante, les briolettes ont leur propre charme. Elles affichent la couleur et reflètent la lumière depuis n'importe quel angle, et sont d'une certaine élégance raffinée. Cela fonctionnent particulièrement bien pour les boucles d'oreilles et les pendentifs, car elles se balancent, se déplacent et accroche la lumière. Elles ne sont encombré d'aucune sertissure, sauf au sommet, et cela vous permet de voir plus de la gemme qu'avec n'importe quel autre coupe.

Lorsque vous achetez des pierres briolettes, vous les trouverez souvent avec un trou percé dans la partie supérieure. Habituellement, elles sont contre-percés, où un trou est percé à travers la pierre près de la pointe, perpendiculaire à la longueur de la gemme. Cela permet à la gemme de se balancer librement à un fil ou une broche et évite l'utilisation d'adhésifs. Parfois, vous trouverez des briolettes percé sur le dessus, où un trou est percé de quelques mm dans le haut du joyau, permettant à une petites broches en métal d'être insérer. Une troisième méthode consiste à abraser une petite zone à la pointe, offrant une surface légèrement piqué pour qu'une résine époxy puisse être utilisé afin de sécuriser une capsule métallique.

  • First Published: 25-mars-2008
  • Last Updated: 20-avril-2011
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : History of Briolettes
L'Histoire des Briolettes
History of Briolettes

Most faceted gemstones today are cut with a flat table and crown and pavilion facets. It's a style that maximizes the light returned to the eye and thus the brilliance of the gem. But at one time this was not the most popular faceting style. Back in the 17th century the briolette was the favorite of royalty and aristocrats. A fine example is a diamond necklace that Napoleon presented to Empress Marie Louise containing 10 diamond briolettes weighing over 4 carats each. The necklace is now in the Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC.

The briolette is a pear or drop-shaped gemstone which has its entire surface covered with long triangular facets. Historians believe that the briolette cut originated in India about 800 years ago. The popularity of the briolette in Europe was due to the famous French traveller and trader, Jean-Baptiste Tavernier, who brought briolettes back from India.

Buy all kind of Gemstone Briolettes at GemSelect

The popularity of the briolette started to decline in the late 17th century as gem cutting technology progressed and the early versions of the modern round, brilliant cut became popular. Many existing briolettes were in fact recut using modern methods.

The briolette regained popularity in the Victorian and Edwardian eras and was a favorite of Art Deco designers. However, briolettes soon faded into obscurity once again. In large part is was a cost issue. A briolette has a lot of surface area and requires large pieces of rough stone. It is quite expensive to cut diamonds, rubies or sapphires as briolettes, and gem cutters regard briolettes as an inefficient use of the rough material. Only recently have briolettes started to be seen again, particularly in the form of less expensive gemstone materials.

While it is true that briolettes do not concentrate brilliance like a modern round brilliant cut, briolettes have their own charm. They display color and reflect light from any angle, and have a quiet, refined elegance. They work especially well as earrings and pendants because they dangle and move, allowing them to catch the light. They are generally unencumbered by any setting except at the top, and this allows more of the gemstone to be visible than with any other cut.

When you buy loose briolettes you will often find that they come with a hole drilled through the top. Usually they are are cross-drilled, where a hole is drilled through the gem near the tip. This allows the gem to swing freely on a wire or pin and avoids the use of adhesives. Sometimes you will find briolettes top-drilled, where a hole is drilled a few millimeters into the gem from the top, allowing a small metal pin to be inserted. A third method is to abrade a small area at the tip, providing a slightly pitted surface in order for an epoxy resin to be used to secure a metal cap.

  • First Published: March-25-2008
  • Last Updated: July-03-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping