search
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
    1-800-464-1640

    International:
    +66-39303404

  • Change Language
  • USD
Buy Customized Gemstone Lots
La Séraphinite Verte
Natural Seraphinite
Séraphinite Naturelles

La Séraphinite est un nom commercial pour une forme particulière de clinochlore, un membre du groupe des chlorites. La couleur vert sombre de la séraphinite est renforcée par un miroitement argenté et plumeux causées par des inclusions de mica. La séraphinite a été nommé d'après les séraphins, la plus haute lignée d'anges, du à l'aspect de fibres chatoyante comme des plumes dans la pierre.

Les chlorites sont un groupe de phyllosilicates. Le nom vient du mot grec pour le vert, chloros, puisque la plupart des chlorites sont vertes, mais elles s'affichent aussi en blanc, jaune, rouge, lavande, ou noir. Les variétés les plus courantes sont la chlorite clinoclore, la pennantite, et la chamosite. Il n'y a que deux gemmes de qualité dans le groupe des chlorites, les deux types de clinochlore: séraphinite et Kammererite.

Le minérale Clinochlore a été identifié en 1851 à West Chester, en Pennsylvanie. Il a depuis été découvert dans un certain nombre d'autres endroits aux Etats-Unis, notamment New York, l'Arizona et le New Jersey. Le Clinochlore peut également être trouvés dans d'autres pays, y compris l'Espagne, la Suisse, la Russie, la Turquie et l'Italie.

Seraphinite Rough
Séraphinite brute

La Séraphinite, comme les autres clinochlorites, est un hydroxide de magnésium et d'aluminium de silicate de fer. C'est une pierre très tendre, avec une dureté de 2 à 2,5 sur l'échelle de Mohs. Comme toutes les chlorites, la séraphinite expose un parfait clivage dans un seul sens. Lorsqu'elle est poli, la séraphinite affiche un éclat vitreux nacrée, elle a une densité de 2,55 à 2,75, environ la même gamme que le quartz ou le béryl. C'est l'indice de réfraction de 1,576 à 1,599, qui lui, est semblable à l'émeraude et l'aigue-marine.

En raison de sa molesse, la séraphinite est principalement une pierre de collectionneur. Ce qui rend son intérêt particulier sont les fibres argenté chatoyante qui forment des motifs similaires à des plumes telles que l'on pourrait les trouver sur une aile d'oiseau.

Le nom romantique, et l'association des séraphinites avec des anges, a fait gagné à la séraphinite une réputation en tant que joyau de guérison, bon pour les nerfs et les cellules du cerveau.

  • Première publication: October-13-2009
  • Dernière mise à jour: May-24-2013
  • © 2005-2019 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.
    Reproduction (texte ou graphique), sans le consentement écrit de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd) est strictement interdite.
Pierres précieuses populaires
Toutes les pierres précieuses (143)
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T V Z É Œ
Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

Sans frais - USA et Canada seulement:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39303404

Économisez de l'argent
Pas de frais d'expédition pour les articles supplémentaires!
$ 6,99 Livraison dans le monde

Update Translation
 
Current Value
New Value
GemSelect Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
X Fermer la fenêtre
Colored Gemstones
Taille et poids

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Green Seraphinite
La Séraphinite Verte
Green Seraphinite
Natural Seraphinite
Natural Seraphinite

Seraphinite is a trade name for a particular form of clinochlore, a member of the chlorite group. The dark green color of seraphinite is enhanced by a silvery and feathery shimmer caused by mica inclusions. Seraphinite was named for the seraphim, the highest order of angels, because of the feather-like appearance of the chatoyant fibers in the stone.

The chlorites are a group of phyllosilicate minerals. The name comes from the Greek word for green, chloros, since most chlorites are green, though they also occur in white, yellow, red, lavender, or black. The most common chlorite varieties are clinoclore, pennantite, and chamosite. There are only two gem-quality minerals in the chlorite group, both types of clinochlore: Seraphinite and Kammererite.

The mineral clinochlore was first identified in 1851 in West Chester, Pennsylvania. It has since been discovered in a number of other locales in the USA, including New York, Arizona, and New Jersey. Clinochlore can also be found in other countries, including Spain, Switzerland, Russia, Turkey, and Italy.

Seraphinite Rough
Seraphinite Rough

Seraphinite, like the other clinochlorites, is a magnesium iron aluminum silicate hyroxide. It is quite a soft stone, with a hardness of 2 to 2.5 on the Moh's scale. Like all the chlorites, seraphinite exhibits perfect cleavage in one direction. When polished, seraphinite displays a pearly, vitreous luster. It has a density of 2.55 to 2.75, in approximately the same range as quartz or beryl. It's refractive index is 1.576 to 1.599, similar to emerald and aquamarine.

Due to its softness, seraphinite is mainly a collector's stone. What makes it of special interest is the silvery chatoyant fibers which form patterns similar to feathers such as one might find on a bird's wing.

The romantic name, and the association of seraphinite with angels, has gained seraphinite a reputation as a healing gem, good for nerves and brain cells.

  • First Published: October-13-2009
  • Last Updated: October-08-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping