search
  • Se connecter
    S'inscrire
  • Support à la clientèle en parlant d'anglaise seulement

    1-800-464-1640

    International:

    +66-39601289

  • Changer de langue
  • USD
  • PANIER

Informations sur les pierres précieuses de morganite

Pierres précieuses de morganite de GemSelect - grande image
Acheter des pierres précieuses de morganite

À propos de la morganite - Histoire et introduction

Morganite est la variété rose clair à violet-rose de béryl . Étant donné que le béryl est le plus connu pour être le groupe minéral qui vert émeraude appartient, la morganite rose est parfois appelée « émeraude rose ». Avec l'émeraude, la morganite est également liée à l'aigue-marine bleue, au béryl doré (héliodore), à la goshénite incolore et au bixbite rouge rare . Parmi les béryls, la morganite est l'une des formes les plus rares, juste derrière la bixbite rouge.

Morganite rose a été identifié pour la première fois à Madagascar, en 1910 et connu sous le nom de « béryl rose ». Peu de temps après, George F.Kunz , un célèbre gemmologue américain et acheteur de Tiffany & Company l'a renommé en l'honneur de John Pierpont (JP) Morgan , banquier américain et collectionneur passionné de pierres précieuses. Depuis sa découverte, la morganite est prisée par les collectionneurs de pierres précieuses en raison de sa rareté.

Pierre précieuse de morganite

Identification de la morganite

Retour au sommet

La morganite est un silicate d'aluminium et de béryllium. Sa couleur peut aller du rose pâle au violet, saumon ou pêche. Avec d'autres béryls, la morganite a une très bonne dureté, avec une cote de 7,5 à 8 sur l'échelle de Mohs. L'indice de réfraction est de 1,562 à 1,602. Le béryl a généralement une densité de 2,66 à 2,87, mais la morganite est légèrement plus dense que les autres béryls entre 2,71 et 2,90. La morganite est généralement assez propre, contrairement à l'émeraude qui a tendance à être fortement incluse. Dans la plupart des cas, la morganite se distingue facilement des autres pierres roses par sa brillance et son éclat, combinés à sa dureté, sa durabilité et son excellente clarté.

morganite; Origine et sources

Retour au sommet

La morganite peut être trouvée dans de nombreux endroits à travers le monde. Les deux gisements les plus importants se trouvent au Brésil et à Madagascar. Parmi les autres sources notables de morganite fine de qualité gemme figurent l'Afghanistan, la Chine, Madagascar, le Mozambique, la Namibie, la Russie, le Zimbabwe et les États-Unis (Californie et Maine).

Acheter de la morganite et déterminer la valeur de la morganite

Retour au sommet

Couleur morganite

La couleur de la morganite varie du rose pâle au rose, rose violet, pêche, rose pêche ou saumon. On pense que sa couleur est due à des traces de manganèse ou de césium. La morganite est rarement de couleur vive ou intense; la plupart des pierres sont de couleur très pâle ou pastel. Les grosses pierres présentent généralement des couleurs plus fortes. Une morganite rose pure est considérée comme la plus souhaitable, mais plus récemment, les pierres de couleur pêche et saumon ont été très demandées. Il existe également une rare morganite de couleur magenta de Madagascar très recherchée par les collectionneurs.

Clarté et éclat de la morganite

La morganite se présente avec une excellente transparence. Contrairement à l'émeraude, il se forme rarement avec des inclusions, on s'attend donc à des pierres propres à l'œil. La morganite présente un lustre vitreux attrayant lorsqu'elle est coupée et polie.

Coupe et forme de morganite

La morganite est généralement facettée pour maximiser sa couleur et sa brillance. Avec son clivage indistinct, les tailleurs doivent orienter correctement la pierre pour minimiser le clivage. Les matériaux rares qui présentent une chatoyance (effet œil de chat) sont souvent taillés en cabochon afin de présenter au mieux les effets souhaités. La morganite est le plus souvent découpée en ronds ovales, coussins et poires, ainsi qu'en trillions, cœurs et briolettes.

Traitement morganite

La morganite est souvent trouvée non chauffée et non améliorée. Cependant, de nombreuses pierres aujourd'hui peuvent être régulièrement traitées thermiquement pour améliorer la couleur et éliminer les tons jaunes indésirables. Le chauffage est effectué à des températures relativement basses (environ 400 degrés centigrades) pour obtenir cet effet.

Propriétés gemmologiques de la morganite :

Retour au sommet
Formule chimique: Al2(Be3[Si6O18] - Silicate d'aluminium et de béryllium
Structure en cristal: Hexagone (prismes hexagonaux)
Couleur: Rose pâle à violet-rose, pêche, saumon
Dureté: 7,5 à 8 sur l'échelle de Mohs
Indice de réfraction : 1.562 à 1.602
Densité: 2,71 à 2,90
Clivage: Indistinct
Transparence: Transparent à opaque
Double réfraction ou biréfringence : -0,004 à -0,010
Lustre: Vitreux
Fluorescence: Faible : violette

Veuillez vous référer à notre Glossaire des pierres précieuses pour plus de détails sur les termes liés à la gemmologie.

Morganite : pierres précieuses apparentées ou similaires

Retour au sommet
Goshénite
Goshénite

La morganite appartient à la très importante groupe béryl de pierres précieuses et de minéraux. Il existe plusieurs variétés de pierres précieuses de béryl étroitement apparentées, généralement classées par couleur ou impuretés. Certains des béryls les plus populaires liés à la morganite rose comprennent l'émeraude verte, aigue-marine bleue , goshénite blanche et béryl doré ou héliodore .

Le béryl le plus rare est la bixbite rouge. La bazzite et la pezzottaite sont souvent considérées comme des types de béryl car elles sont très similaires, mais gemmologiquement, ce ne sont pas techniquement de vrais béryls. La morganite peut parfois être appelée « émeraude rose » ou « béryl rose », mais ce ne sont que des noms commerciaux.

Mythologie morganite, guérison métaphysique et cristalline

Retour au sommet

La morganite est une pierre rose d'amour. On dit qu'il véhicule une énergie qui peut réchauffer l'âme de son porteur. Il est préférable de l'utiliser pour ouvrir le chakra du cœur et il est souvent utilisé pour aider à nettoyer le corps du stress et de l'anxiété. Toutes les gemmes de béryl, y compris la morganite rose, représentent la pureté et le potentiel.

Pour les femmes, on dit que la morganite encourage les sentiments d'indépendance vis-à-vis des hommes et l'harmonie avec l'énergie masculine. Pour les hommes, cela peut les aider à équilibrer l'énergie masculine et féminine. Physiquement, on pense que la morganite aide à lutter contre l'asthme et l'emphysème, ainsi que les troubles cardiaques et pulmonaires.

Avis de non-responsabilité : les pouvoirs et propriétés métaphysiques et alternatifs de guérison des cristaux ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils confirmés. Les traditions traditionnelles, cérémonielles et mythologiques des pierres précieuses sont collectées à partir de diverses ressources et ne représentent pas la seule opinion de SETT Co., Ltd. Ces informations ne doivent pas remplacer les conseils de votre médecin. Si vous avez des conditions médicales, veuillez consulter un médecin agréé. GemSelect ne garantit aucune réclamation ou déclaration de pouvoirs de guérison ou de pierre de naissance astrologique et ne peut en aucun cas être tenu responsable.

Idées de conception de pierres précieuses et de bijoux en morganite

Retour au sommet

Toutes les gemmes de béryl sont considérées comme excellentes pour les bijoux. La morganite est généralement très propre avec une excellente transparence, elle a une bonne dureté, durabilité, éclat et brillance. Sa large gamme de couleurs rosées douces le rend très recherché par les bijoutiers du monde entier. Il convient parfaitement à un usage quotidien et peut être porté comme bagues, pendentifs, boucles d'oreilles, colliers, bracelets, épingles ou broches. Aujourd'hui, la morganite est l'une des pierres précieuses roses à pêche les plus populaires. Les grandes bagues en morganite propres sont un excellent choix pour les soirées occasionnelles, et elles sont suffisamment durables pour être portées dans les bijoux de mode de tous les jours. En raison de sa couleur douce, la morganite est la plus populaire dans les créations de bijoux pour femmes.

La morganite est considérée comme très abordable, surtout compte tenu de sa rareté. La morganite peut être difficile à trouver dans les magasins de détail locaux car elle est encore relativement rare. Cependant, les revendeurs en ligne peuvent fournir de la morganite dans toutes les tailles, formes et coupes. La morganite chatoyante est souvent taillée en cabochon et sertie dans de fines bagues de pierres précieuses. Les pierres de morganite sont fantastiques, qu'elles soient serties dans des montures en argent, en or blanc ou en or jaune.

Remarque : Achetez des pierres précieuses colorées par taille et non par poids en carats. Les pierres de couleur varient en rapport taille/poids . Certaines pierres sont plus grosses et d'autres plus petites que les diamants en poids en comparaison.

Célèbres pierres précieuses de morganite

Retour au sommet

La plus grande morganite à facettes du monde est une morganite en forme de coussin de Madagascar qui pèse près de 600 carats. Il est actuellement exposé dans la collection du British Museum.

Entretien et nettoyage des bijoux en pierres précieuses de morganite

Retour au sommet

Comment nettoyer vos pierres précieuses Tous les béryls sont sensibles à la pression et extrêmement vulnérables aux produits chimiques ménagers. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un type de gemme durable, il nécessite quelques soins. Évitez de porter des pierres précieuses et des bijoux en morganite lorsque vous utilisez des produits chimiques agressifs comme l'eau de Javel ou l'acide sulfurique. Utilisez de l'eau chaude savonneuse et un chiffon doux pour nettoyer vos pierres de béryl. Assurez-vous de bien rincer pour enlever tous les résidus de savon. Comme pour la plupart des autres pierres précieuses, évitez d'utiliser des nettoyeurs à ultrasons, ainsi que des vapeurs chauffantes.

Retirez toujours les pierres précieuses et les bijoux de morganite avant de faire de l'exercice, de nettoyer ou de vous engager dans des activités physiques vigoureuses. La morganite peut facilement rayer d'autres pierres précieuses et également être facilement rayée par des pierres précieuses plus dures telles que le saphir et le spinelle. Stockez toujours la morganite séparément des autres pierres. Enveloppez les pierres précieuses de morganite dans un chiffon doux et placez-les dans une boîte à bijoux doublée de tissu lorsque vous les stockez pendant de longues périodes.

STAY IN TOUCH | NEWSLETTER
*Vous vous inscrivez pour recevoir l'e-mail promotionnel de GemSelect.
Partenaires et confiance Options de paiement

Passer à la version mobile

droits d'auteur © 2005-2024 GemSelect.com tous droits réservés.

Toute reproduction (texte ou graphique) sans l'autorisation écrite expresse de GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) est strictement interdite.

31813

Call GemSelectCall us | language flags Language | (USD) Currency | Cart
New Arrivals Calibrated Pairs Lots Contact
  : : Morganite Information

Morganite Gemstone Information

About Morganite - History and Introduction

Morganite is the light pink to violet-pink variety of beryl. Since beryl is most famous for being the mineral group that green emerald belongs to, pink morganite is sometimes referred to as 'pink emerald'. Along with emerald, morganite is also related to blue aquamarine, golden beryl (heliodor), colorless goshenite and the rare red bixbite. Among the beryls, morganite is one of the rarest forms, second only to red bixbite.

Pink morganite was first identified in California, USA, in 1910 by George D. Kunz, a famous American gemologist and buyer for Tiffany & Company. At first, it was simply referred to as 'pink beryl', but the year following its discovery, it was renamed by George Kunz in honor of John Pierpont (J.P.) Morgan, an American banker and avid gemstone collector. Since its discovery, morganite has been prized by gem collectors owing to its rarity.

Morganite Gemstone
Morganite
Identifying Morganite Back to Top

Morganite is an aluminum beryllium silicate. Its color can range from pale pink to violet, salmon or peach. Along with other beryls, morganite has very good hardness, with a rating of 7.5 to 8 on the Mohs scale. The refractive index is 1.562 to 1.602. Beryl generally has a specific gravity of 2.66 to 2.87, but morganite is slightly denser than other beryls at 2.71 to 2.90. Morganite is usually quite clean, unlike emerald which tends to be heavily included. In most cases, morganite can be easily distinguished from other pink stones by its brilliance and luster, combined with its hardness, durability and excellent clarity.

Morganite; Origin and Sources Back to Top

Morganite can be found in many locations around the world. The two most significant deposits are found in Brazil and Madagascar. Other notable sources for fine gem-quality morganite include Afghanistan, China, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Russia, Zimbabwe and the USA (California and Maine).

Buying Morganite and Determining Morganite Value Back to Top

Morganite Color

Morganite ranges in color from pale pink to pink, violet-pink, peach, peachy-pink, or salmon color. Its color is thought to be owed to traces of manganese or cesium. Morganite is rarely vivid or intense in color; most stones are very pale or pastel colored. Large stones will typically exhibit stronger colors. A pure pink morganite is considered most desirable but more recently, peachy and salmon colored stones have been in very high demand. There is also a rare magenta colored morganite from Madagascar that is highly sought after by collectors.

Morganite Clarity and Luster

Morganite occurs with excellent transparency. Unlike emerald, it rarely forms with inclusions, thus, eye-clean stones are expected. Morganite exhibits an attractive vitreous luster when cut and polished.

Morganite Cut and Shape

Morganite is typically faceted to maximize its color and brilliance. With its indistinct cleavage, cutters must orient the stone properly to minimize cleavage. Rare materials which exhibit chatoyancy (cat's eye effect) are often cut en cabochon in order to best exhibit desirable effects. Morganite is most often cut into rounds ovals, cushions and pears, as well as trillions, hearts and briolettes.

Morganite Treatment

Morganite is often found unheated and unenhanced. However, many stones today may be routinely heat treated to improve color and remove unwanted yellow tones. Heating is done at relatively low temperatures (about 400 degrees centigrade) to achieve this effect.

Morganite Gemological Properties: Back to Top
Chemical Formula: Al2(Be3[Si6O18] - Aluminum beryllium silicate
Crystal Structure: Hexagon (hexagonal prisms)
Color: Pale-pink to violet-pink, peach, salmon
Hardness: 7.5 to 8 on the Mohs scale
Refractive Index: 1.562 to 1.602
Density: 2.71 to 2.90
Cleavage: Indistinct
Transparency: Transparent to opaque
Double Refraction or Birefringence: -0.004 to -0.010
Luster: Vitreous
Fluorescence: Weak: Violet

Please refer to our Gemstone Glossary for details of gemology-related terms.

Morganite: Related or Similar Gemstones Back to Top
Goshenite
Goshenite

Morganite belongs to the very important beryl group of gemstones and minerals. There are several closely related gemstone varieties of beryl, typically classified by color or impurities. Some of the more popular beryls related to pink morganite include green emerald, blue aquamarine, white goshenite and golden beryl or heliodor.

The rarest beryl is red bixbite. Bazzite and pezzottaite are often considered to be types of beryl because they are very similar, but gemologically, they are not technically true beryls. Morganite may sometimes be referred to as 'pink emerald' or as 'rose beryl', but these are simply 'marketing' names.

Morganite Mythology, Metaphysical and Crystal Healing Back to Top

Morganite is a pink stone of love. It is said to carry an energy that can warm the soul of its wearer. It is best used for opening the heart chakra and it is often used to help cleanse the body of stress and anxiety. All beryl gems, including pink morganite, represent purity and potential.

For women, morganite is said to encourage feelings of independence from men and harmony with masculine energy. For men, it can help them balance masculine and feminine energy. Physically, morganite is believed to help with asthma and emphysema, as well as heart and lung disorders.

Disclaimer: Metaphysical and Alternative Crystal Healing Powers and Properties are not to be taken as confirmed advice. Traditional, Ceremonial and Mythological Gemstone Lore is collected from various resources and does not represent the sole opinion of SETT Co., Ltd. This information is not to replace the advice of your doctor. Should you have any medical conditions, please see a licensed medical practitioner. GemSelect does not guarantee any claims or statements of healing or astrological birthstone powers and cannot be held liable under any circumstances.
Morganite Gemstone and Jewelry Design Ideas Back to Top

All beryl gems are considered excellent for jewelry. Morganite is typically very clean with excellent transparency, it has good hardness, durability, luster and brilliance. Its wide range of soft pinkish colors make it highly sought after by jewelers around the world. It is perfectly suitable for everyday wear and can be worn as rings, pendants, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, pins or brooches. Today, morganite is one of the most popular pink to peach gemstones.

Morganite is considered very affordable, especially considering its rarity. Morganite may be hard to find in local retail stores as it is still relatively uncommon. However, online dealers can provide morganite in every size, shape and cut. Chatoyant morganite is often cut en cabochon and set into fine gemstone rings.

Note: Buy colored gemstones by size and not by carat weight. Colored stones vary in size-to-weight ratio. Some stones are larger and others are smaller than diamonds by weight in comparison.

Famous Morganite Gemstones Back to Top

The world's largest faceted morganite is a cushion-shaped morganite from Madagascar that weighs nearly 600 carats. It is currently exhibited in the British Museum collection.

Morganite Gemstone Jewelry Care and Cleaning Back to Top

How to clean your gemstonesAll beryl is sensitive to pressure and extremely vulnerable to household chemicals. Although it is a durable gem type, it requires some care. Avoid wearing morganite gems and jewelry when using harsh chemicals like bleach or sulfuric acid. Use warm soapy water and a soft cloth to clean your beryl stones. Be sure to rinse well to remove all soapy residue. As with most other gemstones, avoid the use of ultrasonic cleaners, as well as heat steamers.

Always remove morganite gems and jewelry before exercising, cleaning or engaging in vigorous physical activities. Morganite can easily scratch other gems and also be easily scratched by harder gems such as sapphire and spinel. Always store morganite separately from other stones. Wrap morganite gemstones in soft cloth and place them into a fabric-lined jewelry box when storing them for long periods of time.

  • First Published: February-19-2014
  • Last Updated: May-30-2014
  • © 2005-2014 GemSelect.com all rights reserved.
    Reproduction (text or graphics) without the express written consent of GemSelect.com (SETT Company Ltd.) is strictly prohibited.
Email to a Friend
English speaking customer support only

Toll Free - USA & Canada only:
1-800-464-1640

International:
+66-39340503

Subscribe to our Newsletter
 
Reorder Items
Select Language by clicking on the Image
Russian Italian German French Chinese English
Русский Italiano Deutsch Français Chinese English

Save Money
No shipping Fees for Additional Items!
$6.99 Worldwide Shipping