Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Fins Saphir Vert
Fine Green Sapphire
Fins Saphir Vert

Natural Green Sapphire Gems at GemSelectOn considère d'habitude que le saphir, une variété du corindon minéral, est bleu, mais en fait il se produit dans une large gamme de couleurs à part le rouge. C'est parce que l'industrie des pierres précieuses utilise le nom de rubis pour le corindon rouge en reconnaissance pour la valeur spéciale qu'elle attache à la plus dure de toutes les pierres précieuses rouges.

Le bleu est une couleur d'une telle importance pour le saphir que le terme saphir dans le commerce des pierres précieuses se réfère toujours au bleu saphir. Les autres couleurs du saphir sont appelés saphir fantaisie et les couleurs sont rose, jaune, orange, vert, violet et blanc. La vaste gamme de couleurs dans le corindon est causée par différentes impuretés telles que le chrome, le titane et le fer.

Parmi les saphirs fantaisies, le jaune a été particulièrement appréciée, en grande partie en raison de sa place comme l'un des neuf joyaux planétaires dans la tradition astrologique védique. Le saphir vert qui autrefois était considéré comme l'une des couleurs les moins désirables, est maintenant de plus en plus populaires, mais personne ne sait vraiment pourquoi. C'est peut-être parce que le vert a toujours été une importante couleur de pierre précieuse (pensez émeraude, tourmaline et tsavorite) et le saphir vert qui est assez rare.

Le saphir vert est colorié par des traces de fer. Dans certains cas la couleur verte est en raison de la présence tant de bandes bleues que jaunes, qui donne l'impression que la pierre précieuse est verte à l'oeil. Mais le zonage de couleur est évident sous le grossissement et peut quelquefois être vu à l'oeil nu.

Bien qu'il y ait beaucoup de choix dans les pierres précieuses vertes, les excellentes caractéristiques de pierre précieuse du corindon rendent le saphir vert comme un choix populaire, surtout pour les anneaux. Vous trouverez des morceaux intéressants tant facetés que dans des styles de cabochon. Le saphir vert, comme le saphir dans d'autres couleurs, est généralement traitée thermiquement.

  • First Published: 20-mai-2008
  • Last Updated: 06-octobre-2010
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

Jewelry New Arrivals Pairs Lots Contact
  : Fine Green Sapphire
Fine Green Sapphire

Natural Green Sapphire Gems at GemSelectSapphire, a variety of the mineral corundum, is usually considered to be blue, but in fact it occurs in a wide range of colors except for red. That's because the gem industry uses the name ruby for red corundum; the hardest of all red gemstones.

Blue is such an important color for sapphire that the term sapphire in the gem trade usually refers to blue sapphire. Other colors of sapphire are called fancy sapphire, the colors of which include pink, yellow, orange, green, violet and white. The wide range of colors in corundum are caused by different impurities such as chromium, titanium and iron.

Among the fancy sapphires, yellow has been especially valued, largely because of its place as one of the nine planetary gems of the Vedic astrological tradition. Green sapphire was once thought of as one of the less desirable colors, but has now become increasingly popular, though no one is quite sure why. Perhaps it is because green has always been an important gemstone color (emerald, tourmaline and tsavorite garnet are a few of the important green gemstones) and green sapphire is fairly rare.

Green sapphire can occur in colors ranging from light mint green to dark forest green. The finest green sapphire is thought to come from Sri Lanka, but it is very rare indeed. Most of the green sapphire you will see on the market is from Thailand or Australia. These gemstones tend to be darker green and are often blue-green or yellow-green. Green sapphire may also be found from Burma and Madagascar.

Green sapphire is colored by traces of iron. In some cases the green color is due to the presence of both blue and yellow bands, which make the gem appear green. This color zoning is obvious under magnification and can sometimes be seen with the naked eye.

Though there are many choices of green gemstone, the excellent gemstone characteristics of corundum make green sapphire a popular choice, especially for rings. Beautiful green sapphire gemstones are available in both faceted and cabochon styles. Green sapphire, like sapphire of other colors, is typically heat treated.

  • First Published: May-20-2008
  • Last Updated: June-13-2014
  • © 2005-2016 all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:


Reorder Items

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping

GemSelect Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
X Close Window
Colored Gemstones
Size and Weight

Gems are always measured in Millimeter (mm)

Dimensions are given as;
length x width x depth,
except for round stones which are;
diameter x depth

Select gems by size, not by weight!
Gem varieties vary in density, so carat weight is not a good indication of size

Note: 1ct = 0.2g

Size Comparison Chart